We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand City Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
Reviewed November 4, 2012

i have stayed there about five times now,and each time was for 8 to 3 days at a time.very good staff,clean rooms,good air con.the rerstaraunt in the hotel is good as well.excellent location for the plaza,especially on friday and saturday nights for the ouitside market and massages.wifi is in the bar,restaraunt/lobby.and very good cable TV.we go to cagayan De Oro once every 2 to 3 months and that is the only hotel we will stay in.they made us feel very comfortable and welcome.the room rates are slso reasonable.the room size was very adequate for our needs,,and very clean,the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jameschavez2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 54 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed in august 2012 after staying a couple of times before. I guess I choose it because of its location. I find it clean, ok it is a bit dated but it is a fair price for what you get - as long as the tv and air con works and there is hot water I am happy. I tended to eat opposite in the Vienna coffee house.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martinbuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

From the name, Grand City Hotel, you may imagine a state of the art, swish place, however you'll find that the environment is just kind of adequate. The decor reminded me a bit of 1960's style Italian tree star hotels. The basic rooms (1180 pesos per night with air con) are just big enough for yourself and your suitcase, so don't expect masses of space. Also, some of them don't receive any sun light because the windows face a wall, so they ended up being a bit depressing. The reception works fine and the staff is polite and friendly. The "superior" rooms also offer a bath tub for an extra 200 pesos.
The plus side is surely the location which is super central. Also it is to be said that the rooms are clean and very tidy.
They do have an internet connection in the lobby downstairs, but don't even bother because it's the slowest I have even seen and you are better off going to the cage across the street.
So, overall, not fantastic but functional.

Room Tip: I'm not sure it's worth spending any extra just to have a bath tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ByeByeBlues7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

It's best seller is its location. Very near to all the eateries and banks in the city. Easy access to all types of public transport. The staff are courteous. You have to request to clean the bathroom which gets easily dirty because the water from the shower splash at the floor. They don't provide a door mat in the cr. Their superior room is quite ok. The bed is comfy and the airconditioner is functioning. Needs improvement in their bath tub because you have to manually drain the water accumulating during your shower.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duchess050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Covers the basics: decent bathroom, comfortable bed, hot shower, and air conditioning in a great location - walking distance to my conference venue, food places, and cash points. The twin sharing standard room is affordable at around 1,200. Breakfast buffet is an additional P195 per head, which I never tried, being more attracted to nearby cozy coffee shops. It was my first travel to CDO so I cannot compare it with other hotels in the area.

For improvement:
1. pest control (some old buildings have their creatures, not for kikay travelers who cannot deal with a cockroach)
2. internet connection (we picked this place partly because it was advertised that they have wifi, but it turns out that this is only free in the lobby that smells of smoke, and even there i could not connect with an iphone. They serve internet in the rooms for P100/4 hours)
3. better laundry (not for those whose pet peeve are towels that smell of smoke).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alunsina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Wanted to stay there in January 2012. In the internet at cdoguide they want 1.280.- PHP/night for a superior-room. As we checked in, the price was 1.380.- PHP because "we didn't update the internet yet" and they insisted in the new price. But its still not updated until today!!! In room we found a card saying that breakfast-buffet is 170.- PHP/person. Next morning they wanted 185.- PHP because this was the new price. We will never go there again. Very unfriendly old woman at the reception!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank klaus227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We've stay in this hotel on Aug 27-29 this year. I know it was newly renovate since last year we passby it but didn't stay. During this August city main fiesta celebration almost all hotel in downtown area are fully booked and except for Grand City. So far the twin bedroom we took is ok in terms of room furnishing and compare it to other downtown hotel we booked last year, the amenities is much better and more comfortable. At the time we check-in they have special rate which for me its a bargain rate at around USD 25 per night for a double room. So far I have no complain in our room except for the awkward location of cable tv box which is beside on your bed table. But overall its better than budget hotel around in downtown. One final word, the best deal with this hotel its it location. Its truly within your reach (walking distance) to all spot you want to go.

Room Tip: Always ask for a standard double room, that's the middle selection choice it can fit 4 person an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boypad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagayan de Oro hotels
1 mi away
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
#2 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
438 reviews
0.5 mi away
De Luxe Hotel
De Luxe Hotel
#19 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Discovery Hotel
Discovery Hotel
#21 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Miami Inn
Miami Inn
#12 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
29 reviews
1 mi away
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
#3 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
314 reviews
1 mi away
Country Village Hotel
Country Village Hotel
#25 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand City Hotel

Address: A. Velez-R.N. Abejuela Street, Cagayan de Oro, Mindanao 9000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Misamis Oriental Province > Cagayan de Oro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
Price Range: $19 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand City Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand City Hotel is perfectly located at the heart of the city, and can offer the best comforts to the well-travelled businessman as well as the fun-loving Kagay-anons and discriminating tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Grand City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing