We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Breakfast Spread in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Philtown Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cagayan de Oro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Philtown Hotel
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Spread in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

My family ate here for 6 mornings in a row and we were really surprised because every morning the breakfast buffet was different. By the third morning, the waiters new what I liked and brought my coffee, marmalade and toast to me. Price was reasonable but it is the selection that impressed us. The food was also kept very hot (unusual in many Filipino Restaurants). We did not stay at the hotel - just ate there for breakfast.

Room Tip: Great rooms across the road at New Dawn Pensionne
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David987897987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
4
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The rooms are dirty, the air con cannot be controlled individually resulting in you freeze at night, the hot water in the shower is limited,the food and drinks are expensive for what you get, the waiters are men only who seem to be more interested in the television than the customers.The dining room is not smoke free or with a designated smoking area so be prepared to have the person next to you blowing cigarette smoke over you and your meal.I suggest you try somewhere else as this hotel is old and sub-standard and not value for money!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Robin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cagayan de Oro hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Water heater is very poor, you have to wait for 15mins to warm the water.
Old and not comfortable beds... centralized aircon with fan and cool options only, you have to choose hot or super cold with unappropriate blanket... etc... ditry shower room, mosquito and fly inside our room... =|
i will not reommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corzPhilippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed here a total of about 8 nights on two different stays. Hotel staff were all very very friendly. Hotel restaurant is both very convenient and excellent food. Also, the price for the room and for the meals was very good. The hotel seemed quiet enough, it was friendly, and also safe. The aircon did go out one afternoon and we had to move to another room. The bathrooms were not as clean as I would have liked, but everything worked. The accomodations were adequate, not overly nice, but not bad either, just what you'd expect for the price of the room. We will definitely stay here again due to the great food, friendly hotel staff, and adequate rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fisherman35808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
218 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

So friendly service as always,.but now,..i must complain,..shower room in a business class accomondation was really so dirty,..floor,.shower curtain,.tabs,..well,..clean rooms are not the best veapon of this hotel,..food in restaurant always great. Hotel needs renevation,.one of the eldest in the city!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niko_sta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
218 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

I have visited this hotel 2007 many times before, and actually nothing has chainged. Service is really so nice and rooms are still as the same as 5 years ago and maybe need already updating. Hotel has nice location nearby the bars, restaurants and only 5 minutes to walk to divisoria. Food in the rastaurant is top worth of the money and breakfast buffet 170 pesos affordable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Niko_sta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

We stayed at the Philtown and found it to be acceptable for the price. The rooms were large enough to move around which was not the case at the casa cristalia across town. It was just old. I would stay again though. Staff was very good and friendly!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank langhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagayan de Oro hotels
0.6 mi away
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
#2 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand City Hotel
The Grand City Hotel
#12 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seda Centrio
Seda Centrio
#1 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Discovery Hotel
Discovery Hotel
#14 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.5 mi away
GC Suites Hotel
GC Suites Hotel
#5 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
#3 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philtown Hotel

Property: Philtown Hotel
Address: A.Velez Macahambus Street, Cagayan de Oro, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Misamis Oriental Province > Cagayan de Oro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
Number of rooms: 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing