We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Mountain Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kensington Stars Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Sokcho
Reviewed September 7, 2013

After 5 days in the bustling city of Seoul, Kensington Stars was a wonderful retreat.
The views of the mountain are spectacular. Cable car rides, Buddhist temples and mountain hikes are only a few minutes away - many different hikes that can be done. (we chose the shortest)

The hotel is interestingly themed - with a floor dedicated to international ambassadors, another to korean movie stars, korean sports stars etc.. It is a beautifully appointed hotel.
With a UK theme - there is a double decker bus outside that is advertised for romantic proposals. The top floor restaurant, Abbey Road has a Beatles theme and there are many interesting Beatles artifacts displayed throughout the restaurant.

Much was enjoyed at this hotel. The food and service could be improved. Perhaps it had to do with our visit there being at the end of the South Korean vacation season...
Improving the food would really improve the experience at this hotel.

All in all, Kensington Arms provided us with a much needed beautiful natural retreat.

Room Tip: We were fortunate to upgrade to a suite. Enjoyed the extra space. Although we did not have a balco...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2015

Dear sabsong,

Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for great view and location from the Mt. Seorak.

Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Rachel Hwang,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Kensington Stars Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 159 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great location - right at the entrance to the national park. Easy to reach by regular bus from Sokcho. Probably the most expensive of the nearby hotels but worth it. Quirky in the extreme! Two red London double decker buses parked outside. A Queen Elizabeth II themed restaurant - complete with all manner of royal memorabilia. Each guest floor dedicated to different Korean guests and celebrities - few recognizable to the average western visitor, but plainly locally all superstars. Items of their clothing are lovingly displayed in cabinets. Great view of the mountains from the rooftop balconies. Friendly staff. Good Korean food. But the most AWFUL English breakfast I have ever encountered. OK, normally in Asia I'd want to sample something local but in a British themed hotel I figured that perhaps the breakfast was going to be a gourmet treat? WRONG! For starters a lettuce and pineapple salad with mayo - not typically British, but hey-ho, can pass on thta. Then a plate of UFO's (unidentified fried objects) plus French fries, chilled baked-beans, pale flaccid sausage etc. Uneatable. The coffee and tea were indistinguishable in taste and colour. The toast was eatable. Please Mr. Hotel General Manager - get a food consultant in for a day and have a demo on what a British breakfast really is! All in all though - I'd recommend the hotel. Just go for the Korean beef soup for breakfast. Additional observation: Haagen Daz ice cream fridge in the lobby for ice-cream-a-holics.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wakemeformeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2015

Dear wakemeformeals,

Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for location from Mt. Seorak and staff friendliness.

And in the meantime, the area you have advised will be shared with the team concerned to serve you better in future.

Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Rachel Hwang

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were here in a calm period first half of May and the hotel was quite empty. From the outside the hotel looks not really appealing, but the inside is lovely decorated in some mock manor style. The nice thing is that all over the hotel you can find all sorts of collectibles, almost making it a small museum. Although the hotel is from the early 70's, it is well maintained.
Staff is friendly and helpfull.
The rooms are not that big, but quite cosy and comfortable. Only the shower could need an update and in the afternoon the water is not really warm when you want to take a shower after a hike.
As we were here in low season, we paid less than normal, but the breakfast choice was therefore also more limited than usual (English breakfast or Korean breakfast).
This said we really enjoyed our stay here. Had some Korean food here as well and it was really very well made and very fresh.
The location is top...the bus from Sokcho stops next to the hotel and you are just a few steps from the park enterance.
I think this might not be the cheapest choice in Seoraksan, but I am quite sure it's the best choice.

Room Tip: Try to get one at the front of the building. Nicer view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tjolmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2015

Dear Tjolmen,

Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for location from Mt. Seorak and staff friendliness.

And in the meantime, the area you have advised will be shared with the team concerned to serve you better in future.

Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Rachel Hwang

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

hi traveller
we stayed 2 nights in this hotel.
we booked the cheaper rooms, without no frontview and no balcony. this was not a big issue, cause they have a bistro with balcony on the 9th floor.
the owner must be a beatles & british fan (see the many reviews before)
For us the hotel was a bit too expensive, due to the fact that we had also evening beer (after the hikes) and dinner in this hotel - expect here also 5-6star prices!!! other facilities are a bit fare away.
the reward ist the proximity to the park ! we had 2 sunny days with blue sky and it was amazing.
bus stop is in front of the hotel.
if you have to save money, you can e.g. stay in Sokcho downtown, and take one of the frequently public busses to the NP. you "loose" some time (30-40 minutes per ride) and flair.
cheers

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schlampi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2015

Dear Schlampi,

Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for location from Mt. Seorak and great view.

And in the meantime, the area you have advised will be shared with the team concerned to serve you better in future.

Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Rachel Hwang

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I would agree with a number of the previous reviews... The hotel has a great location right near the park gates and the views of the area are gorgeous. The interior decor has an overall dark feel to it, despite any decent lighting inside.

For North American tastes, the food may seem a little bit different, but overall, it is quite decent. From my experience, staff did try to be very accommodating and helpful.

The only downside would be if you are trying to conduct business in the city itself - this location is a bit out of the way and that may be a consideration in selecting this hotel.

Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFamilyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2015

Dear MFamilyTraveller,

Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for location from Mt. Seorak and staff friendliness.

And in the meantime, the area you have advised will be shared with the team concerned to serve you better in future.

Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.
Thank you.


Best regards,

Rachel Hwang

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is very well located for visiting Mt. Seoraksan. There are many different rooms is this hotel. When we arrived the hotel was full although booked weeks before our arrival. Our room was large but very dark with no view and no sitting place. The breakfast could be improved. The staff in the restaurant speaks hardly English - hard to understand the menu for dinner.
The room was clean . Probably no better hotel in this area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Israthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2015

Dear Israthai,

Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for location from Mt. Seorak and staff friendliness.

And in the meantime, the area you have advised will be shared with the team concerned to serve you better in future.

Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Rachel Hwang

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I loved the location of this hotel - so close to Seoraksan National Park. I was there to go hiking and it only took a couple minutes to walk to the main gate of the park. The hotel was easy to get to from the bus station in Sokcho. You can take a bus but I optioned for the taxi which was a little more money, but I didn't want to lug my suitcase up and down the stairs of the bus.

I was here for 3 nights and would definitely stay here again. There is free wifi in the rooms. The restaurant was pretty good. There are places to eat inside the park for much more reasonable prices. The hotel staff was extremely helpful. They answered all my questions and even booked a flight to Busan for me (the website was in Korean so I couldn't do it). I took a cab to the Yangyang airport at the end of my stay. The cost was about 23,000won for about a 30 minute journey. (depending on traffic).

The room I had was a little on the smaller side - but it was just me, so no worries! The bed was comfortable and fresh linens every day. The room was really clean....like I said, I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hawaiiboundToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2015

Dear hawaiiboundToronto,

Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for location from Mt. Seorak and staff friendliness.

Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Rachel Hwang,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sokcho
6.1 mi away
Ramada Gangwon Sokcho Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Class 300
The Class 300
#4 of 15 in Sokcho
170 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Maremons
Hotel Maremons
#5 of 15 in Sokcho
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Benikea Hotel Mountain & Ocean Daepohang
7.0 mi away
Osaek Greenyard Hotel
Osaek Greenyard Hotel
#5 of 14 in Yangyang-gun
18 reviews
8.0 mi away
Naksan Beach Hotel
Naksan Beach Hotel
#6 of 14 in Yangyang-gun
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Stars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Stars Hotel

Address: 998, Seoraksan-ro, Sokcho, Gangwon-do 24903, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Gangwon-do > Sokcho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sokcho
Price Range: $58 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington Stars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kensington Stars Hotel is the nearest place from which the beautiful unexplored regions of Mt.SeorakㅡKorea's most famous vacation areaㅡcan be seen. It boast the panoramic view of Kwon Geum Sung, admired so greatly by the former president Park Jung-Hee, he held his own exclusive room in the hotel. The Kensington Stats Hotel is the first Theme Hotel in the World. It is decorated with goods contributed from celebrities of the cultural and sports world. The hotel has an English-style interior and gracious atmosphere, within which the Kensington family presents beautiful memories that each and every one of the customers may keep deep inside his or her heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kensington Stars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Stars Hotel Sokcho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing