We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BALAY aka BAHAY (House/Home)”
Review of Balay de la Rama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balay de la Rama
Ranked #2 of 35 Legazpi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is the one I like most, BALAY DE LA RAMA will make you feel at home.
My mother grew up in Daraga, Albay. She often visit her relatives and usually stay in my Aunt's house.
One day she told me, she prefer to stay in a hotel because of increasing family members ( grand children) my sister found this in Agoda and I made the booking.
I traveled with her and my brother this Feb. 7th, 2013, for 3 nights. It is really a nice place to stay.
Friendly staff and attentive to our needs as well as the owners. Usually, owners do not spend time with the guests, but the husband and wife owners are easy to get along.
The place is very convenient and accessible too.
Of course, Mt. Mayon is there long time ago, Balay de la Rama is an additional place to enjoy!
We will be there again!


We decided that every time we are in Daraga, we will

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank K_go_0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fbaillard, Owner at Balay de la Rama, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thanks for your lovely review. It has been very nice to have you at home and we are looking forward to see you again :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 203 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

I love this place!
Aside from the beautiful surroundings like Mt. Mayon, this hotel made me feel at home.
The staff are very friendly and attentive!
I was surprised, they offer a cheaper rate for this very lovely place!
My mom, my brother and me really enjoyed our 3-night stay.
The moment we step in our room, my mom's words were "PLEASE MAKE A NEW RESERVATION ON THIS HOTEL FOR MY NEXT VISIT!"
Yes! Done! I made a new booking for my mom.
Balay dela Rama will surely be our place to stay whenever we are in Daraga, Albay, my mom's birthplace and the only hotel that made us FEEL AT HOME.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fbaillard, Owner at Balay de la Rama, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thanks for the wonderful review. We have been pleased to host you and all your family. Hope to see you again at balay de la rama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Legaspi can be a daunting place to visit, but the Balay de la Rama made it feel like home. The owning family are warm and friendly, to the point where they even arranged a small birthday party for a guest and invited us all to attend! Breakfast is a free traditional Filipino breakfast, and very good. The room size is comfortable regardless of which you pick, but the deluxe room does have a rather nice view of the volcano, and is worth the extra few pesos. Definitely worth a stay, especially if it's your first time in the Philippines.

Room Tip: If going with the deluxe room, you may experience more noise from roosters in the morning - but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeadPhoenix47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fbaillard, Owner at Balay de la Rama, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thanks, very pleased to hear that you enjoy your stay and the birthday party too. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

its nice to have a place to stay like this (balay de la rama).everything is convenient,if u want to eat McDonalds ice cream its near. the transportation is really cool!! u just go out at the gate and its there!! Jessie and karen the owner they are really nice.maybe because they are young couples...you can talk to them and make jokes! for me this hostel is really a place u want to stay!!im serious!!heehehe...

Room Tip: i think any room is cool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rina933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fbaillard, Owner at Balay de la Rama, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thanks a lot.
We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in balay de la rama. We are really looking forward to meet you again. Balay de la rama will always be your home away from home in bicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I went together with my mom, my friend and her mom for some Mother-Daughter bonding last November 29 2012. Staying in Balay de la Rama has been an AWESOME experience. Apart from the fact that its easily accessible to all the tourist attractions, they are really true to their word that you will feel at home when you stay with them.

The rooms are really spacious and have a homey vibe to it. We stayed in their Deluxe room in the 3rd floor. You can lounge on their common rooms at any time and the view of the Mayon Volcano in their 3rd floor is really picturesque. The staff here is really accommodating and they will help you get around Legazpi and beyond like a local. This is the hotel that you should consider staying if you're in Bicol for fun and adventure.

There are no TVs in the room that we stayed (which is completely fine with us as we are always on the go). Rates are really budget friendly (which is priced at 850/night last time we stayed here). You can also check in earlier! Just let Jess know in advance. The bathroom looks new and well maintained. There are no mirrors inside though. Overall cleanliness is average as I kept on seeing ant trails (we must be too sweet for them to come around). But overall, the place is well kept and service is very prompt if you ask me.

The food is good as they will offer you complimentary breakfast as part of the package. Most of their foods come from their very own farm. My only suggestion would be for them to also have complimentary chocolate drinks available (like Milo aside from coffee that is for kids or kids-at-heart) as I am not a coffee drinker.

You could also request to eat there should you decide to "dine-in" (just ask Jess and Caren). There's a friendly cat around too. Sadly I wasn't able to stay that long to get some pictures of the kitty and her kittys.

We truly had lots of fun getting around Bicol during this trip, moving around the area is quite easy thanks to the constant guidance and instructions of Jess, Caren and Clarissa. You will be entertained by their charming daughter Anina who, during our last day, kept giving me her toys.

We got to ride jeeps, tricycles and we even saw a bus going back to Manila (should you really decide to get back to Manila by land). We also got around to eat at good restaurants like First Colonial Grill (that will take you one jeep ride only to get there) and Small Talk Cafe (you should ride a tricycle to get there as its a lil' bit far from here).

Overall, I would say that this is an AWESOME experience and I am recommending you (yes you, fellow reader) to stay at their place when you're in Legazpi, Albay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fbaillard, Owner at Balay de la Rama, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thanks you very much and having guests like you and your mum has been a pleasure. Since the last time you came, we have been able to add additional plants in the bed & breakfast which makes the place even more homey. We also manage to hang new frames in the several bedrooms. We also improved the balcony on the 2nd floor. We hope to see you again in the future and Thanks a lot for the lovely comments ;-) Balay de la Rama your home away from home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

More than just a B&B, would even prefer this than those 1 to 3 stars hotels in Albay. Rooms were really spacious and clean.

PRO's:
*Spacious Rooms
*Hot & Cold Shower
*Breakfast inclusive
*Near Cagsawa Ruins, Daraga Church Ligñon Hill & Local Market
*Vans/Buses/Jeepneys/Tricycles going to other tourist spots or towns readily available outside
*Jess will suggest an itinerary for FREE (doing the backpackers way) even though they offer package tours
*Staffs are hospitable and helpful in giving directions
*Free coffee & tea for the entire day
*Free Wi-fi

CONs:
*No daily room service, unless you'll request for it (I think)
*No towel rack & hooks in the bathroom. We either hang our towels in the doorknob or will open the cabinet to hang our towels inside
*No reception area, I made a reservation via Facebook but they don't have a log book/sheet for cross-reference (and they can't check it via FB the morning we arrived because there is no electricity that day). Quite shocked upon arrival because it seems like they are not aware that we are coming and we still have to confirm the dates of our stay, how we made the reservation and what type of room we reserved. Same with the day of our check-out, it seems that they still don't know the day of our check-out and how may days & nights we stayed there.

Overall stay was great despite some drawbacks and I will definitely suggest them to everyone who plans to visit Albay. Given the chance to go back in Albay, without any hesitation I will stay here over and over again. There are still room for improvement but never the less we really enjoyed our stay at Balay de la Rama. Wish them all the success and hope to see them again soon :)

Room Tip: Room at the ground floor is huge and near the dining area but you can here the noise outside. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iNIKKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fbaillard, Owner at Balay de la Rama, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thanks a lot for the review. Following on your concerns:
- we will install some racks for the towels in the bathroom.
- For the reception area, we know that this is a draw back and we are planning to install a reception at the lounge area on the 2nd floor.

For the reservation system, a new system has been put in place and that should improve the handling of bookings.

Hope to see you again and happy to hear that you like your stay at Balay de la Rama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We're amazed with great space of the room for 2pax, appreciate the set-up with the big TV and dim light effect. The place is cozy and serene which gave us a nice sleep after a long travel.
Not to go afar, just in the 3rd flr of balay de la Rama you'll see the perfect view of Mt. Mayon. The staff, Jess and the rest of his family were amazing and helpful in giving directions, advice about the best place to visit also where to dine. The breakfast was served on time, the pasta was delicious and even their homemade banana jam.

This placed is very accessible from the tourist attractions like Cagsawa Ruins (jeepney ride-then walk, Ligñon Hill Nature Park (jeepney ride-then walk) and Daraga church which is just a walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loumier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fbaillard, Propriétaire at Balay de la Rama, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you very much, we are happy you loved the banana jam, this is pretty new and we are pleased to hear that the banana jam is tasty! We also would like to thank you for the lovely flower you offer us. Since you left we bought additional flowers which makes the place even nicer than before. We are looking forward to see you again at Balay de la Rama :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legazpi hotels
2.1 mi away
Emerald Boutique Hotel
Emerald Boutique Hotel
#5 of 14 in Legazpi
27 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#2 of 14 in Legazpi
168 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Oriental Legazpi
The Oriental Legazpi
#3 of 14 in Legazpi
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Casablanca Suites
Casablanca Suites
#1 of 14 in Legazpi
87 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel St. Ellis
Hotel St. Ellis
#6 of 14 in Legazpi
169 reviews
2.0 mi away
Balai Tinay Guesthouse
Balai Tinay Guesthouse
#4 of 35 in Legazpi
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balay de la Rama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balay de la Rama

Address: 1542 Banag , Daraga, Legazpi, Luzon 4501, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Albay Province > Legazpi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Legazpi
Price Range: $27 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Balay de la Rama 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Bicolano language, "Balay" means house, and we strive to be just that, your home away from home but with the backyard view of Mayon Volcano, to add a bit of spice to it. Balay de la Rama is a six-room family house, with six spacious rooms available for short-term homestay. Like any provincial home, it has big windows to promote natural ventilation, and indeed, the gentle, or sometimes stalwart breezes are enough to lull you to sleep as you take your afternoon siesta by the wooden sofa, or better yet, on the hammock by the balcony. If by any chance it is summer, and the mango tree is in full bloom, you can spend afternoons picking mango, or if that is too much effort, you can wait for them to fall, so you can eat them with hot bagoong (shrimp paste). If you’d rather read than be hit by falling mangoes, then the owner’s personal collections are free for you to browse. Come dinnertime, you can join the family meal to sample that spicy Bicolano cooking, such as "pinangat," or "ginantaang gulay," or you can request for that poor man’s fare, such as tinapa (smoked fish) or "tuyo" (salted fish), if you suddenly crave for them. We won't force you to eat "balut" (fertilized duck egg), but would love to see your priceless expression as you try. If you came to Bicol to see moody, fiery Mayon, all you need to do is cast a sideways glance by the window, and there it is. But we know you may want to swim with the whale sharks in Donsol, wakeboard in CWC or island-hop in Caramoan, then this is a great jump-off point with easy access to all kinds of transport to your destination. The land at which Balay de la Rama stands has been with the dela Rama family for more than a century. While Balay itself isn't ancient, the warm family spirit and hospitality is. Your Bicolana host is herself an avid backpacker, but knows that indeed, there is no place like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Balay de la Rama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing