We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

A big thank you to the wonderful staff and Mahouts of the Anantara Elephant Camp. We can not thank them enough for making this a memorable experience for us.

This vacation has exceeded all of our expectations. We had a varied itinerary across Malaysia and Thailand and deliberately scheduled our stay at this wonderful property at the end of our adventure. The welcome and unexpected upgrade started our 4 night visit in a most perfect way and we were relaxed and comfortable within minutes of our arrival. We chose to pay and arrive at the hotel by speedboat and then on an elephant. This surely has to be the most incredible way to arrive at any luxury hotel.

The all-inclusive package allowed us to enjoy everything the resort had to offer without having to wonder the cost. We thoroughly enjoyed the freedom that this amenity brings. Our specially chosen day tours and excursions were of the highest standard. A big thank you to Toy for an outstanding Golden Triangle tour. We loved the markets of Myanmar and our guide, Toy was very informative. The Anantara Spa which we enjoyed on two separate occasions is very relaxing and we really did love our treatments, especially after the Mahout Experience which challenged us and made our legs tired! Riding one of their magnificent elephants was the pinnacle of our trip. It is the one thing we both looked forward to the most and leaving it until our last day was the right thing to do. We finished on such a 'high' thanks to the wonderful Mahouts and the elephants we were paired with. It was an emotional, life altering experience to interact with the elephants on such an intimate level. The Mahouts put us at ease and reassured when we were nervous and allowed us to bond with these magnificent creatures.

We realized that such wonderful standards across the board usually start at the top - so our thanks and commendations to the General Manager and Asst. General Manager. The 'family' at Anantara really excelled in everything and made our short time with them so wonderful. Their attention to detail and their willingness to make the guest feel at home is something that was immediately evident upon our arrival. Our special thanks to Tuk who took it upon herself to ensure we were happy with every aspect of our stay at the Anantara Elephant Camp.

I have no hesitation in recommending this wonderful Resort and Elephant Camp to travelers wishing to experience the 'Golden Triangle' in luxury. Simply outstanding!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barringtonsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    99
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
218
476
29
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

From check-in to check-out, this place exceeded every expectation. We did the elephant ride, and a 2 hour spa treatment, which is a MUST! The food, atmosphere and service are exceptional. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAdamW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our first time to Chiang Rai and an elephant camp. This place is not cheap, but has a wonderful location and amazing view. I, my wife and 19 month old spent four days (three nights) and spent half a day with the elephants. First, the staff were very friendly, responsive and sweet to our child. The hotel is perched on the side of a small hill, so most of the rooms have a view across a wide expanse - encompassing Thailand, Laos and Myanmar. You also have a view on a field where the elephant camps keeps its elephants - quite a charming thing to wake up to in the mornings.

The place is quite expensive if you're paying the full fare, but if you coming half way around the world, it might be worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianandleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

WOW is the first impression you get when you arrive at this resort. The peaceful surroundings and awesome people make it a great place to stay. There is plenty to do. The Opium Museum across the road was interesting. Dine by Design at the Baby Elephant camp was awesome. Cooking class was lots of fun. The mahout training and elephant riding was certainly an experience, a little intimidating but certainly worth it. Everything about this place is 5 star. Would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoKenCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed two nights and it wasn't near enough! The views from our room were just breath taking. We could see elephants in the field below and see three countries right from our window. Our room was comfortable, extremely nice and cool! The service was sublime and extremely helpful.
The elephant camp was incredible. We didn't ride the elephants ( a little old for that) but was able to feed them and snap many pictures. It was interesting that a young man, was doing an internship for a few weeks was here from the University of Tennessee Knoxville. Being from Nashville we understood his English very well and he told us so many interesting facts about the elephants, we were totally absorbed.
The swimming pool is really nice and it has a spectacular view. The weather was hot so it was quite refreshing. The pool service was great and they served fresh passion fruit juice, it was great. Once again the service was outstanding.
We rented a car and drove from Chaingrai to the resort. It was after dark and would have been fool-hearty with a GPS. I have driven in Thailand on repeated occasions and the traffic is very light in the North. For what the hotel charges to pick you up and return you to the airport, it was actually less expensive.
Having a vehicle allowed us to do day trips. We went up to the border at Maosai. Ate lunch and went shopping. The queens garden isn't too far and it is incredible. The garden is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been. It is a steep walk and everyone must be able to walk up hill back to the entrance. It is well worth the hike.
This is a wonderful part of Thailand. It's off the beaten path but the experience is well worth the effort. The hotel is great.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmart2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

What an exceptional experience! This beautiful five star hotel is perfect in every way! The gorgeous setting, gracious staff, and superb service are only topped by the elephant experience! There are not words to describe feeding the baby elephant, Am, at breakfast each morning, or riding an elephant down to the river to take a bath (actually to cool off). These gentle giants were amazing, and the Mahout and his elephant are forever in our hearts! Thank God that these creatures have been rescued and now can bring such joy to everyone. We traveled three weeks in Thailand staying in the top hotels, but this was without doubt the experience of a lifetime! Our suite over-looking the vast area where the elephants roam was spectacular! The spa was as good as it gets and one of our favorites. The all inclusive price is worth every penny. We only wished we could have stayed longer. Put it on your bucket list - at the top!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawera, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

As soon as you enter this resort, you know you're somewhere special. Actually, even before that! From the moment Tommy collected us from Chiang Rai Airport, we were superbly looked after and treated to a fabulous holiday. The resort is stunningly beautiful, with impressive views over to Myanmar and Laos. We stayed seven nights and enjoyed trips to the local village, Opium Museum and three country tour (Thailand/Myanmar/Laos). Activities at the resort we enjoyed were the Thai cooking class (thanks Khun Wit!) and Dine by Design at the baby elephant camp. But for me, the highlight by far was the mahout training with the elephants. Each participant had their own elephant, and we were taught how to get on, control and ride these beautiful animals. We took them down to the river where they laid down in the water and cooled off, all while you're still on their back! An incredible experience - such gentle creatures.

My room was spacious and beautifully furnished, had a lovely balcony with a day bed and peaceful views over the three countries, not to mention views to the elephants grazing. The restaurants were fantastic - we're a bit of a 'foodie family' and we certainly weren't disappointed. Both Thai and Italian options were equally delicious. Breakfast was always a highlight, with young elephant Am visiting the breakfast area each morning and enjoying everyones attention (and the bananas of course!).

The service was amazing - the staff were always warm, friendly and communication was never a problem. Needless to say, I would thoroughly recommend this property. Your visit here is more than just a holiday, it's the experience of a lifetime.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank dmn_argyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Saen
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
132.6 mi away
No photo provided
Buakum Resort
#7 of 9 in Chiang Saen
5 reviews
21.3 mi away
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle
22.6 mi away
Manee Dheva Resort & Spa
21.4 mi away
Katiliya Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort

Property: Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort
Address: 229 Moo 1, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Saen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into 160 acres of ancient jungle in northern Thailand, Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort rests on a bluff overlooking the fabled convergence of two rivers and three countries. The region also boasts a rich cultural heritage, as seen in the many hill tribe peoples or at the Hall of Opium Museum. At Anantara Golden Triangle, the natural and cultural merge at our unique onsite Elephant Camp, modelled on traditional mahout villages and home to the resort’s very own gentle giants. Book any of our indulgent All Inclusive Packages and enjoy the following benefits:•Accommodation with daily buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner for every night stayed•Roundtrip transfers from and to Chiang Rai Airport•Beverages (select range of non-alcoholic drinks, house wine, beer and spirits)•Internet access•In-room mini bar•One time visit to the Opium Museum•One activity for every night stayed from a choice of:oElephant Camp ExperienceoLanna Cooking ClassoAnantara Spa TreatmentoGolden Triangle Private ExcursionWhatever the experience, your Golden Triangle story begins with Anantara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Golden Triangle Hotel Chiang Saen
Anantara Golden Triangle Resort And Spa
Anantara Resort Golden Triangle
Anantara Hotel Golden Triangle
Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort Chiang Rai Province, Thailand - Chiang Saen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing