We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Roadhaus Hotel(General Santos)
$41
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Rafael(General Santos)
$21
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Phela Grande Residences(General Santos)
$34
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Alchan Suites(General Santos)(Great Value!)
$22
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$11
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Greenleaf Hotel Gensan(General Santos)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Asia Royale Hotel(General Santos)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phela Grande Hotel(General Santos)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
14
18
8
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
18
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinspired hotelold worldsm mallcheck in was quickwater pressurethe wi fivery nice hotelbusiness tripwalking distancefurniturelobbyairportlinenscityelevatorgensansoap
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 43 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2017 via mobile

All rooms are clean, with aircon and warm water in shower.
The Rooms are big and silent, the windows are noise isolated...!
Outside and furniture looks like an Italian hotel... Very nice.
Good breakfast (Philippine and European)... for a low price included.
The Stuff is very very friendly and helpful if you have a problem...
But we didn't have the feeling that the stuff really knows who pays their monthly salary, because when they all (including waiter) are sitting at Internet watching, the guest is no more existing...
we had always to ask for attention.
We had problems with the flush in the toiletbowel, we changed the room, then we had the problem that the water in the shower doesn't drain, we changed in next room... One day they forgot to clean the room completely, an other day they stopped after making the bed and bathroom.

These are just small points, but it is not werth to give more points here...!

Without we would give 5 points!

The pictures here are real!

The Hotel is located near the SM City Mall, only 5 minutes footwalk.
And next door of the very good Tambilawan Restaurant.

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel San M, Account Executive at Hotel San Marco Gensan, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Hi GUEST,

Thanks for staying with us during your GenSan holiday here in the Philippines.

It's always a pleasure to hear from happy valued guests. This motivates us to maintain the quality of our service and facilities and continue finding ways to further improve, as your satisfaction is indeed our pleasure.

We apologize and thank you for bringing to our attention some of your dissatisfactions. We’ll have our TEAM-RESOLVE. We hope that the rest of our service and amenities somehow defrayed the displeasures you had and appreciate the patience you’ve extended. At any rate, we would love to have you with us again at Hotel San Marco and be grateful for the chance to somehow make it up to you. Much obliged.

Sincerely,

Ella
Account Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2016

Only negative thing to say and please bare in mind it is not the hotels fault this happened, there's no transfer on the weekends. Cab is 150Pesos from the airport and to be fair that's cheap. Breakfast is good, knowledge of the area is useful, staff are very friendly.

Would I stay here again? Yes.

Room Tip: Right where you need to be.
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Harrison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel San M, Account Executive at Hotel San Marco Gensan, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Hi Harrison,

Thanks for staying with us during your GenSan holiday here in the Philippines.

It's always a pleasure to hear from happy valued guests. This motivates us to maintain the quality of our service and facilities and continue finding ways to further improve, as your satisfaction is indeed our pleasure.

We're looking forward to having you with us again at Hotel San Marco soon. Much obliged.

Sincerely,

Ella
Account Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016

I have stayed in the San Marco several times now and is my preferred place when i visit friends. The staff are very pleasant and helpful above expectation. Breakfast is very good to start the day. Bathroom and bed are the most important comforts of my stay and both were very good. The only disappointment is the speed and access to free WiFi. Often I was unable to have any WiFi connection in the room but always available in Reception.

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel San M, Account Executive at Hotel San Marco Gensan, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Hi Ian,

Thanks for staying with us during your GenSan holiday here in the Philippines.

It's always a pleasure to hear from happy valued guests. This motivates us to maintain the quality of our service and facilities and continue finding ways to further improve, as your satisfaction is indeed our pleasure.

We apologize and thank you for bringing to our attention some of your dissatisfactions. We’ll have our Internet Service provider check and resolve that Wi-Fi issue you unfortunately experienced. We hope that the rest of our service and amenities somehow defrayed the displeasures you had and appreciate the patience you’ve extended. At any rate, we would love to have you with us again at Hotel San Marco and be grateful for the chance to somehow make it up to you. Much obliged.

Sincerely,

Ella
Account Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016

I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks. The staff there was excellent and extremely helpful. Being an American, there were many little things I did not know about which the staff assisted me with, Here in America, our cellphones do not use SIM cards for example. The staff assisted me in getting a good SIM card for an inexpensive mobile phone I acquired and they helped me get it installed and running. This was a big help to me. They also gave me good advice on places to travel to and advised me on many other matters. I made many friends with the fine staff at the hotel. The rooms are very clean and nice. The air conditioning worked well, and the price was very reasonable. The food at the hotel was spectacular and I ate there often. Being an American, I was concerned about drinking the water there. The hotel provides bottled water in the mini fridge in each room but also, if you ask they will fill a pitcher for you with water purified by their alkaline purifier. Considering the heat of General Santos, it is recommended to drink alot of water and this was a wonderful plus. Being centrally located also was a big help. One can go to pretty much anywhere in Gensan by taxi or tricycle and most all the drivers seem to know how to get you to the San Marco if you are out in Lagao or another place. The hotel staff assists with calling taxis and wake up calls and so many other ways. The laundry service is inexpensive and very good. One of the BIGGEST reasons I chose this hotel also is that it provides small room safes for those guests who ask or them. This means you can lock up your passport, money and other key valuables right in your room. This gives you piece of mind as you travel around the city. If you want to feel safe and secure.. I recommend the San Marco! Overall its a fantastic hotel for the money and the staff working there are spectacular.

Room Tip: I found the third floor to be the quietest. . You can take fantastic pictures up on rooftop patio of the skyline and city!
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank kylito65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel San M, Manager at Hotel San Marco Gensan, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2016

Hi Sir Kyle,

Thanks for staying with us during your GenSan holiday here in the Philippines.

It's always a pleasure to hear from happy valued guests. This motivates us to maintain the quality of service and facilities and continue finding ways to further improve, as your satisfaction is indeed our pleasure.

We're looking forward to having you with us again at Hotel San Marco in the near future. Much obliged.

Sincerely,

Marilou Dequillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile

We've been booked for our stay by a company and checked in around 5:30 in the afternoon. The hotel is fully booked, and the staff should have anticipated the needs of the guests beforehand. Disappointing services sighhhh!
1. No bath towels available (it's now 10:22 pm)
2. The bathroom's drainage is clogged.
3. Lack of available food items for breakfast (no pancakes, waffles, french toasts)
4. Flat iron is not available for use inside the room.
5. Water splatters outside from the shower room due to lack of a shower curtain (I asked for a curtain from a staff because there's a shower rod but I was told there's no shower curtain available)

Stayed: August 2016, traveled on business
Thank Joy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel San M, Manager at Hotel San Marco Gensan, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2016

Hi Miss Joy,

Thank you so much for airing your complaints. We do appreciate valued guests informing us of any grievance as we see them as opportunities to improve the standards in service and facilities we ardently wish to maintain. Please accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience you and your companions went through.

Kindly note that we're already consulting with our maintenance engineer regarding the clogging of drainage in our rooms to address the real problem(s) the soonest.

We deeply appreciate the patience you've extended despite the shortcomings. We also wish that you've somehow enjoyed the rest of the service and facilities we've provided in high hopes that they've in some ways defrayed the displeasure. At any rate, we would love to have you with us again at Hotel San Marco and be grateful for the chance to somehow make it up to you. Much obliged.

Sincerely,

Marilou Dequillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews