We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
TimBob_53
Knutsford, United Kingdom

Nice location

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 12, 2012
This Hotel is in a great location with wonderful views, and nice grounds. The room had a great balcony looking out to the river. The room was dated, and the tap water was brownish, but complimentary bottled water is provided. There is no room safe. Everything in the room worked, and it was clean and tidy. the aircon didn't work when we arrived but the staff flicked a switch somewhere and it was afterwards.

the pool was a good size, in nice grounds with plenty of loungers.

The restaurant had great views as well, but the food was nice but bland (toned down for westerners??) and breakfast was fine.

Given the growth of resort hotels in the area, this nice old hotel needs updating to stay on top
Date of stay: May 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ImperialGolden, Manager at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort, responded to this review
Responded Jun 15, 2012
Dear Sir,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for you’re stayed with us, and appreciated your kind recommends.
We should recognize any defects may cause you an inconvenience and must to apologize for an uncomfortable during your stayed.

However, we would like to inform you that we are in the process of renovated our guest rooms and hope to finish it very soon.
With our sincere, as your suggestions have very useful for us to develop our hotel in the future,
We are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotels once again.

Sincerely yours,

Theerada I.
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
$27
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $23
  • Trip.com
0.3 miles from The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$75
  • Expedia.com
    $78
  • Agoda.com
    $55
  • Hotels.com
    $78
2.9 miles from The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$19
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $17
  • Agoda.com
    $16
  • Trip.com
5.0 miles from The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$29
Fully refundable
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
    $23
  • Expedia.com
    $31
6.4 miles from The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$51
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $51
  • Agoda.com
    $51
  • Vio.com
    $51
6.7 miles from The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
The bed set up
$13
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    $13
  • Agoda.com
    $12
  • Trip.com
4.1 miles from The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bird's eye view
$9
    29.9 miles from The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
      $1,495
    • Priceline
      $1,223
    • Expedia.com
      $1,496
    0.9 miles from The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Expedia.com
      $56
    • Agoda.com
      $32
    • Hotels.com
      $56
    9.5 miles from The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Coffee shop/restaurant five minutes away
    • Expedia.com
      $15
    • Hotels.com
      $15
    • Agoda.com
      $16
    5.4 miles from The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
    Free Wifi
    View more hotels in Chiang Saen
    Reviews (357)
    Filter reviews
    357 results
    Traveler rating
    99
    163
    74
    17
    4
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveler rating
    99
    163
    74
    17
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews golden triangle the river nice hotel opium hall
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    137 - 142 of 357 reviews
    Reviewed April 26, 2012

    The view from this hotel of the golden triangle is unbeatable. I hear that the hotel used to be great when it was new, but at the present time in 2012, it is really run down. The carpets are old and torn in places. The bathrooms have items that are falling off. Meals were average quality but pricey. Breakfast pretty average. Staff in the dining room was attentive and was good in providing information about the town and area.

    Date of stay: March 2012
    • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Moichee
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed April 5, 2012

    Stayed at this hotel for New Year 2011-12. We also stayed at this hotel 8 years ago for New Year and had very fond memories of it, so you are always risking spoiling those memories when you go back, but all in all we had a really nice time here.

    The place has not really changed much over that time, except for the fact that the wonderful old wooden building nestled away at the back near the forest was not utilised for the NY celebrations, which is a shame, as it is perfect. The New Year dinner was, unfortunately, the worst part of our stay. The food was not at all of a high standard, and the "entertainment" was even worse - it was in stark contrast to 8 years ago when this was the highlight of our trip (honestly - it was genuinely really good then!).

    The restaurant served great food in the evenings while sitting under the cool night sky on the lovely balcony over looking the river. The breakfast was fine (but nothing particularly special).

    The staff were very charming and helpful, and we used the hotel minibus service many times with a very pleasant driver who was always there on time. Tours can be booked directly through the hotel, and the prices were reasonable, so you can be sure you are kept busy on your stay without any hassles.

    Had 2 adjoining rooms as we had requested, and they were fine in every respect, but just a little on the old side - nothing that bothered us though.

    If we go back again then this is the only place I would ever think of stopping at - it has something about it that we irresistibly like but just cannot actually say what that is!

    Date of stay: December 2011
    • Trip type: Traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Bloozntooz
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    ImperialGolden, Manager at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

    Dear Sir.
    We are very pleased and especially proud to welcome you to stay with our hotel again.
    Although, there are some things that make you disappointed, which make us feel regret and must apologize with sincerity.
    However, we have to thank you very much for your valuable comments and will bring it to be improving for the next further.

    We look forward to welcoming you once again in the future, and if you may need any information please let us know at any time.

    Thank you & best regards,
    Theerada I
    Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 2, 2012

    I highly recommend this resort as your accomations when traveling the Golden Trianle, the location is great. the rooms are very clean and spacious. The dining area is very relaxing and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and hospitable, as with all of the Thai people I met in my travels. This was one of the best trips I've taken on my R&R.

    Room tip: The front rooms in the corner have a very nice view.
    Date of stay: March 2012
    • Trip type: Traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Esdras01
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    ImperialGolden, Manager at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

    Dear Sir,
    Thank you for your staying at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort recently.
    We are very appreciated that you are satisfied with our property and staff service. and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you and your colleagues again in the near future.
    If you have any requirement at the Golden Triangle please do not hesitate to let us know at any time.
    Thank you very much.
    Best regards,
    Theerada I.
    Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 20, 2012

    Our tour group stayed in this hotel for one night during our visit to the Golden Triangle area. It is located close to the town centre near the boat launch area. It is quite modern with good facilities. Our room had a balcony overlooking the Mekong River. The room was quite large and modern. We were impressed with the hotel. We ate dinner and had breakfast in their restaurant and both were quite good.

    We would recommend this hotel for your visit to the Golden Triangle area.

    Date of stay: February 2012
    • Trip type: Traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Canadian079
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    ImperialGolden, Manager at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

    Dear Sir,
    Thank you for staying at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort recently
    We are very pleased to hear that you are satisfied with our service and appreciate highly that you good commentsnd for us.
    We are looking forward to welcome you or your colleagues in the near future. If you would like any further assistance, please don't hesitate to let us know at any time.
    Thannk you very much
    Best regards,
    Theerada I.
    Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 16, 2012

    MY wife and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of January 2012 as part of a tour of Thailand. The staff were very helpfull but unfortunately we had to move roooms after the first night because we found dirty water coming out of the cold tap on our sink in the bathroom. We arrived late in the evening on the first night, so just dropped our suitcases and went to the restaurant for a meal which was very nice and the service excellent, however there is a small restaurant opposite the front of the hotel which also serves excellent food at a much lower price and that is where we ate on the second night. The buffet breakfasts are excellent with a large selection of western and asian foods.
    The hotels location is okay but apart from the local shops and restaurants there does not seem much to do at night, as it is quite some way away from Chiang Rai the main town in the area, so if you want any nightlife this is not the place for you for more than a couple of nights

    Date of stay: January 2012
    • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank John M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    ImperialGolden, Manager at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

    Dear Sir and Madam.
    Thank you for your comment on tripadvisor of February 16, 2012 regarding to your stay with our hotel during the end of January 2012.
    We welcome your comments and understand how disappointing it can be when your expectations are not met. In parts of our have checked for repair of plumbing done already, it causes from the water freezes in the pipeline for too long. We would like to apologies again for any inconvenience caused you.
    Therefore your suggestions have very useful to us and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again

    Theerada I.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews