We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just The Right Amount of Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of New Dawn Pensionne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Dawn Pensionne
Ranked #1 of 50 Cagayan de Oro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just The Right Amount of Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is just enough to support the basic needs. The rooms are clean and the everything is functionally working. There was no moment where I have to call someone to repair things inside my room. However, I have an issue with the elevator because even though it is digital, it is not quite responsive to choose the floor I would go to. I have to press further and it still does not respond, well the stairs quite come in handy. Overall, the experience is pleasant and the location of the hotel is great. =)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nike0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    46
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
15
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed in the New Dawn Pensionne for six evenings. The front desk staff was warm and friendly and when I needed guidance on getting around the city, they provided just the information I needed. My superior room was large, clean and comfortable. The air conditioner kept me cool and there was always a supply of hot water no matter the time of day, including early morning hours. It would be nice to have WIFI throughout the hotel, but nonetheless WIFI in the lobby was always on and provided service without any problem. The hotel is located near several nice restos and Palaaez sports center is just across Velez Street for those who would like to have a great early morning run before the heat comes on. Clean and always neat, I would recommend this Pensionne house to anyone who might be staying in Cagayan de Oro.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkymaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

My family stayed here last June for 2 nights. We booked 2 Deluxe Rooms. It is situated near the area they call Divisoria where there is a Night Café every Fridays and Saturdays. There are also a lot of shops in the area. It is also just walking distance from the Vjandep bakery where you can buy pastel (a bun with sweet filling) from Camiguin.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating to us. There was an elevator which seems new so there is no problem if you were to be placed in a higher floor. The stairs were also wide. The hallways were not small compared to typical pensionne inns. The rooms were relatively spacious and airconditioned. The room had hot & cold shower. They provided towels and soaps. Cable TV is also available in the room. There is a free wifi at the lobby. The rooms and the common area is also clean. There was no breakfast included in the rate but there is a nearby restaurant selling Tapsilog, Mami, sandwich, etc. I think it would be better if they would have a website or at least email address which would facilitate inquiry and reservation easier. All in all, New Dawn Pensionne does not seem to be a pensionne but more of a hotel just minus the free breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1step_1kmilejourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
independence,ks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

was over charged for my room. was a standard and was charged for a superior room was led to believe it was the 880 peso room also . claims it has hot water,,, well i was there 14 days and tried to shower at all different times and NEVER had even lukewarm water.door was always left unlatched after cleaning. complained about bill charges and was told by manager that Americans don't like small cheap rooms didn't know i was put in a bigger room than the 880 peso room.since we were already charged for the room on our card, they wouldn't refund any over charges.

Room Tip: be careful get all agreements in writing and signed by the person at the front desk before you pay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cainta, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

nice hotel. easily accessible by public transportation.
clean room, helpful staff and guards.
only drawback are some of the receptionist are not welcoming as they should be.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spectrum_527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaybalay City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

I was looking for a new place to stay for 2 days in Cagayan de Oro where I can be comfortable but not that expensive. So i found this new pension house but more like a hotel i should say. I wanted to reserve for the "Economy Room" but only Standard Rooms and rooms with higher value can be reserved through phone call.

The room was clean and spacious, too big for a single occupancy but not an issue at all. Lighting was quite poor but an advantage for me who doesn't like too much lights. The beds were cozy.

Restaurant, Fast food Chains, Convenience Stores are nearby and all other major ameneties are few minutes walk from New Dawn. The place is very accessible to all types of transportation.

The staff were not very accommodating and friendly but not that bad. What I didn't like in this place: NO WIFI in the rooms. It should have been an added value service not something you need to pay for in addition. Overall, I might be staying here again with my family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munti
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

It was easy to book a room at this pension inn. No deposit at all to reserve. I was even more dumbstruck when we were shown our room. At a budget price of P1,250, we were given an aircon room with two beds ( single and double), tv and with ref. Their room is big and mind you, the bathroom is large enough to put a divan (so you can relax in there) and has a bathtub! It has a bidet too. Toiletries are complete (soap, shampoo & tissue). Rooms are kept clean everyday. With all of these amenities, i'd be coming back to this hotel.

Further, there is no problem with its location. It's accessible to major amenities.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rai7184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagayan de Oro hotels
0.6 mi away
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
#2 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand City Hotel
The Grand City Hotel
#13 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kingston Lodge
Kingston Lodge
#8 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seda Centrio
Seda Centrio
#1 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.5 mi away
N Hotel
N Hotel
#4 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miami Inn
Miami Inn
#22 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Dawn Pensionne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Dawn Pensionne

Property: New Dawn Pensionne
Address: Makahambus-Velez Street, Cagayan de Oro, Mindanao 9000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Misamis Oriental Province > Cagayan de Oro
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Cagayan de Oro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Dawn Pensionne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Dawn Pensionne is a modern, comfortable yet highly-affordable home that has been conceptualized for the convenience, comfort and safety of our varied guests from business executives to families and tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your New Dawn Pensionne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dawn Pensionne Hotel Cagayan De Oro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing