We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as new...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apple Tree Resort & Hotel
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I was in this hotel last Dec. 16-17, 2011 and it was just an average hotel in terms of accommodation, food and function venue however just recently last week March 13-14, 2014 we had conducted meeting there and i was so amazed with the transformation of the hotel, nice food, nice restaurant and nice pool. Our stay was quite fun.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Venus66_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 88 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

I had the misfortune to stay at this resort in early January 2014 for 12 nights.Vastly overpriced,even with discount and very tired rooms with under serviced ancient air conditioning units.The sink in bathroom had a poorly attached faucet which was never repaired and the rooms were cleaned by youngsters who were paid the princely sum of 70 pence a day for a twelve hour shift. Breakfast was of a very poor quality and cheaply produced ( they served up weakly diluted orange squash on an island renowned for fresh tropical juice!). I ended up taking in my own orange juice and bread as their toast was dire and survived on boiled eggs as their ham and corned beef were inedible.
Their pool policy stunk. I was asked to pay an extra £6 for my girlfriend's sister and boyfriend to swim.I refused of course. Why allow joe public to use a private resort pool?Why, money of course!
I am, though, full of praise for the staff, Highly underpaid, they were all so polite and friendly and would try, often in vain, ( through no fault of their own)to satisfy your needs.
Much investment is required by its present owners before I would visit again. Unfortunately a change of name does not hide all the cracks!!

Room Tip: Would not stay here by choice . There are better in Cagayan de Oro
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michael s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Nice stay but be aware of the pool policy. They let anyone swim in the pool as long as they can pay the fee so security is questionable. There was a death in the pool on New Years Day and only one life guard for a rather huge pool with 2 deep ends. I really don't enjoy paying resort prices if they are going to let 400 people in the pool. All people going to the pool go by the rooms so I never felt comfortable. Be aware of the " Nickle and diming" that goes on. It was clean and housekeeping was very friendly. the beach was pretty gross. trash everywhere.

Room Tip: Security an issue .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank henrietta359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is the closest hotel that we can get if you want to go to Divine Mercy in El Salvador City, Misamis Oriental. They are friendly aside from one of the lady manager (medyo di maganda minsan yung approach nya).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank copslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I and my fiancée stayed 7 nights here and loved it,great service daily and no dramas , very polite staff always able to assist, every time we entered the restaurant someone was ther to open the door,a couple of times we were late for breakfast but weren't refused .all satay speak English well and can organise taxis anytime, wifi is in the lobby and restaurant and is fast enough,overall It was great and I'll definitely be going back,and the pool is really nice and kept clean.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lanai room which is downstairs and next to the pool so you can walk straight out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaughan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Me and friends decided to have our lunch at Apple Tree Resort & Hotel because of its improved facilities especially the pool and also, nothing beats having a meal at a beachfront resort. We got there before lunchtime and to our surprise, we were stopped at the entrance by the resort's security because we're not allowed to bring the mango float (in a plastic container) inside. We asked why but they didn't give us any valid reason, only saying that it's what their management has instructed. We tried to plea, offering to pay for the corkage but to no avail. We thought of transferring to another resort but opted not to because it's such a hassle, we're hungry and some of my friends wanted to try out their pool (CDO only has a handful of decent beachside resorts with a pool FYI). Good thing they offered to store the dessert in their refrigerator in the lobby but that's it. We took our orders and had our lunch but being told not to bring an outside food other than chips and water was something we haven't gotten over with so me and a friend went back to their reception and tried to negotiate, just for us to enjoy the dessert our friend brought. Offers were made but corkage was out of the equation, instead, they told us that they'll allow us to eat the mango float as long as we do it on the beachside (not on their tables so we have to sit on the sand) and as long as we supply our own utensils (not theirs that we used for our lunch). Wow, where's the "City of Golden Friendship" in that? C'mon, we're old enough to understand if that is really their policy but one, they're not able to give us a valid reason, two, a trainee told that it's allowed as long as we pay for the corkage (but when she came back, she told us that it isn't) and lastly, we're good paying customers so it's insulting to be told that "hey, you can eat your dessert if you sit on the beach and no, we can't allow you to use our utensils". We went their to bond and enjoy lunch and the scenery but they ruined it for us, we gave them a chance by staying there but offering us something so insulting and ridiculous prompted me to write this review and discourage people from going to the place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anthrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

checking in was quick in easy ( no drama with the booking) the staff had our bags upstairs in our room in an instant. staff are very friendly and the room is nice and clean. the hotel is located near the beach plus the pool is wide and safe enough for our little one to run around the pool. the hotel cost is a bargain, it worth every cent.
I would recommended this to my friends.

Room Tip: we book our holiday in August which is ideal since its less busy, last year we couldn't get a bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagayan de Oro hotels
5.7 mi away
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
#3 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
313 reviews
4.2 mi away
Country Village Hotel
Country Village Hotel
#26 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
59 reviews
3.5 mi away
N Hotel
N Hotel
#4 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
#2 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
422 reviews
5.2 mi away
Seda Centrio
Seda Centrio
#1 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
519 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mallberry Suites Business Hotel
Mallberry Suites Business Hotel
#9 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Resort & Hotel

Address: Taboc, Opol Misamis Oriental, Cagayan de Oro, Mindanao 735411, Philippines (Formerly Lauremar Beach Hotel)
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Misamis Oriental Province > Cagayan de Oro
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
Price Range: $60 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apple Tree Resort & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apple Tree Resort and Hotel is a perfect place to escape and restore oneself. And a mix business with leisure. Get away from a hectic day of business, shopping and entertainment in the city. It is along the sandy beach of Opol, Misamis Oriental. About 10 minutes away from bustling Cagayan de Oro City. Restaurant offers fresh grilled food, cool drinks of special concoction and innovative Filipino and Asian Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Apple Tree Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Resort And Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel Cagayan De Oro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing