We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great but old hotel, would stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GV Hotel Cagayan De Oro
Ranked #38 of 51 Cagayan de Oro B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great but old hotel, would stay here again.”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights in June 2013. Friendly and helpful staff and spacious clean rooms. Had to change our room once due to ant invasion in the bed (woke up with ants all over my body). Staff gave us another room imediately, that had no ants. In four nights we saw (and eradicated) one cockroach. Stil the hotel is good value and would stay there again. Small diner next door with almost free foods. The street has some shanty elements to it, but its easy to catch motorella or cab at any time of the day. Its near to Ayala Centrio mall, which is just down the road. 3 minute cabride to big Lankonktkei mall (how to spell this?). Bought a grilled chicken at nearby diner for 125php, it was awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikLovesPhilippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
3
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Pros:
-- If you need to catch the first ferry trip going to Camiguin, GV Hotel is near the port; staying here would be very convenient.
-- Budget friendly. We booked directly through their online booking and chanced upon their room discounts (cheaper than the rates of the online booking sites).

Cons:
-- There are overhead water pipes, you could hear the rumbling of the water whenever someone uses the bathroom from another room. My friend, a light sleeper, was woken up by that sound during the night.
-- The bathroom of the room where we stayed could use a little more scrubbing.

Overall, I'd say you could choose this hotel if you're on a budget or if you just need to spend the night before heading to the lovely little island of Camiguin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia City, Philippines
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed just for 1 night last March 8, 2013. I was expecting that hotel staff will carry my baggage but the staff simply ignore the fact that i was carrying two quiet heavy bags. The room that i got was small just 1 bed and TV that i was not able to use because there was no remote provided, no phone in the room. To make my story short,.. i am just informing everyone that i was not satisfied with my short stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venus66_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dasmarinas City, Philippines
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Checking-in is easy, just present the printed e-voucher and pay for P200.00 key deposit (refundable upon check-out).

It has an elevetor (lift).

Room is big (family of four). Beds are ok...it has two double bed. too big for us because we are just medium-sized Asian. Our room has fridge, two single sofas and a small, round dining table with 2 seats. The problem with the room is that one side of the wall is all made of glass. It has curtains but too thin that sunlight still wakes you up early in the morning.

Bathroom is too small. Toilet and shower room are just divided with fiber glass partition. Shower door is not working. We can't close the door that it remained open the whole time we're taking a bath. The toilet area doesn't have a drainage on the floor that water from the shower got stuck, made the toilet area flooded. Towels are clean but too thin. One of the blankets was wet. I didn't know how it happened since it was folded same as others unused. Television has limited channels...4 channels only if I remember it right.

Location is excellent. Just beside a bakery that also serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Just 2 mins. (walk) away from Gaisano Mall, 5 mins. (I guess) to Centrio, the newly opened Ayala Mall. Accessible to jeepneys and motorelas as well.

We paid P1,050 for 1 night. and I guess there are lots of inns, pensionne houses that offer the same but with better facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prex5098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagayan de Oro hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand City Hotel
The Grand City Hotel
#12 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.1 mi away
Country Village Hotel
Country Village Hotel
#26 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kingston Lodge
Kingston Lodge
#8 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Sogo - Cagayan De Oro
#31 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
2.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miami Inn
Miami Inn
#11 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Dawn Pensionne
New Dawn Pensionne
#1 of 51 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GV Hotel Cagayan De Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GV Hotel Cagayan De Oro

Property: GV Hotel Cagayan De Oro
Address: Corrales Extension, Cagayan de Oro, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Misamis Oriental Province > Cagayan de Oro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Cagayan de Oro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — GV Hotel Cagayan De Oro 1*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your GV Hotel Cagayan De Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing