We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location . . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand City Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
quezon city
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location . . . .”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

It's best seller is its location. Very near to all the eateries and banks in the city. Easy access to all types of public transport. The staff are courteous. You have to request to clean the bathroom which gets easily dirty because the water from the shower splash at the floor. They don't provide a door mat in the cr. Their superior room is quite ok. The bed is comfy and the airconditioner is functioning. Needs improvement in their bath tub because you have to manually drain the water accumulating during your shower.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duchess050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
8
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Covers the basics: decent bathroom, comfortable bed, hot shower, and air conditioning in a great location - walking distance to my conference venue, food places, and cash points. The twin sharing standard room is affordable at around 1,200. Breakfast buffet is an additional P195 per head, which I never tried, being more attracted to nearby cozy coffee shops. It was my first travel to CDO so I cannot compare it with other hotels in the area.

For improvement:
1. pest control (some old buildings have their creatures, not for kikay travelers who cannot deal with a cockroach)
2. internet connection (we picked this place partly because it was advertised that they have wifi, but it turns out that this is only free in the lobby that smells of smoke, and even there i could not connect with an iphone. They serve internet in the rooms for P100/4 hours)
3. better laundry (not for those whose pet peeve are towels that smell of smoke).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alunsina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cagayan de Oro hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
München
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Wanted to stay there in January 2012. In the internet at cdoguide they want 1.280.- PHP/night for a superior-room. As we checked in, the price was 1.380.- PHP because "we didn't update the internet yet" and they insisted in the new price. But its still not updated until today!!! In room we found a card saying that breakfast-buffet is 170.- PHP/person. Next morning they wanted 185.- PHP because this was the new price. We will never go there again. Very unfriendly old woman at the reception!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank klaus227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We've stay in this hotel on Aug 27-29 this year. I know it was newly renovate since last year we passby it but didn't stay. During this August city main fiesta celebration almost all hotel in downtown area are fully booked and except for Grand City. So far the twin bedroom we took is ok in terms of room furnishing and compare it to other downtown hotel we booked last year, the amenities is much better and more comfortable. At the time we check-in they have special rate which for me its a bargain rate at around USD 25 per night for a double room. So far I have no complain in our room except for the awkward location of cable tv box which is beside on your bed table. But overall its better than budget hotel around in downtown. One final word, the best deal with this hotel its it location. Its truly within your reach (walking distance) to all spot you want to go.

Room Tip: Always ask for a standard double room, that's the middle selection choice it can fit 4 person an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boypad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacoor, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

If you're looking for a central hotel in Cagayan De Oro, this is it. You can walk to practically everywhere. It's right next to a bank, which is one of the biggest in the Philippines, there are lots of interesting food places across it, and the hotel is a couple of steps away from Divisoria - which is the place to be on Friday and Saturday nights. Lots of food stalls and music.

The hotel is quite old, but still very functional. Good air conditioning, steady hot water with bath tub, and clean. The price is OK too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yjgisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

I was been there for 1 month ago, I was found that the place are good near to the Bank, Groceries, Mall and most of all at the evening their are many Night bars near to the hotel. Amazing

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cutefl0wer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

The hotel was recommended by a friend, for its proximity to Xavier University, and being smack in the center of the city. And that's the best that the hotel can offer, is its great location. Entering the lobby was not a very welcome experience due to the strong smell of smoke that filled the lobby, emanating from the bar and restaurant off the lobby. The rooms and public areas were clean though. Don't get misled by the claims of the hotel being newly renovated. The only sign of renovation I saw was a fresh coat of paint in the hallways. The hotel shows its age in many aspects, but if all you want is standard accommodations at a right-in-the-city center location at a reasonable price, then you can make this your choice. Across the street is a nice and quiet coffee shop with great food and coffee (Vienna Kaffehaus), that offers free wi-fi.

The smell of smoke which deterred me from dining in-house was the perfect reason to dine out, and one cannot fail with the Vienna Kaffeehaus. Wi-fi comes with a fee at the hotel, so bring your laptop and enjoy free wi-fi at Vienna Kaffeehaus.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miketri722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagayan de Oro hotels
0.5 mi away
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
#2 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
326 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kingston Lodge
Kingston Lodge
#7 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
86 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Village Hotel
Country Village Hotel
#26 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Discovery Hotel
Discovery Hotel
#22 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Luxe Hotel
De Luxe Hotel
#15 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
31 reviews
0.8 mi away
Miami Inn
Miami Inn
#11 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand City Hotel

Property: The Grand City Hotel
Address: A. Velez-R.N. Abejuela Street, Cagayan de Oro, Mindanao 9000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Misamis Oriental Province > Cagayan de Oro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand City Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand City Hotel is perfectly located at the heart of the city, and can offer the best comforts to the well-travelled businessman as well as the fun-loving Kagay-anons and discriminating tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HRS, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Grand City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing