We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Balay de la Rama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balay de la Rama
Ranked #1 of 35 Legazpi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very nice place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed there overnight and everything went perfectly well. The location is near the airport (10 minute drive). Location is accessible for tours. You can start off your tour to Cagsawa Ruins, then Mayon Resthouse then back to Legazpi for Lignon Hill. The house has an overlooking view of the volcano. Rooms are big, bed and bathroom is clean (which is very important to us!). Staffs are friendly. I salute Jess, the overall in charge (manager) for being so friendly, accommodating and cheerful. He really take good care of us from the time they check in until the time they leave.
For the future guests, this is one nice place to stay Hope you will treat the rooms as if it was your own, please don't abuse the place so Balay dela Rama can maintain it's cleanliness and maintain its good standards over time.
I wish Balay dela Rama success on their business. More Power!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Balay de la Rama, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thanks for your nice review, indeed we are working hard to make Balay de la Rama "your home away from home". We are continuously improving Balay de la Rama, soon a new restaurant and the refurnishing of the 2nd floor!
Thanks and see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    72
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
45
70
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

A bed & breakfast place with only 6 rooms----clean room,soft bed, very friendly & helpful owners, included breakfast simple but enough, wifi okay

best feature-- Cagsawa Ruins and Daraga Church only 10 mins away by jeepney (P8/pax fare). These places are good sites to see Mt. Mayon. Lignon Hill park is nearby.

Downtown Legazpi City (Embarkadero, etc..) is 20mins away (P9/pax). Donsol is 2 hours away.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back of the property. Rooms fronting the gate are noisy due to jeepneys unloading...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fbaillard, Propriétaire at Balay de la Rama, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thanks for the review, we appreciate that you liked the service in the bed & breakfast. We are hoping to see you again. Take care and see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

I spent one night in this very hotel. The hostess is very kind and helpful. The restaurant is a problem but I did find a market nearby(right near the Mcdonalds) where you can find plenty a lot of local snacks.
The breakfast is good considering the price. Rice, sausage, cucumber, tomato and coffee.
The location is quite close to the Ruins and the Church.
The time I was there was right in the holy week so the post office is closed. I leave actually like 30+ post cards and the lady kindly offered help to mail them.
I hope it is not too late: did I leave enough postage for all of them? Contact me via shangzhi.yue@gmail.com.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanYuenBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fbaillard, Owner at Balay de la Rama, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Hi Shangzhi Yue,
Thanks fo your nice review. We posted your postcards the day. Hope you enjoyed your stay there and as you mentioned the estaurant is a bit a problemnow and after getting the 3rd floor finished, we are working on getting the restaurant nicer... Hope to see you again and see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

What stroke me about Balay de la Rama was its perfect location, just 1 hour flight from Manilla and in the middle of everything you need to see/do in Bicol, like 1 hour drive to whale shark watching or diving, 3 hours to Caramoan islands, 2 hours to the wake-board center and just next to the imposing Mayon volcano !
With the 3rd floor under construction and the coconut farm (which you need to visit) soon to host people, this promising but already very effective guesthouse has all it needs !
I highly recommend it !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cariocanouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fbaillard, Propriétaire at Balay de la Rama, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thanks for your review. Our 3rd floor is about to finish soon. Offical opening should take place on 23d April! And for the coconut farm, I fully agree it is a must do expeience. I hope you had a plescent time in Bicol, with the Mount Mayon, the Whale Shark and Caramoan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Just 15 minutes away from the airport by tricycle and with a backyard view of Mayon Volcano. That's just one of the great things about staying in Balay dela Rama. Add to that the yummy breakfast, hospitality of the staff, and clean and up-to-date accomodations still Filipino-themed. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the bottom floor, big space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandseasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fbaillard, Owner at Balay de la Rama, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thanks Sheila for supporting us, it was good to have you here in Balay de la Rama. We hope to see you again soon for some more karaoke session! All of us were really impressed by your performance... Astonishing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Was there last March 9 - 12, got a deal at agoda.com. For what we paid we definitely got value for our money. Cable TV, hot and cold shower, strong WiFi, breakfast and its near the places you want to go to. Needed some needs, Jess and Jane went out of their way to get it for me. Definitely recommending the place. Tell the trike its in Banyag (if i remembered it right). The sign post is a bit hard too look for.. A huge mango tree is your sign from the road.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank theregoesrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fbaillard, Owner at Balay de la Rama, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thanks a lot for your special comments. The new floor will be finished by about 2 weeks from now and last week-end we offer to our guests the first camping experience in Balay de la Rama. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed 2 days/nights here this month, mainly to see Mayon Volcano in all it's glory & a day trip to see the Butanding (Whale Sharks) in Donsol. Great location for both, and trikes are always available right outside the front gate . his Balay definitely has the typical great Filipino hospitality thanks to Jess and crew, includes great breakfast (poor man's) & amenities. It was raining hard during our first day, so we were able to use the living room with movies, books, etc...out the back is an incredible/unobstructed view of Mayon. I can't wait to visit again, and see the 3rd floor addition.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fbaillard, Owner at Balay de la Rama, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thanks CJ, happy to here that you loved the place. We are trying hardly to improve the service provided to our lovely guests!
A lot of things still to do but we are really trying hard to make Balay de la Rama a wonderful place.
Thanks a lot and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legazpi hotels
1.8 mi away
Casablanca Suites
Casablanca Suites
#5 of 13 in Legazpi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel St. Ellis
Hotel St. Ellis
#9 of 13 in Legazpi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Oriental Legazpi
The Oriental Legazpi
#4 of 13 in Legazpi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#1 of 13 in Legazpi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Piazza Hotel & Convention Center
1.9 mi away
Balai Tinay Guesthouse
Balai Tinay Guesthouse
#4 of 35 in Legazpi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balay de la Rama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balay de la Rama

Property: Balay de la Rama
Address: 1542 Banag , Daraga, Legazpi, Luzon 4501, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Albay Province > Legazpi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Legazpi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Balay de la Rama 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Bicolano language, "Balay" means house, and we strive to be just that, your home away from home but with the backyard view of Mayon Volcano, to add a bit of spice to it. Balay de la Rama is a six-room family house, with six spacious rooms available for short-term homestay. Like any provincial home, it has big windows to promote natural ventilation, and indeed, the gentle, or sometimes stalwart breezes are enough to lull you to sleep as you take your afternoon siesta by the wooden sofa, or better yet, on the hammock by the balcony. If by any chance it is summer, and the mango tree is in full bloom, you can spend afternoons picking mango, or if that is too much effort, you can wait for them to fall, so you can eat them with hot bagoong (shrimp paste). If you’d rather read than be hit by falling mangoes, then the owner’s personal collections are free for you to browse. Come dinnertime, you can join the family meal to sample that spicy Bicolano cooking, such as "pinangat," or "ginantaang gulay," or you can request for that poor man’s fare, such as tinapa (smoked fish) or "tuyo" (salted fish), if you suddenly crave for them. We won't force you to eat "balut" (fertilized duck egg), but would love to see your priceless expression as you try. If you came to Bicol to see moody, fiery Mayon, all you need to do is cast a sideways glance by the window, and there it is. But we know you may want to swim with the whale sharks in Donsol, wakeboard in CWC or island-hop in Caramoan, then this is a great jump-off point with easy access to all kinds of transport to your destination. The land at which Balay de la Rama stands has been with the dela Rama family for more than a century. While Balay itself isn't ancient, the warm family spirit and hospitality is. Your Bicolana host is herself an avid backpacker, but knows that indeed, there is no place like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Balay de la Rama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing