We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Day out in Cagayan De Oro.”

Malasag Eco-Tourism Village and Gardens
Russellville, Alabama
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fun Day out in Cagayan De Oro.”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Entrance to the park is 30 Pesos (that's about 75 cents US) so for that price there is nothing to complain about. There is a small animal sanctuary (zoo) with monkey, birds (Sea eagle was unique), snakes and tree-dwelling animals. For 50p ($1.25) you can enter the pool for the day. Unfortunately the pool was closed on the day of our visit and there were no tribal dances due to wedding preparations. The climb to the pool and animals is steep and not for the elderly or those with mobility challenges. The grounds are well-kept and the flora beautiful. There were a few souvenir stands with some unique items (boar tusks, carved dear skulls & monkey skulls), bead-work and nice woven bags (the native bags really make nice gifts). Maybe a little over-priced but to be expected at such a venue. The cafe is nice with a great view. The food prices are reasonable and tasty. I would caution that despite the names on the menu the food is "Filipino." I order a "club sandwich" and was disappointed- it was not what I expected. My wife however ordered squid adobo (which is a local food style) and it was fantastic- so just stick to the local cuisine and you'll be fine.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BarryGCarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    14
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Subic, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“educational visit”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Went there on my 1st visit to Mindanao with a friend without any idea what they have there. I don't know if there is a public transport but in our case,we just rented a scooter.there is a minimal fee and right there in the entrance is a group of Muslim tribe dancing.After that is a different tribe showcasing their dances and culture.Never knew that Muslims have different tribes. I joyfully joined them dancing to the beat of the drum. Traditional weaving is still used by the Bukidnon tribe which I sure know how to do. I always enjoy the adventure of learning different culture between Muslims and Christians.

I also like the hanging bridge. there are bird cages too but i love the flowers. There is a pool and cottages for rent. A nice ocean view from the little outdoor cafe and on the side was a weaving stuffs used by the Bukidnon Tribe,some Muslims are also selling souvenir items and one elderly give me the deer head which was beautifully cleaned and varnish.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank windfang05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A nice place to walk and talk - Not too much to see or do”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Went there with a friend with expectations of seeing more than was actually there. I'm not sure if it is just run down, ill conceived, underfunded or uncompleted. It was nice to walk around, nice view of the ocean from the little outdoor cafe. There are some cages in various areas with a few birds, lizards and monkey's - all pretty sad looking, unfortunately. There are a few craft sellers with necklaces, trinkets etc. By western standards it won't meet your expectations for an "Eco Village". There is a small lodging area for those who wish to stay overnight. We took a taxi there (relatively cheap in the area), but when there, we found out there is no transportation back to town! No bus. No taxi's. :( Luckily we got a hold of a friend, who took a taxi there to pick us up a few hours later, otherwise we would be in big trouble. It is miles away from the main road. Not walkable. So beware and plan accordingly. In the end it was nice to be out in nature to spend time with a friend, but this is really between 2 and 3 circles. I recommend bringing sunscreen, hat and a couple liters of water if you visit. It is also not ideal for the elderly as there are many steps and steep slopes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank medschoolguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dasmarinas City, Philippines
Level Contributor
116 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Located Uphill”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Located uphill, far from the hi-way. Don't know if there is a public transportation going to this place. In our case, we just asked a relative to bring us here. What I like here is the hanging bridge but you have to pay minimal fee aside from what you'll have to pay in the main entrance. There is a pool here. Though, I don't know if that is for exclusive use of their in-house guests.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Prex5098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“it was raining, but still nice”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went with a friend to see what eco-tourisn means in Southern Philippines, expecting to be disappointed sorely. But no, the only uncool thing was that it was raining too much to really get around and see the whole thing. I would go back there and try again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank manalive53715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malasag Eco-Tourism Village and Gardens also viewed

Cagayan de Oro, Misamis Oriental Province
Cagayan de Oro, Misamis Oriental Province
 
Cagayan de Oro, Misamis Oriental Province
Cagayan de Oro, Misamis Oriental Province
 

Been to Malasag Eco-Tourism Village and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing