We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B”
Review of Casa Seorak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Seorak
Ranked #1 of 59 Sokcho B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Casa Seorak is beautifully maintained. A 10 year old establishment with each room decorated to provide a lovely stay. The kitchen is well equipped, the bathrooms are spacious (Korean standard wise), the beds are small though but the rooms are homey and comfortable. They provide a small range of DVDs so you can watch a movie while enjoying the jacuzzi in the room or just enjoy the view outside the room from your jacuzzi, either is wonderful. Easily accessible; bus 7 or 7-1 goes up to Seorak and also down to the city centre. Super convenient. That's for moving around but you will be picked up by the owner form the bus station when you first arrive and he gives a very well overview of the city as he drives you form the bus station to Casa Seorak.
We spend 3 days there. One of these days it rained heavily all day, so we bought some food from the city and went back to the hotel to snug into beds, soak in a warm jacuzzi and watched DVD. Perfecto!
I am almost hesitant to recommend this place because it will turn this quaint homey place to be more crowded.
The rooms are perfect, almost difficult to find a flaw, except it could do with a few coat hangers on the wall near the door.

Room Tip: Book a room with a jacuzzi, trust me, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loyloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
39
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Came across Casa Seorak while searching for an one-night accommodation at Sokcho. I've always loved to stay at homestay and was totally elated to find Casa Seorak. It is owned by Mr Juha who is a retiree and now full-time managing Casa Seorak. You can feel the immense amount of tender loving care he has put in to build up this place. As such, you would have a very memorable experience staying here.

Location:
Tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the seaside city of Sokcho but yet not too far. It's very near the East Sea (if I'm not wrong) with a great seaview when you drive out to the main road.We reached there via our private tour with "This Is Korea" who has been a highlight during our short but memorable tour in Gangwon-do.
(You can find out more of "This Is Korea" at:
http://www.tripadvisor.com.sg/Attraction_Review-g294197-d4504787-Reviews-This_is_KOREA_Private_Day_Tour-Seoul.html)

You can always arrange with Mr Juha to pick you up at a pre-arranged location. Just a short distance walk from Casa Seorak, there's a very nicely decorated Italian restaurant which we didn't have the chance to try.

Booking:
Booking of rooms is done very easily via email with Mr Juha. He replies really fast and I appreciate his prompt reply. To secure the reservation, I left my credit card details with him but NO deduction was done. Actual payment was done at the time of check-in.

The place:
The place is quiet though there are other guests. Mr Juha goes the extend of choosing the best furniture, the best bedspread, pillow and etc. It's truly a great experience to stay at a Korean Homestay. Close attention has been paid to make sure that we have a great stay. Free laundry and drying (plus neatly folded) is a great plus point.

The breakfast is delivered to our rooms personally by Mr Juha and what a spread. Take a look at our photos and you would know why there isn't any scraps were left. Children appropriate food was served to our young kids, so thoughtful of him...

Truly wished that we have stayed here for a longer period of time instead of just one night.

PS: oh ya, when weather and seasons permit, Mr Juha can even arrange barbeque for his guests...

Room Tip: They have units to cater to big family but limited units. Make sure you book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

The landlord picked us up when we dropped down at the wrong bus terminal that was the unterlink city bus instead of express bus terminal. The landlord and his wife did a very healthy excellent breakfast for us. The only problem was we were unable to recognise the bus stop to find our way back to the B & B as the street light was dimly lit but the landmark was the gas station SK. Other then that our trip to Casa Seorak was perfect. And would recommend any one who wants to stay at Sokcho.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I came here for one night to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. I'm so glad that I did!
This is one of the best places I have stayed and it's really good value for money.

I stayed in a whirlpool room where the pool was in the bedroom by the huge (tinted - don't worry!!) windows with a view into the woods at the back. Even if you didn't want to use the bath there was a fantastic shower in the bathroom (along with a toilet with a heated seat!).

The room was large and decorated in a cool, quirky, way. There was a kitchen with everything you could need if you wanted to cook a simple meal. There was also a coffee grinder and a little pot of coffee beans!

The owner is so lovely. He picked me up from the bus station and on the way to the hotel he pointed out all the important places. He also showed me the bus stops and told me how much it would cost to get around.

The hotel is located in the perfect place to explore the mountains and what could be nicer than going back to a whirlpool bath after a day of hiking?!

I would not hesitate to tell other people to go here and I intend to go back again soon!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 102 and loved it - I don't think you could go wrong though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

What a delightful home-stay experience we had... If you are already staying in a hotel in Seoul, don't stay in another hotel in Sokcho! Stay at Casa Seorak B&B!

I won't repeat all the raving reviews. Just book it already :)

My room: Deluxe Whirlpool (which the owner said is the "Room of the Rising Sun" because we get to see the sunrise).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j1eann1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sokcho, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and drove here in a rental car with no issues finding the place with a GPS after getting directions in an email. It was great to stay away from the crowds and have a very clean and well appointed Deluxe Family room. The owner pointed out the local restaurants and Seorksan on a map, he even entered on our destination in our Korean GPS. We really like the Italian restaurant just down the lane called Matsu.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Probably the best B&B in south Korea, the house owner is very friendly with speaking fluently English. Althought the location of Casa Seorak is quite far to Sokcho and Seoraksan, you can take taxi or bus with a reasonable price, and owner is willing to fetch us to and back to Sokcho Express bus terminal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eXace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sokcho hotels
5.6 mi away
Kensington Stars Hotel
Kensington Stars Hotel
#2 of 14 in Sokcho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Gangwon Sokcho Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Class 300
The Class 300
#3 of 14 in Sokcho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maremons
Hotel Maremons
#6 of 14 in Sokcho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.3 mi away
Esher House Pension
Esher House Pension
#3 of 59 in Sokcho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
3.1 mi away
The House Hostel
The House Hostel
#1 of 35 in Sokcho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Seorak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Seorak

Property: Casa Seorak
Address: 42, Hadomun-gil, Sokcho, Gangwon-do, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Gangwon-do > Sokcho
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Sokcho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Seorak 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated within 10 minutes’ walk from the Sea and 15 minutes from Seorak Mountain by car, Casa Seorak is one of the best Bed & Breakfasts in Sokcho run by a friendly English-speaking family. Casa Seorak's amenities include ensuite bathroom & kitchenette, PC(free wifi), LCD TV, DVD & bicycle rental and charcoal barbecue setting. It also offers free pick up & drop off at both Sokcho Bus Terminals and breakfast delivered to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Seorak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing