We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular!”

Seoraksan National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.00*
and up
All-Inclusive Day Trip to Seoraksan Mountain
More Info
$140.00*
and up
Seoraksan National Park Day Trip from Seoul
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Private Seoraksan and Sokcho City Day Trip from Sokcho
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Sokcho
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to be staying with family when we were visiting South Korea so they took us out to the east coast to spend sometime at Seoraksan National Park. It was really a spectacular experience. I imagine it would be just a beautiful at other times of the year for different reasons. there is a little something for everyone at the park too. One day we did a pretty grueling hike up a river bed. When the terrain got steeper, so did the trail- there we no switchbacks, so be prepared for a hard uphill and downhill. It is worth it though, for the amazing views that you can get. If you aren't into, or aren't able, to hike, there is also a cable car up to one of the peaks in a different part of the park. This also gave stunning views up and down a river valley. Near there is a large temple complex which is also fun to explore. I highly recommend this area of Korea if you can make it on a trip. It gives you a completely different look at the country than if you just stay in Seoul.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ameliad56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    193
    22
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Terrific hiking here”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I visited this park on a misty day in June and had a great time, despite the weather. If you can catch a bus to Sokcho then getting into the park from there is super easy by taxi. My group struck out bright and early and had a 7:30 breakfast in the park. Vendors were already set up to serve us kimbap and other Korean foods.
We entered in the eastern part of the part, so our first hike was to Biryong Falls, which was slippery but not too steep. At the falls we rested and took pictures with the falling water. From there we hiked up to Ulsanbawi Rock. Up and down was about 2.5 hours and was STEEP! Reaching the top was exhausting, and then we had none of the legendary views at the top because of the fog, alas. But we shared some makgeolli (rice wine) with some Koreans at the top and enjoyed the people-watching.
In the afternoon, we took a long lunch break at an outdoor bibimbap restaurant on the trail towards Biseondae Rock. This trail was very easy and gets you to the short, but extremely difficult, hike up to Geumganggul Cave. We hiked up stairs along an almost-vertical cliff face, which should have offered more amazing views, but again weather didn't cooperate.
We were thoroughly exhausted by the end of our hiking day but really enjoyed being in nature. The park is very green in the summer and probably offers great views on a sunny day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jrh825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful National Park”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Beautiful rock formations, rivers and some challenging but rewarding hikes. The park was an easy drive from Seoul, about 2.5 hours which was longer than expected given the distance because the speed limit on the highways is quite slow (top of 100km/hr but most of the time averaged about 80kh/hr) and there are lots of speed cameras. We hired a car from Kumhorent.com in Seoul and asked for an english GPS navigation system which was fantastic and worked perfectly. We did this online before arriving. Here are the walks / hikes we did. They start out very easy but then there is quite a lof of uphill! Our legs felt like we'd been skiing afterwards.

Weather Information: http://www.mountain-forecast.com/peaks/Seoraksan/forecasts/1708

Hike Information sites I found useful:
http://www.frommers.com/destinations/seoraksannationalpark/4026010020.html
http://english.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/SI/SI_EN_3_6.jsp?cid=651225
http://www.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/SI/SI_EN_3_6.jsp?cid=257506

The top 3 hikes imo:
Ulsan Bawi Course -- This course is relatively easy from Heundeul Bawi (Teetering Rock - which was pushed over by some idiots so doesn't exist anymore! Shame!) to Gyejo-am. The difficulty comes in the steep climb up the rocks of Ulsan Bawi from the hermitage below. There are metal stairs to help with the climb, but it's still quite dangerous and slippery, especially in wet weather. Still, the view of the mountains and the ocean from the top is worth all that hard work. * Sogongwon – Sinheungsa Temple – Gyejoam - Ulsanbawi Rock (3.8km / 2hrs 20min one way)

Yangpok Course -- Starting from the Sinheungsa area, this trail includes the Yang Falls, located in the Dheonbuldong Valley. Well known for its colorful scenery in the autumn, you'll walk along the valley and see mountain peaks, dense forests, and clear water falling from the mountains. The waterfall located in Cheonbuldong Valley is one of three of Seoraksan's most beautiful waterfalls. With views of fantastically-shaped rocks, mountain peaks, dense forests, and valleys with crystal-clear water cascading down, it's no wonder that this course is said to be the most popular. This course takes about 6 hours round-trip, but doesn't have any major uphill climbs. * Sogongwon – Waseondae – Biseondae – Gwimyeonam – Yangpok Shelter (6km / 3hrs 50min one way)

Biseondae Cliffs-Sinheungsa Course -- From Sinheungsa, head straight, toward the Iljumun (Gate). After passing the cliffs, you'll see Daecheongbong (Great Green Peak). In the center of the Bonguri (rock) is Geumgang-gul (cave). Climbing up the steps to the cave will take about 30 to 40 minutes. This is one of the most scenic hikes in the park, and it's an easy trek for beginners; plan on it taking about 2 hours. * Sogongwon – Waseondae – Biseondae - Geumganggul Cave (3.6km / 1hr 40min one way)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank beibeibei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
198 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“rak=steep!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Fantastic views and nature! While we were hiking we agreed that the Korean Government did good by stopping development here because of the diversity in bugs and plants that we saw.

We climbed Dinosaur ridge and stayed over in a shelter (8,000 won each) and caught the sunrise at 5 am from Daecheongbong, the 3rd highest peak in Korea which was amazing.

It is generally very very steep though!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hikes”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

While we only spent one day in the park, it was a good one. We spent 6+ hours on a couple of the hikes and thoroughly enjoyed the scenery and being out and about in nature (and away from Seoul). Highly recommend the grotto; the waterfall was a bit disappointing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KileyS93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seoraksan National Park also viewed

 
Sokcho, Gangwon-do
 

Been to Seoraksan National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing