We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay when in Naga.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Avenue Plaza Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Naga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

The Queen suite is pretty luxurious. The place is very clean and well kept. Room service isn't quite what I expected though. The terrace view could have improved if not for the informal settlers visible from thw window. The food is average. The reception is fine but not really grand.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Voltaire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 347 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

Everything about this hotel met my expectations. Excellent service by the hotel staff from picking up at the airport, smooth check in and check out, private tours, & wake up call. With special mention to Tristan who went above and beyond to make our stay really comfortable and enjoyable. John, Ian and Dennis were also commendable, nice people and always wearing a smile. They even take you to the van with umbrella service, so she-she...
Hotel itself is tucked behind a small shopping complex so you don't hear street noise, a plus for some people who wanted a minimal noise or quiet place to stay. Clean room and bathroom, comfy bed, and little details that makes me rate this hotel an Excellent one. Will certainly be back to this hotel the next time I travel to Cam Sur.

Room Tip: Higher floors are always best for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prissy1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppleAllison, Public Relations Manager at The Avenue Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Prissy,

Thank you for writing this review. We are very pleased to know that you have a great experience with us during your stay at Avenue Plaza Hotel. Our team wished to extend our best regards to you and to your whole family.

We look forward for your next visit. Stay connected with us through social media accounts. I hope you can like our official Facebook Page.

See you again soon and once again thank you!

<3

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

More than the modern look yet homey, tasteful ambiance of the hotel, what impressed me is their brand of excellent service. Every hotel staff knew how to deal with guests and make them feel at ease. Every guest is treated with a personal touch (i.e. they know what newspaper you read and would save a copy for you), Everybody is on the ball and ready to cater to your needs and requests. This hotel is one of the few hotels that impressed me in terms of service, interiors, rooms and amenities.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merchantman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppleAllison, Public Relations Manager at The Avenue Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Hello Merchantman,

We would like to thank you for rating us excellent and for writing this review about Avenue Plaza Hotel. We're very happy to read that you were impressed by our brand of excellent service. Your appreciation about the things that we do for our guests only strengthens our passion to always give personalized service to all our clients and guests.

I hope you can visit us again, this time for a holiday trip together with your family and friends.
We look forward welcoming you again at The Avenue!

Sincerely,

The Avenue Plaza Hotel Management and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

From the moment they picked us up at the airport, our entire entourage of roughly 20 people knew we were going to be well cared for during our entire stay. All the staff were incredibly courteous, always willing to go the extra mile, and really took the initiative to make everyone as comfortable possible. Our requests for bottles of water and toilet paper were delivered within minutes. They offered to take down my luggage late at night, for a special check-in they arranged for our group, so I wouldn't have to go down to the lobby myself. By the end of our 3-day stay, we were on first names bases with several of the bellhops and shuttle staff.

The rooms were clean and impeccably maintained, with no signs of wear and tear despite years of service. I'm quite nit-picky about the bathroom, and I was happy to note that there were no signs of mildew or growth that usually begin to surface in moist areas. The only criticism I have is for their toiletries: the shampoo made my hair feel extremely dry, and the conditioner didn't do much to compensate.

Though I was happy with the room, I would have a preferred one with a window, especially since the lighting of the room was fairly dark. Writing and putting on make-up were quite straining to the eyes and the lights were deceiving. Some natural sunlight in the morning would have helped make it feel more homey for me.

Overall, I'd stay there again and again. Location was great, and was 5 minutes away from most landmarks (like the Jesse Robredo Coliseum where we held our event,) and was surrounded by cafes, restaurants, bars, and a few blocks away from a spa. What a gem in Naga city!

Room Tip: We got a room with no windows, so it gave me the feeling of living in a box. I suggest you ask for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppleAllison, Public Relations Manager at The Avenue Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Kaich,

Thank you very much for your very detailed and informative review. It's humbling to know that you appreciated our team's effort to make your group feel comfortable and well taken cared for during your stay.

Your feedback about the toiletries were already forwarded to the supplier for reconsideration. As for the room with no window, we'll have that recorded so that on your next visit, we can give you your preferred room with a better view. It was just that during your visit we were fully booked.

For your next booking, please do not hesitate to also indicate your preference and we'll be happy to consider that. Once again, thank you very much for giving us a 5 in your review and we look forward for your many stay with us! We are a gem in Naga City because of guests like you who deserves nothing but the best!!!

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

As a follow up to MBGarchitorena's earlier review, we would like to commend the quick action taken by the staff of Avenue Plaza Hotel. I also stayed in the same rooms (512 - Jan. 8, 510 - Jan 12) and was equally disappointed when we forgot our spreads in the room refrigerator and was even more disappointed when no one knew about the items we had forgotten when we got back to the hotel 4 days after. However, as soon as MBGarchitorena posted his review, he received a call from Mr. Jim Jimenez and was told that they investigated our concern and discovered the items stashed away in another fridge. They were not lost, just not endorsed. Their immediate action and feedback is highly commendable! GREAT SERVICE RECOVERY! KUDOS TO FOM JIM JIMENEZ! This hotel is highly recommended,

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank MS J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppleAllison, Public Relations Manager at The Avenue Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Hello MS J,

Thank you for taking this effort to leave a review about our Front Office Manager's service recovery. As you may have observed, we take actions whenever our guests have concerns and make sure that they are handled properly and in timely manner.

Please extend our warmest regards to your whole family and friends! We do hope you can visit us again this year.

Dios Mabalos! Happy Summer!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I work for a travel and tour agency which has me travelling around and accompanying large group of clients.

I was recently in this hotel twice within the month of January and in both cases I had roughly 100pax in tow.

I believe that the true test of a hotel's mettle is when tour groups check in. It usually is a logistical nighmare and only the best of the best iron out the details. Well, this hotel takes the cake!

Room Tip: During the Feast of the Lady of Penafrancia, ask for a room overlooking the river. Any other day, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jian_Joseph_Tayaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppleAllison, Public Relations Manager at The Avenue Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Hi Jian Joseph,

We couldn't make it easier for the group if not for your travel agency's close coordination with our team. Thank you for being so supportive and collaborative. We're always happy to have your group at Avenue Plaza Hotel.

See you again soon! Cheers to more travel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Growing up in Naga, booking a hotel room had never been necessary, up until January 8 and 12 when the need to stay in one cropped up and so I reserved two rooms in Avenue Plaza Hotel since I'd heard a lot of good things about this hotel. All in all, my stay did not disappoint except for ONE thing which marred what otherwise would have been a perfect visit back to my old town. Locationwise, building a hotel along Magsaysay Avenue that is a short but sufficient distance from downtown centro means one is spared from the worst of the traffic. The rooms were more than adequate (quite roomy in fact), the thread count of the sheets was more than what I'd expected, the towels were fluffy, the bathrooms were just the way I like them - well lit, large - and it was CLEAN. The one thing that could be improved about the rooms are the shower stalls. They leak and flood the floor. We didn't get to eat much in Cafe Plazuela except for breakfast, but even that was very enjoyable. They have a large and varied buffet and attentive staff who always make sure that your coffee cup stays topped. Speaking of coffee, if they could make a stronger brew then breakfast would be really, really good. That said, what's really going for this hotel are the staff I met. Jim Jimenez is an excellent FOM who took excellent care of us (and his skill in speaking French is not to be belittled, as my friends from Paris pointed out) as did Jojo, Jester, Tristan, Francis and Sam. Hold on to these fellows!

Now, on to my gripe. On the morning of January 9 as we were getting ready to leave for Caramoan, I forgot to remove from the minibar the queso de bola spread, tinapa pate and prosciutto that I'd intended to bring with me to Caramoan. Maybe I should've called the hotel to tell them to retrieve it from the minibar but it passed my mind completely. Anyway, upon my return on January 12, one of the first things I asked was if housekeeping had endorsed the contents of the minibar to the front office staff. NADA. To the FO staff's credit, they chcked high and low and reported to me on more than one occassion the negative results of their search. Good thing it was only food that I'd left behind and nothing more valuable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBGarchitorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppleAllison, Public Relations Manager at The Avenue Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear MB Garchitorena,

Thank you very much for your review and feedback. We wish to inform you that we have made an action regarding the your recommendation about the shower stalls, the coffee in the morning and also the proper endorsement of the left behind items. We informed our the concerned department about it and it was properly resolved.

Thank you too for acknowledging the immediate action made by our Front Office Manager Mr.Jim Jimenez who contacted you regarding the items you left. Special thanks also to MS J for leaving another review commending our immediate and personal feedback upon reading this review last January.

Avenue Plaza Hotel will always be grateful for guests like you who give their honest reviews and recommendation on how we can maintain a high standard of personalized service.

We look forward for your next visit in Naga City! We'll be very happy to welcome you again at The Avenue. Happy summer!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naga
0.4 mi away
Villa Caceres Hotel
Villa Caceres Hotel
#3 of 11 in Naga
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#2 of 11 in Naga
88 reviews
0.8 mi away
NagaLand Hotel
NagaLand Hotel
#4 of 11 in Naga
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Eurotel Naga
Eurotel Naga
#8 of 11 in Naga
48 reviews
52.5 mi away
Tugawe Cove Resort
Tugawe Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Caramoan
223 reviews
1.1 mi away
CBD Plaza Hotel
CBD Plaza Hotel
#6 of 11 in Naga
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avenue Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avenue Plaza Hotel

Address: Magsaysay Avenue | Brgy. Balatas, Naga, Luzon 4400, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Camarines Sur Province > Naga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Naga
Price Range: $70 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Avenue Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avenue Plaza Hotel's 4 Star accommodation in Naga City, Camarines Sur, Philippines brings you right in the heart of the city. It is strategically located along Magsaysay Avenue near entertainment, shopping, dining centers, and historical attractions. From the boutique hotel, guests will easily access key places of interest, such as Penafrancia Shrine, Immaculate Concepcion Church, Central Bus Terminal, and Naga City Centro/Downtown/Central Business District. Each room at the hotel comes with air-conditioning, high-speed Internet connection, coffee/tea maker, private toilet and bath, shower, safe, and baby cot/crib upon request. Guests will also enjoy a mini-bar, PosturePedic bed, and plasma TV with cable. Further, the boutique hotel also has facilities and services for guests' convenience. It has a ballroom, cafe, business center, conference room, restaurant, 2-level infinity pool, and lifestyle center. Airport transfer, car rental, city transfer, currency exchange, and massage service are also available. The boutique hotel offers a convention center that can seat up to 800 people and an events tent that can carry up to 1000 people, as well. The Avenue Plaza Hotel has been recognized by Tripadvisor, as a Traveler's Choice in 2013 and 2017 for Best Service where it has outranked 5 Star hotels in Metro Manila. Besides this, Cebu Pacific's in flight magazine, Smile, gave us an award for being a Best Brand in Travel and Tourism as the Best Hotel for Stress Free Business Trips in 2013. Also, the Department of Tourism Region 5 also accorded us a Gayon Bicol Award for Enterprise Service Excellence in recognition of its team's untiring efforts in sustaining the international standards for tourism services towards global competitiveness. These features and awards make it the best place to stay in Naga City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Avenue Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing