We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with the food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oriental Legazpi
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Legazpi
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The room was immaculate (executive room)...almost. The bathroom has a sliding door but there was no way to lock it or at least hold the door so it remains closed.

The food is unexpectedly bad for such a nice location with the majestic sight of Mayon. The breakfast buffet had spaghetti that was a carenderia type.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ib_yang14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 490 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

What makes this hotel special is its elevated position...on my 5th floor room's veranda lies the magnificent Mayon.The view on a good weather is just awesome I momentarily forgot how mediocare the hotel is ( 4 stars as they claim). First, it is not accessible by public transport under regular fare.We have to hire a tricycle or a taxi if we want to go downtown at P150 one way.Ouch.Second,the food is so-so. Third, less attentive staff.

I find our room nice but it should be a given @P4,000+++.

Room Tip: Rooms on 5th floor up and should be facing mayon volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julietteBacolod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

A business friend gave us gift certificates to this hotel: one night stay in their Mayon Queen room and massage with jacuzzi for two, as a wedding gift. And we are thankful to have experienced the comfort and luxury of this hotel. The view of Mayon Volcano from our room is just priceless. Buffet breakfast is really delicious. Staff are courteous and accommodating. Spa experience is one of the best.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I had stay here last may, and for sure I will keep coming back! THUMBS UP !!! from the staff up to the managers they are all friendly and approachable. All things that I've requested has been approved. It's like a Shangrila Hotel in the top of taysan hills over looking the beauty of Mayon Volcano as one of the wonders of the world. The facilities are clean, enjoying all the amenities such as the gym, sauna, salon,infinity pool,souvenir shop and my favorite Jasmine restaurant :) The food is fantastic! the chef's are there to introduce the signature dishes. The superb service of the staff esp. the manager is taking care of us with a smile and sincerity coming from their heart. I highly recommend this to all of my friends and colleagues. :)

Room Tip: rooms facing mayon volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

At dawn, it feels heavenly gazing at the majestic beauty of Mayon from the terrace of the hotel room...... then breakfast, swimming...... all with Mayon at the background....... what a sight!!! If only for this, i'd love to keep coming back to The Oriental Hotel in Legazpi...... they also have a very good breakfast buffet...... quite varied choices of local delicacies...... love d dried fish...... can't help adding servings......

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARB129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I had stay here before that's the reason I stay at these hotel again. A hotel up the hill not convenient. I like it cause it has a nice view of Mayon volcano. The lobby very impressive large left side there restaurant, and on the right is there bar. When I enter the room I notice that there closet and desk are full of scratches. There closet and bathroom door are already misalign. Anyway the aircon still works well. And had a nice sleep. The pool do not have an pool attendant or life guard. When I went inside the pool, I notice that the floor was slippery so I try to touch the wall it's also slippery. I decided not to continue my swim. When I get off the pool I notice the pool attendant was there. He has a waiver telling to me to sign for using the pool because they don't have any life guard. Anyway on my way out, I saw a foreigner opening an umbrella and notice these pool attendant did not even bother to help him out. I had to tell him to help there guest. Breakfast congee was cold. The warmer not working. Not only that, the air condition, they did not open it, I notice every one in the dining area are perspiring. I can not recommend these hotel. I use to recommend hotel to friends. The hotel management should do something about it. Or they lose there guest.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCT555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Location is very nice, It's built on top of a hill. It gives you to relax at the infinity pool and enjoy the amazing view of Mayon Volcano as well as the city. The room was large, the bed is clean with comfortable and soft pillow but the the shower didn't worked properly as well as the cold and hot water. Breakfast buffet is okay but needs to upgrade. You need to wait to find a taxi which is expensive.

Room Tip: Choose the room have amazing view of Mayon Volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jhuls2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legazpi hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel St. Ellis
Hotel St. Ellis
#6 of 14 in Legazpi
172 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#2 of 14 in Legazpi
169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casablanca Suites
Casablanca Suites
#1 of 14 in Legazpi
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Emerald Boutique Hotel
Emerald Boutique Hotel
#3 of 14 in Legazpi
29 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Piazza Hotel & Convention Center
1.3 mi away
Pepperland Hotel
Pepperland Hotel
#9 of 14 in Legazpi
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oriental Legazpi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oriental Legazpi

Address: Taysan Hill, Sto. Nino Village, Legazpi, Luzon 4500, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Albay Province > Legazpi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Legazpi
Price Range: $78 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oriental Legazpi 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wherever You Are, You are Home at The Oriental Situated on top of Taysan Hill, The Oriental Legazpi offers an unforgettable view of the Mayon Volcano, Albay Gulf, and the Legazpi cityscape from the balcony of its rooms. This breathtaking backdrop is complemented by an array of conveniences that will convince even the busiest of individuals to pack their bags and head off for a quick vacation at Legazpi City, Albay. At The Oriental Legazpi, Albay’s best features are easy to see. A 15-minute drive is all it takes to get to the airport, and the city itself can be reached by car in 20. Visiting famous landmarks, such as the picturesque Cagsawa Ruins, can also be arranged through the hotel’s tour assistance facility. Guests can also do a variety of exciting activities nearby such as exploring delicious street food, tasting the famous sili ice cream, and wandering the fields via an ATV mobile to get to Mayon’s lava rocks. After a fun-filled day, the quiet sophistication of the hotel’s ambience will calm down the adrenaline rush. The rooms are finished in neutral colors and feature large glass windows that frame the spectacular sights surrounding the hotel. The accommodations all come with Internet connection, cable TV, and complimentary Filipino breakfast — perfect accompaniments for a day of unparalleled bliss and contentment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Oriental Legazpi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing