We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Luxe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Luxe Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 10 days. In this time, the common area corridor and floor (on my floor) was vaccumed only once. The elevator floor was never swept or even cleaned in this time too. All hotel common areas are very dirty. The rooms are very dated and then aircon in the room was old and broke down in the middle of the night. I noted the dusty smell from the aircon; and I would say that the filiters have not been cleaned for quite a while. Also, the floor in the room was filthy. In all the time I stayed, 10 days, I had to ask for the floor to be mopped as it was so dirty. Floors are not cleaned daily. Hygiene at this hotel is NOT a management priority; this hotel is not clean nor cleaned daily as it should be. Staff were ok but would rate hotel service about 4/10. The hotels photos of the foyer etc. are quite deceiving; this is the best part of the hotel; and again, this hotel common area was not cleaned everyday and it was quite common for the floor to be very dirty. The sofas in the foyer for customer waiting/seating is very dirty; and looks like haven't been cleaned in years. If you want service in this hotel you have to pursue it; it does not come to the customer normally as it should. Overall I would rate this hotel about 4/10; and this is being very generous. Even though one comment I read that this hotel is in a 3rd world country does not excuse a dirty hotel. Hotels are public areas and cleanliness should, but is not, a priority.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 4th floor have been renovated and better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
2
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is the first negative review I have ever written on Tripadvisor. I booked with this hotel and paid in advance with credit card over interent. The hotel room itself was small but not bad. The internet was very poor and did not work so had to go to internet cafe but that was not big deal.

The problem was that I pay in advance with my credit card. Upon check-out the would not let me leave until I pay them also 900 pesos. I call credit card company in front of them and booking company which both say already paid for by credit card but they would still not let me leave the property until I also pay them again. Please if you are paying by credit card be very very careful as they are very dishonest. I even called before checking in to confirm there will be no problems and spoke to Ann and upon check out they keep saying Ann is busy in hotel and not available. Very very poor customer service and now I was charged 2x. STAY AWAY!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GottaGetAway2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cagayan de Oro hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Malay, Aklan, Philippines
Level Contributor
151 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Is a comfortable hotel, small room but the price is okay. The smallest breakfast I have taken in a hotel, very small serving. Phone was not working and there was no WIFI and using my 3G to get into connection but signal was not very good so can't do much work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MASTER_PETER_TAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marikina, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

we stayed here for a transient room from camiguin, the lobby was decent and spacious,.. we booked for a standard room for 3 pax and the room assigned to us was quite ok... nice bathroom floors but the furnitures need to be updated. the staffs were friendly and nice. and the location is great, it is along the Divisoria area of the city. over all it was a ok hotel if you are travelling under a budget

Room Tip: request for a corner room to have a bigger space
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kidlatonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Alabama
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed at De Luxe and booked our annual pastor's conference here. It is not a bad place (keep in mind your in a province in a 3rd world country in Asia). The room is big. A/C worked ok, as did the TV. No hot water of course (this is common here). Pricing on the room was ok & for the conference was very affordable. The food (we had lunch and an afternoon snack) was very good. The hotel is very busy. It is not uncommon for them to have more than 1 event per day and 3-4 events on the weekends (including weddings). The lobby is crowded and noisy. The restaurant is fairly good. My only complaint was 1 not I had dinner with a guest. I was asking about the size of the dishes (often dinner dished in the Philippines will serve 1-4 people). We chose 2 dishes and the waiter brought us 3. So we had the most ridiculous amount of food! I did not say anything because I did not want to embarrass my guest. Also- laundry. I had laundry service & felt very over-charged. It is not uncommon to have laundry done for 25/kilo. The place is ok but after the conference I still had a week left & I moved a few blocks over to "Hotel Conchita." I had stayed here the year before & really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: If you are from the West,do not be afraid to try the awesome fruits that vendors sell outside the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BarryGCarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Book cousins debut here... Affordable price and very nice function rooms. No corkage for the lechon and desserts. And they also offer complimentary room for the celebrant. Floors are carpeted. They got elegant lobby. Rooms is clean and nice. Clean towels are provided in the Bathroom. Bathroom has bath tub.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank venussmileygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I just checked in a few minutes ago and I already want to leave! If our rooms hadn't been paid for in advance I would.

This place has received a lot of great reviews on this site and all I can think of as I sit here (while the technician replaces the TV which wasn't working) is that those people who gave those über positive feedback were either paid by this hotel to do so or have had very VERY little experience staying in hotels.

The receptionist. Did not say anything to the effect of welcoming us. She just asked for our names while managing NOT to smile the entire time.

The room. OLD. O-L-D meaning Overused, Lacking in so many ways, Dilapidated!! The pillows are tiny and you're only given 1 per bed. Ask for extras and they charge you P30 per pillow!!! There is only 2 electrical outlets. One behind the TV and the other one in the bathroom. If you use the One behind the tv you have to sacrifice the TV. Ask for an extension panel and they charge you P200!! The sliding doors of the closet do not slide. They're stuck so you have to twist yourself in and around the doors...or in this case, walls.

The bathroom. Decent but I honestly would not trust its cleanliness. No baths in the tub for me on this trip!

The bed. The kind of mattress you sink into and it stays that way. Just a top sheet, no duvet. They have bed skirts that look like tiny curtains that also look like it hasn't seen a washing machine in more than a year now.

Air-conditioner. Old, noisy, not cold at all.

The sad thing is we're stuck here for the next 5 nights.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Travelling_Noypi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagayan de Oro hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand City Hotel
The Grand City Hotel
#9 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
#2 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
#3 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
N Hotel
N Hotel
#4 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.3 mi away
Country Village Hotel
Country Village Hotel
#26 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kingston Lodge
Kingston Lodge
#7 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Luxe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Luxe Hotel

Property: De Luxe Hotel
Address: Capt. Vicente Roa Street, Cagayan de Oro, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Misamis Oriental Province > Cagayan de Oro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — De Luxe Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your De Luxe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing