We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean rooms, okay lacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Village Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Country Village Hotel
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, okay lacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

when we arrive to the hotel, we saw that deluxe rooms cost 2100 pesos, but at the same time, we saw they have promo 800 pesos. rooms are not 2100 pesos worth. but overall its good, big pool, not far from the city.

Room Tip: ask for rooms in front of pool, it has balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oxieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
15
14
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed 1 night at Country Village and the place is just ok. Rooms are bit small and waiting for major upgrade or make over. Swimming pool are is nice and it has some slides for kids. Breakfast was ready set-breakfast and rather poor. I will probably bring kids to swim here and could held my party at Country Village but book my nights somewhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms on swimming pool side has nice balconies with view directly to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mikko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cagayan de Oro hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Malaybalay City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I chose the hotel since I was bringing my kid with me. Other hotels with pool were more expensive and the pool slide looked good on their pictures here. Unfortunately it didn't look that way personally. The pool slide was obviously lacking maintenance. It looked old and untidy.

The room looks almost the same with a cheaper accommodation I've been, not what I expected considering their higher room rates.

The free breakfast included was very unsatisfying. And if you want to order on their restaurant, the food and drinks are very overpriced.

There was no WIFI connection in our room. There was no phone, only directory. There were water containers in the room, but was empty.I paid for a double bed but was given only 1 blanket.

The staff were helpful and friendly though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fluxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

for some reason they could not process any of my credit cards so had to dip into my cash reserves to pay for the room...

the room was excellent and clean with a good bathroom but no bench space for clothes or toiletries..

The pool was large and inviting but the water was hot... not so enjoyable considering we had to share the pool with the bull frogs.

Did not like the restraunt at all... stuffed the food orders up and started to bring out main meals beofre the appetizers and when I asked to have the main meal reheated they took it away no problem but after some time we had to ask for it to be returned... when it was returned it was in a colder condition than when it was sent away with the fork in the exact place iit was when it was taken so I did not eat it after all but once I was given the bill I explained why I did nt eat it and I was not charged for it.

Room Tip: definitely book ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairdinkumoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

As other(s) have reviewed this hotel often holds functions of weekends, well having been up since 0330 hours that morning and having travelled for 13 hours, including 7 hours of white knuckle driving from Surigao City, a late afternoon siesta would have been nice … no chance, a birthday party was in full swing with the loud music and videoke not finishing until around 2200 hours.

The superior room we had was not so superior, the balcony is small and furnished with just 2 plastic chairs and no table, there was an inter connecting door to the room next door, so appalling was the soundproofing we could hear every word being spoken next door, we even know what they ordered from room service.

Upon check-in our room was infested with flying insects so much so that the hotel needed to fumigate the room with poison, explained to us that the housemaids leave the balcony door open whilst they service the room we returned to our room the next day tlo find it even moreso infested and they needed to fumigate it again … these people just don't get it, to keep the balcony door closed!

And n Philippines it is customary to wrap the rims of drinking utensils in a paper napkin, this hotel wrapped the rims of the two drinking glasses in our superior room in toilet paper!

The restaurant is drab with less than desirable décor, as others have reviewed the breakfast is dire, but the cafe is nice and with some nice dishes on the menu, I can recommend the rosemary roasted chicken with vegetables, gravy and rice.

If/when we may be in CDO again we would stay at this hotel again but we're not in a hurry to do so, it simply isn't worth the room rates published on the hotel's own website but better rates are available online if one knows where to look.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phileas_Fogg_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I spent 5 nights at the Country Village and enjoyed every minute. The staff were so helpful and obliging, the room was clean and the bed comfortable. Recommend this place to anyone visiting Gagayan De Oro

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

This place is highly recommended for couples, and for a short family visit in CDO. I like the cozy restaurant and the service, their kinilaw is one of the best. Room is great with a vew outside which you can see the garden and swimming pool.
Place is perfect to relax your tired body and grab some bottle of refreshments. A complete place to stay, but the transportation accessibility is not advisable for those who has small budget. Not recommended for backpackers as you may end up spending more in Taxi and pedicabs. I find the place a bit isolated from shops, restaurants, convenience stores and ATM's. I’ll get back if I have a good budget, but I won’t if my packet is half empty. :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagayan de Oro hotels
1.0 mi away
The Grand City Hotel
The Grand City Hotel
#10 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.5 mi away
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
#2 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.9 mi away
N Hotel
N Hotel
#4 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Kingston Lodge
Kingston Lodge
#7 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miami Inn
Miami Inn
#22 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
1.3 mi away
De Luxe Hotel
De Luxe Hotel
#13 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Village Hotel

Property: Country Village Hotel
Address: Villarin St | Carmen, Cagayan de Oro, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Misamis Oriental Province > Cagayan de Oro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Country Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing