We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still in Tune: some background Noise, though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
Pasig, Rizal, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Still in Tune: some background Noise, though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Old habits die hard (apologies to Bruce Willis) especially if the first time experience is a pleasant one and worth sharing. This time, I had to have an emergency meeting in Cagayan de Oro so guess what? I booked a stay with Tune Hotel at CM Recto Avenue. This time, Tune Hotel seem to have construction ongoing (hopefully for better amenities to guests). The receptionist was kind enough to recommend higher rooms (8th to 9th floors) to escape from the construction noise. Rooms are clean and spartan (as it was before).

Do not attempt to work inside the room. The rooms are good for getting a rest, sleeping and turning in after a day's work or visit. There is no space for a table and chair, nor do they provide table and chair for guests. You can do your work at Starbucks at Centrio or adjacent to Limketkai both of which are a short walk away.

Bring mosquito repellant before you go out especially at night. The polluted creed immediately beside Tune Hotel (and this is beyond the control of the hotel) is infested with mosquitoes waiting for guests to come out to get a bite. The relative solitude of the hotel could be there no longer. The location is directly adjacent to a site where SM Mall will be. It could also be good since a walk to the mall would be shorter.

Room Tip: If you have to work inside your room (for an emergency meeting) you may ask the concierge or hotel r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visacounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    132
    33
    12
    6
See reviews for
47
68
39
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I have been visiting Cagayan de Oro for the longest time. I used to stay with friends but now that they've moved out of the city and resided elsewhere, I now had to resort to getting a hotel in CDO. I've stayed in other hotels way back but upon hearing about this new hotel/inn, I didn't think twice and booked here. I was definitely not disappointed.

Upon entering the hotel, a spacious and clean lobby was the first I noticed. Meanwhile, I also liked the rooms of Tune since it had a modern interior. I hardly expected that for such an affordable price. We were also provided towels and other toiletries in a red slingbag, which I thought was very unique. However, the towels and toiletries are an option - you can get a lower hotel rate if you don't include them in your hotel booking.

In addition, their location is very convenient, it is between malls. You can just walk to either Lim Ket Kai or Centrio Mall...whichever you choose. Another plus is when you take an airport shuttle, they will have no problem dropping you off at the hotel itself since it's along the way.

Since Tune Inn is a budget hotel, it does not have a restaurant in the building. But there's no need to worry, plenty of restaurants and foodchains are available in the malls (and their surrounding areas) so you can just plan your meals around these places.

As far as the staff is concerned, they are cordial and approachable. There was just a little misunderstanding about leaving our luggage in the hotel. My friend was the one who talked to a staff and she was told we would be charged P60/luggage. However, I made a clarification and found out that it was for free.

All in all, my stay in Tune Inn was pleasant, and I would not mind staying there again when I return to Cagayan de Oro.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
102 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

affordable rooms as ever depending on how early you book. They do not offer transpo but Europcar is their official partner transfer service alongside Seda Hotels but do not TRUST them. They won't go or let you wait for hours if you are just traveling alone. Just get LAX instead. they are by the hour. 200 one way from airport which takes about 45 mins land travel to the city. HOtel room is ok. TV is difficult to operate. Nearby Jollibee a 5 min walk away. But all in all it was on ok stay considering the price I paid.

-Foul smelling odor coming from the toilet. Really foul smell.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

It is a budget hotel on the main street in cagayan. The room has good air conditioning and good cable tv. The price is very reasonable and the room was also very clean. I Stayed here for 6 days and was easy to get to all the attractions i wanted to see. It is also a 5 minute walk from the ayala mall and Galiano (spelling) where there is many restaurants and also a grocery store. The room does not have a fridge but that is all.

Room Tip: try to get a room away from the street. you can hear the traffic if you are near the street. it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBucanero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

A hotel in the city that offers very affordable price with a very excellent services. Very near to Centrio Ayala and Limketkai Mall. In room wifi connection was very strong and recommendable for business transactions. Hotel crews were very attentive and very polite. When we will request for a room make up they really make sure that you will be satisfied :) Very quick services. VERY RECOMMENDABLE HOTEL in Cagayan De Oro City. :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Geisderf G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanbu al Sinaiyah, Al Madinah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

It was a wow for a low price with a very nice place.
The service was way up to my expectation.
Staffs were all friendly.
Place near to lemkitkai.
Just a few minutes walk going to mc do, mall and starbucks.
Safe place. Clean and comfy.
Available safety box in the room

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank May J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mambajao, Philippines
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Right between the Malls so walking distance for shopaholics! Very comfortable beds supper strong showers in room WiFi
Attentive staff and very security conscious, missing a coffee n snacks shop, but looks like one is being build't at the entrance.
Secure car park so all in all perfect for short stays in CDO !!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel away from the highway are quietest, still not to bad as sound proof w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipong19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagayan de Oro hotels
0.3 mi away
Seda Centrio
Seda Centrio
#1 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
#3 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.9 mi away
GC Suites Hotel
GC Suites Hotel
#5 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand City Hotel
The Grand City Hotel
#13 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.9 mi away
N Hotel
N Hotel
#4 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mallberry Suites Business Hotel
Mallberry Suites Business Hotel
#9 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Cagayan de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Cagayan de Oro

Property: Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
Address: C. M. Recto Avenue, Cagayan de Oro, Mindanao 9000, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Cagayan de Oro)
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Misamis Oriental Province > Cagayan de Oro
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Planet Cagayan de Oro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Planet Cagayan De Oro's 159 rooms are centrally located in this energised city, a short stroll to the Centrio Mall, the Limketkai Centre and numerous bars, restaurants and shops. Also located nearby are many other tourist attractions including the Gardens of Malasag Eco-Tourism Village, Xavier University Folk Museum and La Castilla Museum. The 159-room Red Planet Cagayan De Oro has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Planet Cagayan de Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing