We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Budget Hotel in Legazpi”
Review of Hotel St. Ellis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. Ellis
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Legazpi
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very Nice Budget Hotel in Legazpi”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed here for a night. Everything went well except for the breakfast, which was served in an open area while it was raining hard.

The room we stayed in was a double deluxe and offers a view of the port. Its a bit small but clean, bathroom is above par considering the price. Service is also above par.

You will have to carry though your luggage if your room is located upstairs especially os the bellboy is busy assisting others.

Location-wise this hotel is also strategic if you want to explore the town and embarcadero complex. They also have hotel-airport shuttle. Wifi connection though is not that reliable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinoyMaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    67
    44
    15
    13
See reviews for
47
49
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The hotel is very accessible to malls and churches, presentable and clean but the swimming pool is tiny and food is average. It was unfortunate we did not get a nice view during our stay. I commend their staff though for being polite and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bliss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The lobby staff were very friendly and helpful. Check-in was a nice with refreshing welcome drinks. Air conditioning working properly. The rooms were a little worn, requiring painting. The kids liked the pool. Free airport shuttle service was good. American Express also pleased the method of payment. Pasific Mall and night market were within walking distance of the hotel. Our hotel rooms view of the Mayon volcano was excellent, there was no clouds.

Room Tip: Ask 4. floor room with Mayon volcano view. If you get this room you get also harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auv0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daraga
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I expected the hotel to be much better than what I experienced from its reputation and price. There were no bath towels in the room. When I called housekeeping at 10:30 pm, there was no answer, after several tries I finally called the front desk who was able to contact housekeeping to supply the towels. The glass door going into the shower jammed on the floor so it could not be fully opened, making a tight fit to get in and out of the shower. No clock in the room.
We had made a dinner reservation at the restaurant, but when we came, they trouble finding the reservation and then were not sure when they would be able to accommodate us
On the positive side, the room was comfortable, the staff was very friendly and the buffet breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeGDaraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

we always stay in this hotel hotel every time we visit legazpi city because of it's good location, spacious and clean rooms, comfortable bed and nice pillows.
walking distance to LCC mall and grocery.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowenabtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagayan De Oro
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

For a small province in the Philippines, I would say that St. Ellis exceeded my expectations of a hotel in this part of the country. The rooms are spacious and clean and not stuffy. The beds and pillows are comparable to some of the worldwide hotel chains. A turn-off though are their towels. They are not soft and they look dirty (old dirty white). Breakfast is simple but filing with at least 6 viands to choose from. The spa facilities are modern (for a small province) and clean. The masseuse assigned to me was very good - knowing the right points to press. The area where it is located though is not desirable as it is located in the city streets with no trees or view but buildings.

Room Tip: choose twin instead of queen and request them to join the bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TripTrapped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
155 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

This victorian inspired hotel is at the center of the city.
Free airport transfers can be arranged. Room is clean with airconditioning, hot shower, cable tv and free 2small bottled water everyday. Complimentary coffee is provided. Wifi is not working. Buffet breakfast is served from 6am to 10am. I recommend this hotel and I would like to stay here again the next time I visit the city.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cresil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legazpi hotels
1.4 mi away
The Oriental Legazpi
The Oriental Legazpi
#4 of 14 in Legazpi
454 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#2 of 14 in Legazpi
164 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casablanca Suites
Casablanca Suites
#1 of 14 in Legazpi
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Emerald Boutique Hotel
Emerald Boutique Hotel
#3 of 14 in Legazpi
20 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Piazza Hotel & Convention Center
1.5 mi away
Pepperland Hotel
Pepperland Hotel
#8 of 14 in Legazpi
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Ellis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Ellis

Property: Hotel St. Ellis
Address: Rizal St., cor Gov Forbes St., Legazpi, Luzon 4500, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Albay Province > Legazpi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Legazpi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Ellis 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St. Ellis is superbly situated along Rizal St., it is a short 3 kilometer drive from the airport. It offers rooms completely furnished with a 32-inch LCD television set with satellite cable TV connection, high-speed internet access, NDD/IDD telephone, in-room safe, and an electronic door lock system. Some of its amenities includes Essences Spa, Salon Mye, a fitness centre, and a kiddie activity room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel St. Ellis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing