We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay and warmth host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Esher House Pension
Ranked #4 of 60 Sokcho B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed on the sixth floor with a seaview, which comes with a Jacuzzi that overlooks the sea, which is really nice. As the rest had said, the room is comfortable and clean. The location is tranquil, the beach is nearby but not the best. We drove and got here easily, thanks to the English GPS. Hana is very warmth host, she speaks good English and always smiling. My room did not come with a washing machine so I used the one at level 1. She helped me with the operation of the machine (in korean language only) and even carried the laundry to the room when completed. She would prepare breakfast and served it at your convenient time. A very nice experience that we won't forget.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 46 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

Hana and her welcoming family have created a clean, gracious spot for us here in Sokcho. With her charming ways and helpful attitude she offers us English only guests just what we hoped for. We were upgraded without even requesting it Breakfast is delightful beginning for our days of adventuring into this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Ask Hana! She wants you to enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrandmaNan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

For some reason I was expecting Esher house to be a small quaint building. This is not the case. It is a big building, however it is a lovely place to stay thanks to the welcoming host and the comfort of the rooms.

What I liked:
- the service is personal
- the room was spacious and clean
- the host is lovely. Like other reviewers have mentioned the host Hana is extremely welcoming. She speaks good english and she is always there to help: from calling a taxi and explaining to the driver where to take you to giving you maps, booklets and all the info you need to make the most of the area.
- the location is good: it is within easy access from the bust terminal where the bus from Seoul arrives (short taxi ride or even a walk if you don't have heavy luggage and you don't mind walking for 15-20 mins along the beach front).
- Near the nicer end of the beach on the quieter part of town.
- the hotel is a nice walk along the beach into town and near bus stops to reach mount Seoraksan and other areas of interest along the coast very easily.
- nice big room with fridge, sink, balcony (though when we went it was too cold to go outside)
- breakfast served in the room

The only thing that I didn't like too much was that the bathroom has no heating so it was a bit cold in the morning to take a shower in winter (although the shower pressure and the temperature of the water was lovely). This seems to be a standard thing in South Korea and we remedied by keeping the bathroom door open during the night so the heating from the room made it warmer.

Not a lot of choices of restaurants in the immediate vicinity; there are one or two nearby, however taxis in South Korea are inexpensive, so not really a problem.

I would definitely stay at Esher House Pension again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ros_in_wonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I agree with other reviews that the owner "Hana" is very kind and helpful! The room on the 6th floor is big and enough for 4 people to stay. Breakfast is home-made style and good. The room/apartment is also well decorated and clean.

The Esher pension is away from town only 5 minutes and only 5-7 minutes by cab to the bus station. It's quiet but convenience. Taxi is our choice to get around Sokcho as the cost is reasonable and traveling from a plcae to another is not far. Seoraksan ia around 10 kms away.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Yong M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Hana was extremely kind and a perfect hostess. She upgraded us for free, was very helpful with everything including directions. The room we had was great value, we had a nice view as well. The entire room was 100% clean and that was my favourite part of staying there. I would actually highly recommend this pension and of course I'd stay again. Thank you for the stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed here during fall with the main reason to go Hiking in the close by located mountains. We couldn't have wished for more. Although we booked on the same day as arrival Hana and her sister were welcoming us as if we were long lost friends. We got one the nicest rooms in the pension and it way much worth then you pay for it. Although they are close to the beach, the 'city' where all the restaurants and bars are located is quite far away. Luckily Hana is quick with offering to call a cab for you or lend her one of her bikes. I could recommend this place to anyone coming to sokcho. It is suitable to any kind of party.

Room Tip: Top floor has the best view on the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just came back from a weekend stay at the Esher House pension in Sockcho and we were quite pleased. The location is great, across the street from the beach and within walking distance of town (there is a nice plank walk that goes along the oceanfront to town center). The owner is very hospitable and speaks good English. The rooms are clean, and Korean in style with heated floors and hard beds (no shoes allowed past the entryway). There are bicycles available for guests to use and a cute playground across the street for kids. The only downside that I found was that there was no telephone to use anywhere in the building.

I reccomend the Esher House to other western travellers. Even more, I recommend that if you are in Korea, you should visit Seoraksan and stay in Sokcho: challenging mountain hikes and sandy beaches within 15 minutes of each other, along with great Korean food!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sokcho
0.6 mi away
Ramada Gangwon Sokcho Hotel
4.3 mi away
Naksan Beach Hotel
Naksan Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in Yangyang-gun
9 reviews
6 mi away
Kensington Stars Hotel
Kensington Stars Hotel
#1 of 16 in Sokcho
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Class 300
The Class 300
#7 of 16 in Sokcho
178 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Seorak
Casa Seorak
#1 of 60 in Sokcho
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lotte Resort Sokcho
Lotte Resort Sokcho
#4 of 16 in Sokcho
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esher House Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esher House Pension

Address: 85-1, Haeoreum-ro, Sokcho, Gangwon-do 24900, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Gangwon-do > Sokcho
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Sokcho
Price Range: $59 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Esher House Pension 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokcho Esher House Pension is located within a minute's walk from Oeongchi Beach and a 5-minute walk from the popular Sokcho Beach. It offers contemporary rooms equipped with kitchen facility and free Wi-Fi access. The property is just a 2-minute drive to Oeongchi Port. Sokcho Expo Tower, Sokcho City Hall and Sokcho Port are conveniently within a 10-minute drive away. Fitted with parquet flooring, air-conditioned rooms are furnished with a dining table, a flat-screen TV, wardrobe and heating facility. The small in-room kitchen comes with a stove and fridge. En suite bathroom is equipped with shower. At Sokcho Esher House Pension, guests can enjoy a session of barbecue and simply relax at the sun terrace. Luggage storage, laundry service and free parking are also available. While self-cooking can be done privately in the rooms, guests may also enjoy a range of Korean and Asian dishes served at the restaurants nearby within a 7-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Esher House Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing