We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wake up to a view of Mayon Volcano everyday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oriental Legazpi
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Legazpi
Manila
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Wake up to a view of Mayon Volcano everyday!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

It was my first time to visit Legazpi. I was here to attend a conference so we traveled in group. I was surprised that the hotel representative picked us up at the airport and even gave us towels to clean ourselves. This hotel is located on top of a hill and it has the best view of the Mayon Volcano from afar. We were treated to welcome drinks as we entered the hotel.

The all-white interior was so relaxing to the eyes. Our group leader already checked-in for us so we went straight to our rooms. My room has a volcano view and it was large for a regular room size. Everything is so clean. I love their beds, not too soft and not too hard, very comfortable to sleep on. There were complimentary bottled water everyday.

The toilet was ok. The only problem is that the door of the toilet has no lock, so not really advisable for non-couples.

Service is excellent and food was average, a bit salty though, ordered Carbonara on Room service. Menu changes daily during breakfast. Cereals are not crispy anymore, might be serving old, but there was a variety of food served everyday. Their house water has lemon in it so it tastes good. Had dinner there, it was just so-so. I love their omelette, tocino, and fish fillet, and breakfast juices.

Overall, very friendly service

Room Tip: Choose the room with a view of the Volcano, its usually larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookingmasterboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    176
    113
    47
    46
See reviews for
173
95
13
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Lobby and Dining Area: The pictures are so beautiful in their website. When you get there, it still is. The lobby and the dining and coffee area are the best in the area. It is so clean and very new (the hotel was totally refurbished). The minimalist design gives you a spacious feeling. What is wrong then? The materials used for their furniture both in the common areas and in the rooms are cheap and basic. A minimalist design works best if the materials are of good quality. Definitely, not 4-5 star furnishings.

Location: Good location if you want a good view of Mayon volcano and the city. They should provide free shuttle service to the city though since it is not really a resort hotel where guests can stay in for several days to enjoy the amenities.

Rooms: If you have money to spare, get a room facing Mayon. The view is fantastic. It includes not only Mayon but also Lignon Hill, the city and the pool + lounge. Rooms are basic, clean and average. We needed a lot of patience though when we were there.

We encountered a lot of problems in the room when we stayed there.
We had a problem with our sink and we had to call in Housekeeping twice because the water wasn't draining well. Bottom line, there was a technique to be used on the stopper to drain the water. This we learned only from the 2nd Housekeeping staff. The 1st one just drained it without saying anything. He also told us that majority of their guests had problems with it. If that’s the case, they should include it in their briefing when the guests first enter the room.
The toilet flush wasn't working as well so they had to change something inside. We had to call their attention twice also before they fixed it. Because of all these, we requested to have our room changed but the check-in lady said that the rooms are fully booked. But really, there were few guests that day because it was a weekday. That same night, the water in the shower was not draining well. When they checked it, the staff said it is really like that. We were just so tired that night after doing a whole day tour of the city that we did not argue anymore. The following days were so full with Donsol and Misibis Bay tours that we just lived with that set up until we checked out. We just used our rubber slippers inside the shower so our feet won't be submerged in the water that was not draining well. IS THAT 5-STARS? IT IS NOT EVEN 2 STARS. IT IS BASIC!!!!
And to top it off, the safe inside the room was not working. Again, we had to live with it because the repairman said they had to pull it out to repair it and it will take days. It is good that we had fun in Donsol and Misibis Bay so we were just so ready to sleep when we got back in Oriental.

Food: Buffet breakfast is really, really BAD. First time I've stayed in a hotel aiming for 4-5 star rating that serves just 1 kind of juice ( I think it is even powdered orange juice ), cold coffee and a pathetic line-up of breakfast fare. The fruits were nothing to rave about either. The way it was cut up was not appetizing at all. We didn't mind not having many choices but what irked us more was the bad quality of the food. Not worth paying extra for this. If you are going to the city, just eat breakfast there. Any of the fast food joints there is much better than the one in the hotel. We did not bother to eat lunch/ dinner there because of this. Prices for lunch and dinner are Manila price but I am not sure if they can deliver on this.

Spa: The saving grace of the hotel. Reasonable rates with superb service. The Best!!!

Service/ Staff: Front liners and housekeeping personnel are courteous and friendly. However, they have to be proactive and they still need a lot of training when it comes to handling customer complaints. They have to be more organized and systematic.

Pool/ Lounge: Good view of Mayon. The lounge is modern. Really nice infinity pool. We were not able to use it though because it was under maintenance. We were lounging there for a while and nobody told us that we can't use it. When we were already inside and wet, that's when somebody approached us to say that it was under maintenance. No sign either in the entrance that the pool is under maintenance. Tough Luck!

Checking In/ Out: Checking in was a breeze maybe because it was a weekday and a lean period? Checking out was a pain. Before heading for breakfast, we informed the check-in staff to prepare our bill as we are checking out right after eating. We passed by there again before going up our room and she said that it was ready. When we came down, it was not ready and when it was, it did not include our expenses the night before. So we had to wait again for them to correct it. It took a total of around 30-40 minutes.

Security: It's pretty safe in this hotel. There are security people on both front and back entrances. I just hope they also assign security people on the elevators when there's a big convention. There were a lot of drunken men when we were there because there was a convention of the Phil Councilors and they may have come from a drinking session. We got scared of one inside the elevator who was blatantly staring at us and smirking so we had to get out fast.

Tips: They allow you to order from the restos in the city. They will even assist you. You can ride a taxi to/ from the city so you don't really need to take their expensive shuttle service.

So would I go back to this hotel?
No, if they still have the same service at the same price. It is a classic example of money NOT well spent! Big space and new doesn't necessarily mean top class.
Maybe yes, if they lower their price because they are definitely not a 5 star hotel OR if they make a tremendous improvement.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank serenegypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

It is one of the best hotels that I have stayed in, in the Philippines .. very clean .. very hip and perfect location! Breakfast was great but not much choices for vegetarians .. Only area for improvement is vegetarian option

Room Tip: get a room that has the perfect view of Mt Mayon! Trust me .. it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinayExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Good location. The decor is good and staff are friendly. Food is very nice and the buffet breakfast
is evenly balanced. The pool area is really the creme de la creme because of the fantastic view of the volcano. The room is of a good size & bed is comfortable.

Room Tip: HIgher floor, volcano view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filish53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legazpi, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Not only is this a truly lovely hotel but more importantly so is the staff - really! I have never been treated with such genuine relaxed hospitality - unaffected and gracious. I have always wanted to stay in this hotel, and finally got the chance for a long weekend yet the hotel is old. They've done a great job at refurbishing it yet keeping its character. While a bit pricey this place had years of magic stored in it and it is all there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime321_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Airport transfer is free. A representative from Oriental will be at the airport upon arrival. Free water and cold towels will be given upon boarding the van.

Hotel is roughly 15 minutes away. Staff will welcome you upon arrival. Check-in was quick and another welcome drinks will be served. Security in this hotel is really tight which is nice.

No nearby restaurants are to be found. You have to ride a tricycle to the town proper. You can also hire a private taxi for 300pesos an hour or the hotel shuttle for 350pesos one way just to reach the town.

Room service food is soooo expensive. Roughly 400 pesos for a small single serving of pasta. Coke in can is priced at an unbelievable price of PHP120.00!!! It's that expensive.

Breakfast buffet is fine for us. We had a lot of choices contrary to other reviews here. They have rice, egg station, bacon, bread, cereal, juices, pancake etc. So it was ok for us.
Noel, one of the waiters was so friendly and asked us how our stay was and chit-chatted with us a bit on where we should go for tour. Too bad we're leaving that morning.

Check-out was fast but be sure to remind them of your preferred airport transfer. I did inform them the night before but no one knew about it when we checked-out. Good thing there was a van available or else I will be furiously mad at them for not noting that.

View by the pool is exceptionally great.

Staff are so respectful. They ALL greet you when they see you anywhere.

For the price I paid, I was surely somewhat satisfied with this hotel. I just hope they lower their prices on EVERYTHING!.

Room Tip: for an additional 500 pesos, you can have a view of the majestic Mayon Volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
姫路
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This Hotel have a amazing view to the Mayon mountain and over the city. It's modern, chic and have a great Spa. The Staff is very friendly.
The Breakfast was varied but not outstanding. Same for the Dinner in the Restaurant.
The Shower in the Bathroom is very dangerous because the floor becomes extreme slippery. The Toilet flush was time to time not working correctly. The Toilet seat is made of cheap plastic and sliding to the side away.
Very annoying was that on one day in the late afternoon was a three hour extreme loud private Birthday party on the terrace in front of the Guestrooms. There was no excuse from the Hotel for this and this is a absolutly no go.
This Hotel is friendly, modern and clean but really no 4 or 5 star Hotel. A big recommandation is the Spa with the friendly and professional Staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the view to the Mayon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oriwan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legazpi hotels
0.8 mi away
Casablanca Suites
Casablanca Suites
#2 of 14 in Legazpi
83 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel St. Ellis
Hotel St. Ellis
#7 of 14 in Legazpi
166 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#3 of 14 in Legazpi
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Emerald Boutique Hotel
Emerald Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Legazpi
23 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Piazza Hotel & Convention Center
1.2 mi away
Pepperland Hotel
Pepperland Hotel
#9 of 14 in Legazpi
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oriental Legazpi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oriental Legazpi

Property: The Oriental Legazpi
Address: Taysan Hill, Sto. Nino Village, Legazpi, Luzon 4500, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Albay Province > Legazpi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Legazpi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oriental Legazpi 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wherever You Are, You are Home at The Oriental Situated on top of Taysan Hill, The Oriental Legazpi offers an unforgettable view of the Mayon Volcano, Albay Gulf, and the Legazpi cityscape from the balcony of its rooms. This breathtaking backdrop is complemented by an array of conveniences that will convince even the busiest of individuals to pack their bags and head off for a quick vacation at Legazpi City, Albay. At The Oriental Legazpi, Albay’s best features are easy to see. A 15-minute drive is all it takes to get to the airport, and the city itself can be reached by car in 20. Visiting famous landmarks, such as the picturesque Cagsawa Ruins, can also be arranged through the hotel’s tour assistance facility. Guests can also do a variety of exciting activities nearby such as exploring delicious street food, tasting the famous sili ice cream, and wandering the fields via an ATV mobile to get to Mayon’s lava rocks. After a fun-filled day, the quiet sophistication of the hotel’s ambience will calm down the adrenaline rush. The rooms are finished in neutral colors and feature large glass windows that frame the spectacular sights surrounding the hotel. The accommodations all come with Internet connection, cable TV, and complimentary Filipino breakfast — perfect accompaniments for a day of unparalleled bliss and contentment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Oriental Legazpi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing