We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Serene at Chiangrai Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Chiang Saen B&B and Inns
Bellevue, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Pleasant and convenient”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Located on the Mekong River, the Serene is a centrally located, pleasant hotel with reasonable service, large, comfortable rooms overlooking the river and unremarkable breakfasts. This is not an issue as one can walk to other restaurants for meals. Near the market and tourist sights. Stay in the rooms overlooking the river if possible.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    53
    33
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
74
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

1) I arrived at 4 pm, had a river view and had 2 twin beds made into king. Not too comfortable. Typical hard Thai bed...!
2) Had a foot massage, expensive and barely adequate. I am sure the young woman had limited experience.
3) Went for a walk to the night bazaar, nothing special except for some wonderful Thai traditional dance. Oddly there was a rock band playing simultaneously so the music competed and made it difficult to enjoy. Poorly planned.
4) Had dinner at the hotel restaurant, food was great, but the service was awful. I could not determine if it was because I was an older woman traveling solo, or merely poorly trained staff. English speaking waiter abandoned his tables.
5) I unknowingly, and accidentally nicked (lightly hit) a car in the parking lot on my way out. I was tracked down and told to return. Then I had to wait. Turns out it was the car of an employee and the dent was very small. To offset problems I offered to pay cash for the repair. The guy told me 3,000 baht. Turns out that a repair that size in most Thai body shops would cost a minimum of 750 - 1000 baht. I really felt that the guy saw me as a dollar sign and took big advantage of me.
Bottom line - why bother staying when it was not much better than a budget resort with the exception of the view? Poor value.

Room Tip: Get a river facing room on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teachertun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is a lovely hotel right on the Mekong River in the Golden Triangle. The views are absolutely spectacular and the rooms are well equipped and very nice. I was able to look into one of the street facing rooms and I would have been unhappy if we had been in one of them as the rooms facing the river are so much nicer! Even the view from lying in bed looking across the river to Laos was lovely!
The dining area is also right on the river. Unfortunately the food was not nearly as spectacular as the river views. I would recommend having a drink here but heading across the street to Janine Cafe to eat!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river, the street views are nothing special and really, aren't you coming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed at the Serene at Chiang Rai Hotel for two nights in room 403 on our OAT tour in December. Unfortunately, we were facing the noisy street although the traffic died down late in the evening. Apparently, the riverside rooms are larger suites and obviously more expensive. The room included a safe, bar soap, 2 robes, shampoo, wifi, and two pairs of USED slippers! No kidding and the reason for our poor Cleanliness ranking. (These were replaced with new ones for our second day. Needless to say, we did not wear them.) We used their laundry service for several pairs of sox and cotton shirts. We did not use the pool. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the gold Buddha and the view of the Golden Triangle. We had dinner and breakfast here in their patio area overlooking the river.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel is right on the Mekong River with great views and the softest bed we slept on in Thailand. It was nice to eat breakfast (yummy) while looking out over the river. Our favorite part about this hotel was actually the noodle soup place across the street. They also had great food and great service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A beautiful hotel at the border of Thailand. The rooms are large and well equipped. The view over the river is great. The breakfast is good, the staff friendly and helpful. The poolside is small but welcome on hot days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Small hotel with big rooms and a balcony looking over the Mekong river with a view across to Laos. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was very good and served on the terrace. There are a few small restaurants within easy walking distance down the main street.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Saen
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
24.2 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
4.4 mi away
Gin's Maekhong View Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Siam Triangle Hotel
Siam Triangle Hotel
#4 of 17 in Chiang Saen
72 reviews
1.4 mi away
Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene at Chiangrai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene at Chiangrai Hotel

Property: Serene at Chiangrai Hotel
Address: 569 Moo 1 Tambol Wiang, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Saen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Saen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Serene at Chiangrai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Serene at Chiangrai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene At Chiangrai Hotel Chiang Rai Province, Thailand - Chiang Saen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing