We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but they need to improve a lot of things now”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mallberry Suites Business Hotel
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good location but they need to improve a lot of things now”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Normally my fav hotel in CDO due to its good location next to shopping n dining. Rates are reasonable n the service was always ok never really good. They improved now the Wifi which is still too slow but better than before. They never improved the room service - always lacking of towels n toiletries. The rooms are really just 3* standard nothing more - good for just sleeping. The facilities like pool n massage n restaurant are good. The breakfast buffet sucks n is simple filipino food without any variety. The hotel is just 3-5 years old but already needs to improve the bathrooms in the guest rooms - its like that if you build in cheap faucets n materials. What I found most disturbing was the in room menu where you could order under 'snacks' - Hitler's Crisps ! Maybe i am a little bit sensitive as a german but even google could not help me with this dish. Sorry, if you do not have any clue of history don't create your own dishes and praise the worlds biggest mass-murder ! This hotel caters lots of foreign tourist n aid organizations n biz ppl and you should have a certain sense n professionalism in running a hotel. Anway there are now some brand new other hotels in town which i try next time for sure as Malberry lost a lot of ground.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pirrot27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    89
    89
    35
    17
See reviews for
31
40
18
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

True to its self-description of being a "business hotel," MallBerry has an overall clean, modern and no-frills design. Service is generally good except check-in on a Friday afternoon is a hassle. It took 35 minutes for me to check in because the room was still being cleaned despite being there promptly at 2pm (their check-in time). Being a business hotel, MallBerry should spruce up on this since many who stay there follow a strict schedule. Security is quite methodical which is assuring. Wifi signal is consistently strong. Breakfast is free and the food is pretty straightforward. Fancier food is served at the two restaurants on the ground floor or in the Robinson's and Limketkai malls right across it. The only major downside to MallBerry is their tolerance of smokers in the lobby -- sure, a few tables are set on the far side near a cafe, but there is nothing separating the foul-smelling smoke from the supposedly non-smoking lobby. If they want smokers to enjoy the lobby, too, MallBerry should build an air-tight lounge to fence smokers off from people who value their lungs and their clean air.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skymom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I have been coming to this hotel for over 10 years now and it only keeps getting better. In this visit, I tried their Elements Spa which gave an excellent foot massage. The dining room for breakfast has been fixed up and is a great place to start the day in. The musician at the lobby bar was good. The reception staff, ever too eager to make your staff enjoyable. I love Mallberry Suites!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel is centrally located and close to everything. You can just walk to the Mall, restaurants and other night spots. In the evening, there is a band or group of musician in the lobby where you can listen to the music while having coffee or drinks before you hit the sack. Breakfast is free. The room is clean. The staff are polite and accomodating. We do not mind staying in this hotel next time and we can recommend our friends to stay there too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jandv2428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Centrally located, near the popular Limketkai center/mall and restaurant strip. If you are interested in trying the White River Rafting in Cagayan de Oro, you can be picked up from this hotel. It is about 45 minutes from the rafting area.

2-bedroom suite where we stayed was P4900 (philippine pesos) for 4 persons /night with buffet bfast; 3-bedroom suite is P6900 for 6; P499/night for additional person but breakfast is additional. For 2-bedroom suite, the extra bed is set-up in the living room because it can’t fit in the bedrooms.

The main bathroom has a Tub. There is a TV in both the living and master bedroom. There is no microwave or cooking implements, probably to encourage guests to try the hotel restaurants. The restaurants are reasonably priced; but moderate your expectations. For example, the Spanish Chorizo in the Italian restaurant tasted more like Chinese sausage, which was a letdown. The restaurant staff were eager to please, though.

The front desk staff can benefit from additional training. We were given wrong information twice which indicates a lack of knowledge of the hotel’s services and pricing. If you want to use the swimming pool or the gym, you have to pay P100/person/use, even if you are a guest.

Despite the hotel’s popularity, I was surprised that they still did not have a website when we tried to book late December 2012. If you want to make a booking, you can send an SMS or call +63.917.549.1421.

Room Tip: The family rooms are a good deal. If there ar 5 of you, you can choose between the 2-bedroom where y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATrenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

It was my first time in Cagayan de Oro (and in Mindanao, for that matter) and I wasn't really expecting much of the hotels since it's not as metropolitan as Manila. My dad has been staying at Mallberry during his business trips and he told me not to get my hopes too high.

I was pleasantly surprised by the look of the room because, although it was equipped with the bare essentials (like towels and toiletries), the decor was updated and not bad at all. The travelers' photos posted don't do the place justice. As I said, it wasn't as bad as it seemed. Judging by the exteriors of other hotels I was able to pass by through car, I'd stay at Mallberry the next time around.

PROS:
- Fast internet in the lobby
- Easy access to malls and dining strips (Go to Bigby's for their steak, and Candy's for the Tartufo!)
- Walking distance to a lot of places
- Easy access to cabs
- Staff was very polite and helpful
- Had a comfortable night's rest
- Looked better than the other hotels I saw

CONS:
- Had power outages (power went out 3 times in one night)
- Walls were kind of thin, I could hear people talking in the halls
- Sheets had stains in them
- The rooms were supposedly wifi-ready but it didn't reach our room and I had to go to the lobby
- Breakfast isn't that good, but the dining area is visually appealing

Room Tip: - Stay far from the elevators - Our travelling companions had a room in a corner near the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia City, Philippines
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Mallberry suites @ Cagayan de Oro city is next to Limketkai mall, easy access to all other place of interest to visit in the city, offers comfort stay and services good for a 3 star hotel, facilities are quiet good, they also cater to people who just like to stay in their visitor lounge and conduct meetings there. All i can say is try to visit and stay mallberry suites where your in Cagayan de oro city to have a first hand experience of the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venus66_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagayan de Oro hotels
0.3 mi away
Seda Centrio
Seda Centrio
#1 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
#3 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
#2 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
N Hotel
N Hotel
#4 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.8 mi away
GC Suites Hotel
GC Suites Hotel
#5 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pacifico Boutique Hotel
The Pacifico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallberry Suites Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallberry Suites Business Hotel

Property: Mallberry Suites Business Hotel
Address: Florentino Street, Cagayan de Oro, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Misamis Oriental Province > Cagayan de Oro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mallberry Suites Business Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Mallberry Suites Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mallberry Hotel Business

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing