We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough room and service but too pricey for what they actually offer.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Benikea Gyungpo Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Gangneung
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

I liked staying here, however, I feel they charged too much. The showers had mildew and the bed sheets looked a little dingy. All in all, I think you're pretty much so paying for the location. You are about a two minute walk from the beach, and there are little shops lining the street in front of the hotel. It was nice because the staff spoke adequate English, and the breakfast is very tasty and filling (even though I think that is a bit pricey too). For a room you will pay about 120 won a night and the America style Breakfast was $12 a plate. I give it 3/5 stars, not the worst, but it could be better. I would stay again if I couldn't find better options.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RookieMom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
There are newer reviews for Benikea Gyungpo Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 15 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

After visiting friends in Seoul, my boyfriend and I really wanted a few days to chill at the sea side and our friends recommended Gyeongpo beach in Gangneung. Neither of us can speak Korean which meant that we couldn't book online nor read the majority of the motel websites in Gangneung... also as we found out, the town is like a holiday-makers secret - there are hardly any westerners here and if you don't come when all the Koreans have holiday (most people tend to take their vacations at the same time, which can make the beaches super overcrowded) then it's super chilled, with a beautiful sandy beach and helpful locals.
After much searching online and comparing the locations on googlemaps, we took a chance on the Benikea Gyungpo Beach Hotel. At $117 per night via the agoda website, it was a little more than we wanted to spend, but it was totally worth it. The interior of the hotel has recently been refurbished and everything is to a high standard. The beds were slightly larger than normal twins and the bedding was spotlessly clean and of thick white cotton. We were also given white bathrobes and there was a mini bar and a little fridge. The air con was nice and cold too. Korean tv shows films in the original American/English with Korean subtitles which is nice if you wanna kick back and watch some shows. The only downside really was the windows could do with a clean and we had a smoking room even though we requested in our reservation a non-smoking room. However, after leaving the windows open for a day, the stale-smoking smell soon disappeared.
Another good point was the service - the staff were always very friendly and for example, offered to order us a taxi and brought our luggage out to the driver when we were leaving. For the location and the very high International standard, this hotel can't be beat:-).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ninoushka E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parceVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, traveled with friends
Thank westsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: 3층이상의 온돌방을 추천해요
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KaYoung60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ptifi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oksana2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gangneung
0.1 mi away
SEAMARQ Hotel
SEAMARQ Hotel
#1 of 28 in Gangneung
48 reviews
0.9 mi away
MGM Hotel
MGM Hotel
#7 of 28 in Gangneung
11 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hong C Hotel
Hong C Hotel
#3 of 28 in Gangneung
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Gangneung Tourist Hotel
Gangneung Tourist Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gangneung
3 reviews
17.2 mi away
Benikea Premier Donghae Medical Spa Convention Hotel
2.6 mi away
Herren Haus
Herren Haus
#5 of 28 in Gangneung
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benikea Gyungpo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benikea Gyungpo Beach Hotel

Address: 17, Haean-Ro 406beon-Gil, Gangneung-Si, Gangwon-Do, Gangneung, Gangwon-do 210-130, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Gangwon-do > Gangneung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Gangneung
Price Range: $90 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Benikea Gyungpo Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BENIKEA Gyungpo Beach Hotel, has some rooms with beautiful views of the ocean and lake. Guests can admire the panorama of the East Sea through the windows of their room. The hotel also features a cozy and comfortable coffee shop, cocktail bar, western-style restaurant, Korean restaurant, wedding hall equipped with advanced facilities, and a banquet hall with a spectacular lighting system. Guests seeking to take some time out from the oppressive city atmosphere will have an opportunity to relax and make many happy memories here. The clean air and beautiful environment of Gyeongpo makes it the perfect tourist destination. BENIKEA GYUNGPO BEACH HOTEL, equipped with the best facilities, does its utmost to provide all our guests with an excellent opportunity to rest and enjoy a satisfying trip, thanks to the dedicated efforts of our employees and our warm-hearted services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Benikea Gyungpo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benikea Gyungpo Beach Hotel South Korea/Gangneung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing