We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK place except for two greaseball brothers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingston Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingston Lodge
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
Vancouver
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“OK place except for two greaseball brothers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

We arrived at the Kingston Hotel on December 17th the day after the tragic typhoon storm ravished Cagayan de Oro. We were so grateful to have a clean dry room to go to at the Kingston which was spared the misery because of it's high altitude location up on the hill.

We are very grateful to the owner for saving our booking because he could have easily rented it to the many others seeking refuge from the storm. We were so fortunate that our first choice for booking, the Conchita had no openings for our stay, as it had 9' of water running down it's streets the day before and was musty smelling without power the day we arrived...phew...lucky!!

Not sure of the reviews before mine, as they seem a little harsh. This is a good hotel! We found the Kingston Lodge to be clean, well laid out and affordable. The owner is a really nice guy who held our valuables in his safe and was very accommodating to all our requests. The food was tasty and affordable and his young Filipino staff were all really nice.

For those that like to drink and socialize this COULD be a good location as it is frequented daily by expats. There were these two Aussie brothers there, however, the night we stayed and they were looking to pick fights with several other tourists. Wish I were a scrapper/drinker because the one bald guy was really cocky in front of his girlfriend(s) and really needed someone to knock him out. Far too much ego and testosterone in that particular Aussie when he drinks and he should consider AA or something.

He is a friend of the most excellent owner and could be a detriment to his business, however, with the amount he drink$, that's most likely not to be the case.

Other than the greaseball brothers, this is a really good place!

Room Tip: Choose a room a round the back because the drinking expats can up the volume sometimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KevandJho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    33
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
32
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Checked in at Kingston Lodge last January 7. Yes, the place is just 7 to 10 minutes to the airport, but we are not satisfied with the service. We woke up at 5am, since our flight is at 9am. Suprisingly, no available staff at the lobby. No hot water for coffee. Mugs are provided but those were dirty (seems that previous guests used those). Compliment to the guard on duty because he tried everything to give what we asked for. Upon checking out, at around 6am, the guard on duty was forced to received our payment because the lodge's staff is still sleeping.!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Honey Leth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

We just had a quick stop here before catching an early morning flight the next day. It was an ok place to stay if you are just passing through. The beds have cheap foam mattresses though, so it doesn't give the most comfortable sleep. Walls obviously need some painting, water pressure in the shower is very low, room has an old musty smell, sheets are worn almost through and no blankets provided, and the 'brewed coffee' was probably the worst I've had in years.

If you don't mind staying in a mediocre place and are just passing through and want to be close the airport this place is ok (at least it is cheap!). Otherwise, steer clear!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khawk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

had pre booked room for 2 nights,,,arrived after long flight, room on first floor,,the place was really dirty,,,( shower,,towels,bed,,sheets,,) get me out of here,,went to check out,,told young lady about,(all she said was sorry,,) and then charged me for one night,,stay away from here,,i took taxi and went to mallberry hotel,,(real hotel,,clean,,)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joseph715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

i found this place a little delight but of corse im brought up in the back streets i found it very cheap food was good staff were good all in all i dont have really any complaints to make dont be going to the philippeans and staying in these hotels at very cheap rates and expecting the hilton it wont happen so all at the kingston well done i will be back thank you.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms i found good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marti881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Whilst not your Hilton or Sheraton it is a little oasis in a growing city that is Cagayan de Oro. Located close to the current airport and a short ride to the city proper Kingston Lodge offers a friendly atmosphere and affordable accommodation for the short or longer term visitor.
The food is excellent with a local and western menu with some of the best steaks anywhere on the island. The breakfast is what I’d call the full ‘Monty’ with bacon, sausage, hash browns, eggs and beans with toast and marmalade. There are other alternatives to suit your taste as well.
To relax you can use either of the two swimming pools or bring yourself up to date with free Wifi on request.
A championship golf course is nearby as well as a large shopping mall if you do not wish to go to visit the city. White water rafting can be booked at the reception with pick up at the door.
Definitely worth a try even if only to enjoy a cold beer along with lunch and catch up with local news.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcjimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Ifound this hotel to be a little bit of paradise in the middle of nowhere, the staff were very polite and cheerful, the rooms were clean the people and locals there are really good. am planning a return trip soon. love the place. Garry

Room Tip: pool room views and apartelles have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 70ieschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagayan de Oro hotels
3.7 mi away
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
#2 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Grand City Hotel
The Grand City Hotel
#11 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
3.7 mi away
N Hotel
N Hotel
#4 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Country Village Hotel
Country Village Hotel
#26 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
3.8 mi away
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
#3 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
2.8 mi away
GC Suites Hotel
GC Suites Hotel
#5 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Lodge

Property: Kingston Lodge
Address: Off Masterson Avenue | Direction Lumbia Airport, Cagayan de Oro, Mindanao 9000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Misamis Oriental Province > Cagayan de Oro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kingston Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingston Lodge in Cagayan De Oro is one of the popular Hotels in CdO. Kingston Lodge provides popular accommodation for holidaying or long term stays because of its excellent location. Less than 1km to the golf course, SM mall and 5km to the airport. Kingston Lodge in CdO was built in 2007 and opened in October of that year. Since then it has become a popular hospitality address with both foreign and local guests alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Kingston Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston Hotel Cagayan De Oro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing