We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

If you're in northern Thailand, you likely want an elephant experience, and unfortunately the elephants are not often the top priority of many of these tourist attractions. Enter the Anantara: an elephant sanctuary that doesn't just rescue elephants, they rescue their owner (the mahout) and his family too. The mahout training is an experience you'll never forget, and the daily breakfast visits from Am (a baby ele born at the Ananatara) a true highlight. Of course the accommodations, food and service are what you'd expect from an Anantara (outstanding), but it's truly the eles that will steal your heart.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Christian_Zunk, General Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Mel P,

thank you very much for your lovely review on Tripadvisor and we are thrilled to hear that you had a memorable experience within the Resort and with our onsite Elephant Camp and it's related activities. We at Anantara always feel thankful if we can share the passion and love we have for the Elephants with our Guests around the World and we are happy you were one of them. Please come and visit us again soon at our Hideaway in the North of Thailand!

Kind Regards,

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
There are newer reviews for Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 936 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed two days to enjoy the company of the elephants.
The only word what gives a good description about this: SUPER
Hotel is also super, quality, food, drinks, staff all of the highest level.
Even when the price was in the extreme range it was for us value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurensV592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Christian_Zunk, General Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear LaurensV592,

thank you very much for sharing your Feedback on Tripadvisor about your recent visit to our Elephant Sanctuary and we are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you enjoyed the company of our beloved Elephants even greeting you with a smile at breakfast!

We hope to welcome you back soon to our Hideaway in the Golden Triangle!

Kind Regards,

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights with them over the new year’s. They managed to beat all of our expectations. We knew the price was all-inclusive, we just didn’t realise how all-inclusive it really was. A free activity per night’s stay with amazing options, mouthwatering meals at any time of the day, refreshments and alcohol. It was fantastic :) Facilities were also great, as everyone here mentioned. But most importantly, it was the fantastic service!

We were greeted at the airport by a friendly driver, presenting us with some cold towels, refreshments like cold mango juice, water, coke, and some handmade elephant shaped cookies. If that’s not a good welcome enough, there were some magazines, and an iPad filled with all the info needed to gear you up for what awaits.

What stayed with us the most was how they managed to make every guest feel like family, the staff from the General Manager, Executive Chef, Restaurant Managers, to the receptionist and waiters, all try to get to know guests individually in spite of it being one of the busiest seasons for them. New Year’s Eve had so much effort put into it. Fireworks, lanterns, tribes performances, free shoulder and head massages (!), canapés and drinks (you’re not allowed to stop eating and drinking in the hotel, apparently). I can only wish to capture the scene in mere words. Despite it being full house over New Year’s Eve, everyone was attended to skillfully with bright smiles, and waitstaff were pouring wine and clearing dishes at lightning speed. They made it look so easy.

It was lovely to see the staff mingling with the guests, exchanging stories and great conversations. Such friendliness and enthusiasm can’t be forced, and the only possibility we can think of is that the staff enjoy working there as much as we enjoyed staying there. Every little thing from the turn down service with the aroma oil scents filling up the room and the little pineapple slices in drinks that were shaped to look like the Anantara logo, lets us know the management has it all sorted out. Because we all know that when attention is placed on details, not much can go wrong on your stay – you’re basically in good hands.

To all whom we’ve come across for the great service, humor and warmth, thank you for helping us close 2013 beautifully.

Nura & Dom.

Photos and more details on shanghaisling . com

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShanghaiSling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Christian_Zunk, General Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Nura & Dom,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful and so descriptive review about your memorable experience at the Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort! It is with great pleasure to hear that you had a fantastic stay and enjoyed the All Inclusive Package with all his special inclusions.

Thank you also for the compliments about our Team and Service and I agree with you that we all love to work in a magical and unique place like the Anantara Golden Triangle!

I hope you will find the time to visit us soon again at our Hideaway and please allow me again to wish you a wonderful new year and thank you again for celebrating the New Year's Eve Gala and festive season with us. Next Year will be another memorable one!

Kind Regards,

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Ananatara is right in the middle of the Golden Triangle in Northern Thailand. It is on a hill and as a result has magnificent views. The lobby is open with a bar and a fireplace on the right as well as the incredible pool and hot tub.

The dining room is in the back of the lobby. Their breakfast buffet is pretty overwhelming with cuisine from just about everywhere. Want oatmeal, waffles, soup, Sweet and Sour chicken? No problem and it is all tasty

I really liked the rooms with a huge bed, terrace and enormous shower/bath. Its all very tasteful and you will be very comfortable without question

Now for the unique part. I was walking to my room and an elephant was in the way. The elephant was enormous and grabbed a tree branch ostensibly out of hunger. You can ride these beasts as well. They are remarkable animals and are part of the hotel experience

The hotel features some really beautiful grounds overlooking the whole valley and river. Its an overall unique, yet outstanding place to stay...

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Shanks296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Christian_Zunk, General Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Shanks296,

thank you very much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor and we are very happy that you had a beautiful and unique experience and enjoyed our Resort facilities as well Service of the Resort. The whole Resort is filled with little details to copy the beauty of the Golden Triangle and reflect the architecture of this region, even sometimes with some suprises like meeting an Elephant on the way to breakfast or back to the room.

We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We recently travelled to Thailand for 2 weeks and spent 3 amazing nights at Anantara. It was definitely a highlight of our trip. The resort is beautiful, well maintained and situated along the Mekong River with stunning views. Our suite rooms were spacious and lovely, with a view of Laos, Burma and Thailand. The food in the restaurants was great with many choices for all. The elephant experience is outstanding and not to be missed. The Mahout training was enjoyed by all of us and is an unforgettable experience. We also spent a morning with Chef Wit at the market and cooked our lunch with him, learning many new Thai recipes. It was fantastic!! The spa was also first class. All in all, Anantara is a fabulous place to visit....we didn't want to leave!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Christian_Zunk, General Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear snighty,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your memorable experience with other Guests on Tripadvisor!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and unique activities as part of your All Inclusive experience. Thank you also to highlight your Spice Spoons culinary Journey with Chef Wit and your unforgettable experience with the Elephants!

The entire Anantara Team look forward to welcome you back to our Hideaway soon!

Kind regards,

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I loved the resort, outstanding customer service, they went out if their way to be friendly, good food and tours to Burma and around the golden triangle but there main event was the elephants! Loved every minute especially the private dining with the elephants and the sunset. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Christian_Zunk, General Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Lisa B,

thank you very much for your lovely Review on Tripadvisor and we are pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us in the beautiful North of Thailand!

Thank you also to compliment our unique Dining By Design experiences which we agree should not be missed by anyone who visit the beautiful Golden Triangle.

The whole Team look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The staff is fantastic. Everything is included, which I enjoy. (I do not like to be "nickeled and dimed"). There is always an elephant to feed while you are having breakfast. The elephant mahout experience is not to be missed. I hope to go back again. The manager Christian is very friendly and always there to talk.

Room Tip: All rooms were good. You may want to face Laos.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feliciasandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Christian_Zunk, General Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear feliciasandra,

thank you very much for your wonderful review and compliments about our Service and activities, especially about the not to be missed Mahout experience!

It was truly our pleasure to provide you with some memorable experiences and we hope to welcome you back soon as well!

With Kind Regards,

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Saen
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
21.3 mi away
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort
7.5 mi away
Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Chiang Khong Riverfront
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle
22.6 mi away
Manee Dheva Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort

Address: 229 Moo 1, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Saen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Price Range: $879 - $1,777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into 160 acres of ancient jungle in northern Thailand, Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort rests on a bluff overlooking the fabled convergence of two rivers and three countries. The region also boasts a rich cultural heritage, as seen in the many hill tribe peoples or at the Hall of Opium Museum. At Anantara Golden Triangle, the natural and cultural merge at our unique onsite Elephant Camp, modelled on traditional mahout villages and home to the resort’s very own gentle giants. Book any of our indulgent All Inclusive Packages and enjoy the following benefits:•Accommodation with daily buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner for every night stayed•Roundtrip transfers from and to Chiang Rai Airport•Beverages (select range of non-alcoholic drinks, house wine, beer and spirits)•Internet access•In-room mini bar•One time visit to the Opium Museum•One activity for every night stayed from a choice of:oElephant Camp ExperienceoLanna Cooking ClassoAnantara Spa TreatmentoGolden Triangle Private ExcursionWhatever the experience, your Golden Triangle story begins with Anantara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Golden Triangle Resort And Spa
Anantara Golden Triangle Hotel Chiang Saen
Anantara Resort Golden Triangle
Anantara Hotel Golden Triangle
Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort Chiang Rai Province, Thailand - Chiang Saen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing