We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and Great Value”
Review of New Dawn Pensionne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Dawn Pensionne
Ranked #1 of 51 Cagayan de Oro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location and Great Value”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Good clean rooms and good location. The staff are polite and helpful. The only thing we didn't like is the deposit of 500 Pesos for the remote control to watch TV. There is a good convenience store inside the petrol station right opposite this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arunkumar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    47
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
30
16
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Davao City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel for budget travellers. However being a budget traveller you need to scrimpt all the money youve got. However, the deposit for their tv remote readily keeps your p500 unusable for the whole duration of stay. It should be free for all rooms and if there are unscrupulous guests who steals it, let them pay upon checkout. Whats thenuse of the room check every right after check out advise.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Junflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mambajao, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great value, accommodating staff, and on the door steps for business or night life. We now use this hotel as a regular place to stay if we're shopping.
Secure car parking is a bonus, the front desk even store your shopping securely.

Room Tip: Slightly more expensive but the corner suites have fridge kettle and are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pipong19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSA
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was looking for a place to stay in Cagayan de Oro for a couple of nights as we were going to use it as a springboard for our Camiguin holiday and I was lucky enough to be recommended this hotel. It was an almost on the fly thing as I did not make reservations and just dropped by from the airport, reception staff were accommodating and helpful (we arrived quite early at around 8AM) we were told that they can let us into the room by around 1030 (thank you) so we went out to have breakfast first and coming back at around the agreed time, were readily escorted to our rooms. Very basic but plenty adequate considering the price I paid, important thing is that its clean and the AC works. very well situated in a major thoroughfare with good eating establishments close by. My only gripe is coming back after Camiguin ( I reserved a room this time and paid for it in advance ) we got a room that stinks of smoke and quite dingy looking, like it wasnt properly cleaned, as we came in quite late at night and the children were exhausted we accepted the room but only after we had them vacuum it again and spray air freshener (we were told there werent any other rooms available). Aside from this, quite an ok place to stay in Cagayan, I recommend it for short stays for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have been there just last week (April 11-14), room is quite clean, cheap and nice front desk. the downside is you have to deposit P500.00 for the remote on top of the advance deposit. Water is yellowish and need to be filtered..Breakfast should be included in the rate, wi-fi upgrade to all rooms if possible not just in the lobby.

Nice that it is near the city proper and plenty of nightlife, in fact its beside Starr KTV Bar, Lexis Grill, Inasal, etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASRPasig_Philippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night with my family on our trip to CDO/Camiguin. Located in downtown CDO. Walking distance to different restaurant and establishment.

A lot of room for improvement. Staff in the reception area not too attentive to the needs of the clients. Security is a little lax, maybe because they have no reported accident in the building.

Good enough for the cost I have paid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lito R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Finland, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have stayed this hotel already 2 years ago,.when it had only 3 floors,.now 7. Suite room is spacious with small lcd tv and refridgerator. Laminate floor my room was already broken what is not a good choice to hotel floor needed to be made up daily. Rate 1200 pesos/ night this is good value for the money to few nights stay. Location excellent ,Caltex just front of where drinks can be bought to fridgerator, taxis always available and new Ayala just 500 meters away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niko_sta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagayan de Oro hotels
0.6 mi away
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
#2 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
339 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand City Hotel
The Grand City Hotel
#10 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
53 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kingston Lodge
Kingston Lodge
#9 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Discovery Hotel
Discovery Hotel
#22 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seda Centrio
Seda Centrio
#1 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miami Inn
Miami Inn
#11 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Dawn Pensionne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Dawn Pensionne

Property: New Dawn Pensionne
Address: Makahambus-Velez Street, Cagayan de Oro, Mindanao 9000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Misamis Oriental Province > Cagayan de Oro
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Cagayan de Oro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Dawn Pensionne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Dawn Pensionne is a modern, comfortable yet highly-affordable home that has been conceptualized for the convenience, comfort and safety of our varied guests from business executives to families and tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your New Dawn Pensionne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dawn Pensionne Hotel Cagayan De Oro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing