We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mallberry Suites Business Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A surprise memorable stay”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here overnight en route to other destinations in the area (Dahilayan and Camiguin). Although I was expecting only a tourist class hotel, I found my accommodation quite satisfactory. I think it helped that we were in the renovated wing. The room was not big but sufficient for two people. As we checked in as a group, we couldn't all be accommodated with our bedding preference. My husband and I were assigned a twin room (I didn't make a fuss in deference to our friend who was hosting us in the city) but it turned out luckily for me as I was able to use the separate bed to get a room service massage while the hubby slept that was good way beyond my expectation (and I consider myself a connoisseur of massage!) A tiny girl came in to service the 90 minute thermal massage that I ordered and it was amazing and pure bliss how she kneaded, elbowed, stepped and kneeled her way working on my back. Some people do really have an innate talent for the art of massage and many Filipinos are blessed with this. Such an unexpected treat! I would stay again at this hotel if only in the hopes that I would get that lucky again but since I didn't really foresee another trip soon, I'm afraid I had already forgotten the therapist's name. Such a shame. If only for that, what a memorable stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hav4wannatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    92
    94
    35
    17
See reviews for
33
44
18
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I feel the room they put me in was overpriced. For a business hotel the wifi wasn't good. It was nonexistent most of the time. Mosquitos were a menace and ants were all over the place. The rooms were otherwise nice with an excellent bed. The complimentary buffet style breakfast was also excellent. The hotel staff from security, front desk, and doormen were very helpful with always a smile on there faces. They seemed to love their jobs. It was practically adjacent to the Limketkai Mall which was a plus. Meals at Rosso's Restaurant were excellent. My compliments to the Chef. I would stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrhesprich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

When we arrived, we asked if they can show us the rooms first so we can choose the type of room to book. The front office staff was accommodating and gave us a short tour. I thought our stay in this hotel will be great as the staffs were all very hospitable, sadly, they need to improve their service. First of all, our room is big enough but there are no towels. We had to request for it several times in our 3 day stay because even if they have already cleaned our room, the towels are nowhere to be found. They keep saying that they ran out of towels! Second, the breakfast buffet would have been ok, only, if they will train their servers. When i asked a server to clean my table, he just used his hands to wipe away the bread crumbs or whatever little pieces left on top of the table. From the table, its now on the chairs and floor. The plates were greasy. Third, do not leave your valuables inside the room. When we returned after lunch, we noticed that somebody touched our laptops. We had to complain but again, no serious steps were taken. I will not come back anymore. Mallberry would have been a nice place to stay but with very poor service, I'd rather stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iamsjcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a quite all right hotel with a good location. Being next to limketkai mall is nice.
I have stayed at this hotel probably around 20-30 nights over the last 3 years.
There are only 2 good hotels with a reasonable price in CDO in my opinion, and this is one of them.
Very friendly staff. It's nice they always say "welcome back" before i get to the front desk.

Great massage services. I recommend to try "thermo massage" here.

Negatives:
The taxis outside rip you off, better to use taxi from the mall.
some rooms are in need of maintenance (but they move you to another room if you complain, so no big deal)
the food is not so good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eivind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Hotel has better facilities compared with others of the same category. Location is very accessible and close to shopping malls. However customer service leaves much to be desired. From the airport, I inquired if there are available rooms. The front desk receptionist answered in the affirmative and relayed that I can already check in without additional charge. When I got into the hotel, I was advised that I will be charged half day for early check in. After 15 minutes of haggling, they asked me to wait for the supervisor who waived the extra charge but downgraded my room to superior type. They asked me to wait one hour fr the room to be cleaned. Though pissed off, I just waited only to find out that i need to wait another 30 minutes because the room is still not done. I demanded to alk to the supervisor but the latter gave all the reasons in the world to avoid talking to me. Perhaps the hotel staff including the supervisor should attend seminars on winning customer service strategies. Management should nvest on such in order r the business to grow more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jovie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cagayan de Oro hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

My last stay was my 2nd time to stay here. Rooms are pretty simple. In fact reminds me sometimes of a hospital room. But still this is the best hotel and cleanest in CDO so far.

Whatever though they lack in the rooms they make up in terms of service, security and location. Oh the in house spa and massage services is good too.

It is right beside a robinsons and lim ket Kai malls and 5 minutes away from centrio Ayala mall.

Food is not that good though so i would suggest eating out. But they so have decent restaurants in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

It's OK, nothing special, basic tourist standard hotel although I understand it's the best you can get in CDO. Not much else around as far as I can see. Ayala soon to open a hotel over Centrio Mall which should be a much needed addition.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SEABoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagayan de Oro hotels
0.3 mi away
Seda Centrio
Seda Centrio
#1 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
#3 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
#2 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
N Hotel
N Hotel
#4 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
148 reviews
1.5 mi away
Country Village Hotel
Country Village Hotel
#26 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Luxe Hotel
De Luxe Hotel
#15 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallberry Suites Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallberry Suites Business Hotel

Property: Mallberry Suites Business Hotel
Address: Florentino Street, Cagayan de Oro, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Misamis Oriental Province > Cagayan de Oro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mallberry Suites Business Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Mallberry Suites Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mallberry Hotel Business

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing