We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and Great Value”
Review of New Dawn Pensionne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Dawn Pensionne
Ranked #2 of 54 Cagayan de Oro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Good clean rooms and good location. The staff are polite and helpful. The only thing we didn't like is the deposit of 500 Pesos for the remote control to watch TV. There is a good convenience store inside the petrol station right opposite this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arunkumar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 96 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel for budget travellers. However being a budget traveller you need to scrimpt all the money youve got. However, the deposit for their tv remote readily keeps your p500 unusable for the whole duration of stay. It should be free for all rooms and if there are unscrupulous guests who steals it, let them pay upon checkout. Whats thenuse of the room check every right after check out advise.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Junflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great value, accommodating staff, and on the door steps for business or night life. We now use this hotel as a regular place to stay if we're shopping.
Secure car parking is a bonus, the front desk even store your shopping securely.

Room Tip: Slightly more expensive but the corner suites have fridge kettle and are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pipong19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was looking for a place to stay in Cagayan de Oro for a couple of nights as we were going to use it as a springboard for our Camiguin holiday and I was lucky enough to be recommended this hotel. It was an almost on the fly thing as I did not make reservations and just dropped by from the airport, reception staff were accommodating and helpful (we arrived quite early at around 8AM) we were told that they can let us into the room by around 1030 (thank you) so we went out to have breakfast first and coming back at around the agreed time, were readily escorted to our rooms. Very basic but plenty adequate considering the price I paid, important thing is that its clean and the AC works. very well situated in a major thoroughfare with good eating establishments close by. My only gripe is coming back after Camiguin ( I reserved a room this time and paid for it in advance ) we got a room that stinks of smoke and quite dingy looking, like it wasnt properly cleaned, as we came in quite late at night and the children were exhausted we accepted the room but only after we had them vacuum it again and spray air freshener (we were told there werent any other rooms available). Aside from this, quite an ok place to stay in Cagayan, I recommend it for short stays for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have been there just last week (April 11-14), room is quite clean, cheap and nice front desk. the downside is you have to deposit P500.00 for the remote on top of the advance deposit. Water is yellowish and need to be filtered..Breakfast should be included in the rate, wi-fi upgrade to all rooms if possible not just in the lobby.

Nice that it is near the city proper and plenty of nightlife, in fact its beside Starr KTV Bar, Lexis Grill, Inasal, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASRPasig_Philippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night with my family on our trip to CDO/Camiguin. Located in downtown CDO. Walking distance to different restaurant and establishment.

A lot of room for improvement. Staff in the reception area not too attentive to the needs of the clients. Security is a little lax, maybe because they have no reported accident in the building.

Good enough for the cost I have paid.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lito R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have stayed this hotel already 2 years ago,.when it had only 3 floors,.now 7. Suite room is spacious with small lcd tv and refridgerator. Laminate floor my room was already broken what is not a good choice to hotel floor needed to be made up daily. Rate 1200 pesos/ night this is good value for the money to few nights stay. Location excellent ,Caltex just front of where drinks can be bought to fridgerator, taxis always available and new Ayala just 500 meters away.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niko_sta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagayan de Oro hotels
0.7 mi away
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
#2 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
423 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand City Hotel
The Grand City Hotel
#10 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seda Centrio
Seda Centrio
#1 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Discovery Hotel
Discovery Hotel
#20 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
21 reviews
0.8 mi away
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
#3 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miami Inn
Miami Inn
#12 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Dawn Pensionne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Dawn Pensionne

Address: Macahambus Street | Don Apolinar Velez corner Macahambus Street, Cagayan de Oro, Mindanao 9000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Misamis Oriental Province > Cagayan de Oro
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Cagayan de Oro
Price Range: $19 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Dawn Pensionne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising over Cagayan de Oro downtown area, this hotel and restaurant is the latest location in the heart of the city. Offering large spacious rooms located in high floors with unbeatable views of the city, this hotel offers a rooftop cafe, gym, multiple function rooms, and all day dining restaurant. First in the city is the hotel scenic elevator granting city views up to guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your New Dawn Pensionne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dawn Pensionne Hotel Cagayan De Oro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing