We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A funny story...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mallberry Suites Business Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
Reviewed March 3, 2011

I’m a regular guest at the Mallberry Suites and Business Hotel. And staying with this hotel has truly been a wonderful experience. The personnel are very courteous and charming. The rooms and facilities are clean and well-maintained.
I find the story on the secrets behind quite funny actually. I have checked in and out of Mallberry these past three years and I haven’t encountered anything validating such rumors. Guess, it would be fun to have an encounter with the “third kind” at Mallberry but unfortunately, I don’t see that happening. There’s just no truth to it.
Maybe the Mallberry management should check out if they recently fired anyone....  Perhaps it’s from a disgruntled previous employee! Hahahaha.....

Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
2  Thank gslinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 274 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2011

Is there really a secret behind Mallberry’s so-called paranormal activities or is this merely a malicious act to malign the hotel’s credibility?

Tell me something, if you were in a haunted hotel and you heard these baby cries, wouldn’t you be running scared out of the hotel???? Wouldn’t you check out? Hey, unless you’re a reporter, then you’d stay around and do an investigation!

And if there were a suicide at the 6th floor, why would there be baby cries on the 7th floor? You mean to tell me a baby committed suicide? Duhhhh..... Isn’t it “logical” (in quotes mind you) for the person who committed suicide to be the ones “haunting” the place?

As to the floating chairs the staff saw....maybe it’s something else floating... the writer’s state of mind perhaps? Coz why the heck would anyone pay more than a thousand pesos for their hotel room just to sleep at the lobby???? Hellooo???? Reality check please.

Sure, Mallberry Hotel has its flaws....it’s not perfect....just like any other hotel.... but one thing it’s not is haunted! Let’s stick to the facts shall we?

Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
3  Thank annieg1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Upon entering the lobby of Mallberry Suites, I already had a good feeling about it. A huge. well-lit lounge with nice furniture welcomes the guests. Though our room wasn't ready yet when we arrived (around 2 hours before check-in time), there was a good restaurant, Rosso, right at the lobby where we had our lunch while waiting.

We got a room with a double bed and a single bed, a flat screen tv, and a small refrigerator. The bathroom was spacious and clean, though lacking in basic toiletries (no toothbrush and toothpaste). Sleep was generally comfortable, though noise from outside or from the other rooms can be heard.

Location is perfect. It's right across the mall, a walking distance from the restaurant strip (Rosario Crescent), and a 10-15-minute ride from the downtown.

I also tried the Elements Spa at the second floor. The ambiance at the spa area was absolutely relaxing. The massage was good, though it kind of paled in comparison with other massages I've had.

I guess my only big complain is Internet access. Wifi access costs P100 for 3 hours. What's worse is that it is impossible to connect to even just the log-in page during the evening! I wasn't able to use up my card because I was out during the day time. If they are not offering free internet access, the least they could do is strengthen the connection that they provide.

Generally, there's good value for your money at Mallberry. Next time I go back to CDO, I will stay here again. :)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yelcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Mallberry is the best choice compared to other hotels in the surrounding area. It is located across the Robinson's mall parking lot. The mall is connected to the city's premier mall - Limketkai. The room is well-kept, clean, with nice fixtures and lighting. The one bad thing was the mattress. I woke up after 3 hours of sleep and felt a severe back pain which I could only attribute to the quality of the mattress.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank temaie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Stayed for 8 days with my Wife. Very convenient location across the street from Lim Kat Kai
Mall. The restaurant in the hotel left a lot to be desired, but there are several excellent restaurants only a block or two away. Rooms were clean. Stayed in a Junior Suite which was large and comfortable. Would stay there again except I'm moving to CDO and building a house. Great City. People are friendly in the Hotel and everwhere you go. Had problems with the wireless internet at the hotel, which they also charge for. That is my only complaint, otherwise my stay was great.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josab5115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

very nice hotel for FAMILIES....however, free buffet breakfast not availed due to early flight to Cebu...i hope they gave us even sandwiches as baon to airport terminal just like Park, Bed & Breakfast Hotel...and one thing more...their use of amenities got charges...it should be FREE for use for hotel's guests....

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marimar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Six of us golfers from Guam stayed at the Mallberry Suites from September 28 to October 3, 2010 while in Cagayan De Oro for the First Team Captains Meeting for the 64th PAL Interclub Golf Tournament to be held in CDO in February of 2011. Our stay at the Mallberry couldn't have been more pleasant. This is a first class hotel with helpful, friendly staff and supurb facilities just across the street from the multi-level Robinsons and Limketkai Center mega mall. Our rooms were excellent with wide flat screen TVs, mini-bar and telephone and hair dryer in the bathrooms. Free breakfast from 6 am to 10 am on the 7th floor with lots of good food and all you can eat and live music in the lobby lounge every night. The newly opened second floor Guest Lounge includes a spa, an indoor pool, a business center with internet access, a game room with billiard table, dart boards and table games, a sundry shop, a weight room/fitness center and coffee shop. All of this for only 2200 pesos or $50 per night was a value I doubt can be matched at any other hotel in CDO. I would only suggest that they add some Karaoke Rooms to make it a one stop hotel so there would be no reason to go anywhere else! - Ladd Bell, Secretary, Guam Seniors Golf Association.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GSGASecretary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagayan de Oro hotels
0.3 mi away
Seda Centrio
Seda Centrio
#1 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
#3 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
#2 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
N Hotel
N Hotel
#4 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
151 reviews
1.5 mi away
Country Village Hotel
Country Village Hotel
#26 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Luxe Hotel
De Luxe Hotel
#15 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallberry Suites Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallberry Suites Business Hotel

Address: Florentino Street, Cagayan de Oro, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Misamis Oriental Province > Cagayan de Oro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
Price Range: $39 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mallberry Suites Business Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mallberry Suites Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mallberry Hotel Business

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing