We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good for one visit”

Malasag Eco-Tourism Village and Gardens
Las Pinas
Level Contributor
1,448 reviews
637 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 687 helpful votes
“good for one visit”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Good for one visit - as the place is really not that special. There is a nice view and some nice shade trees and ornamentals. That's it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JEmmanuelLasPinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    14
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
160 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“30 minutes”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The drive up to the village was certainly relaxing, lush greenery on either side with rays of sunshine playing hide and seek.

The village itself offered little. There's a restaurant, a few souvenir shops that sell jewelry made out of wild boar teeth and other eccentric items, a pool and an aviary. Given, I didn't go see the entire location as I wasn't wearing the right clothes for the elements.

30 minutes to 1 hour is enough to see and appreciate the views from up here.

Entrance fee is P30 but the taxi ride from the center could set you back a good P250.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank youcancallmesarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
239 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The place is neither near nor far from the city proper but the visit will be truly worth your time and effort. They have lots of trails, an interesting collection of birds and animals in their mini zoo, and greens all around. The hike around the complex is both exhilarating (because of the wonderful views) and exhausting (because of the long uneven trails and the steeply uphill incline on your way back), This makes a restful stop at their cafe almost necessary and quite rewarding when you see and gawk at the wide panoramic scenery visible to the naked eye as you sip your refreshing iced tea.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LSSantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Alabama
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fun Day out in Cagayan De Oro.”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Entrance to the park is 30 Pesos (that's about 75 cents US) so for that price there is nothing to complain about. There is a small animal sanctuary (zoo) with monkey, birds (Sea eagle was unique), snakes and tree-dwelling animals. For 50p ($1.25) you can enter the pool for the day. Unfortunately the pool was closed on the day of our visit and there were no tribal dances due to wedding preparations. The climb to the pool and animals is steep and not for the elderly or those with mobility challenges. The grounds are well-kept and the flora beautiful. There were a few souvenir stands with some unique items (boar tusks, carved dear skulls & monkey skulls), bead-work and nice woven bags (the native bags really make nice gifts). Maybe a little over-priced but to be expected at such a venue. The cafe is nice with a great view. The food prices are reasonable and tasty. I would caution that despite the names on the menu the food is "Filipino." I order a "club sandwich" and was disappointed- it was not what I expected. My wife however ordered squid adobo (which is a local food style) and it was fantastic- so just stick to the local cuisine and you'll be fine.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BarryGCarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subic, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“educational visit”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Went there on my 1st visit to Mindanao with a friend without any idea what they have there. I don't know if there is a public transport but in our case,we just rented a scooter.there is a minimal fee and right there in the entrance is a group of Muslim tribe dancing.After that is a different tribe showcasing their dances and culture.Never knew that Muslims have different tribes. I joyfully joined them dancing to the beat of the drum. Traditional weaving is still used by the Bukidnon tribe which I sure know how to do. I always enjoy the adventure of learning different culture between Muslims and Christians.

I also like the hanging bridge. there are bird cages too but i love the flowers. There is a pool and cottages for rent. A nice ocean view from the little outdoor cafe and on the side was a weaving stuffs used by the Bukidnon Tribe,some Muslims are also selling souvenir items and one elderly give me the deer head which was beautifully cleaned and varnish.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank windfang05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malasag Eco-Tourism Village and Gardens also viewed

Cagayan de Oro, Misamis Oriental Province
Cagayan de Oro, Misamis Oriental Province
 
Cagayan de Oro, Misamis Oriental Province
Cagayan de Oro, Misamis Oriental Province
 

Been to Malasag Eco-Tourism Village and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing