We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best new Hotel in Legazpi City, Bicol”
Review of Hotel St. Ellis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Ellis
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Legazpi
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel is a model not only for Bicol but the entire Philippines. A quick efficient airport collection, speedy checkin process, friendly smiles and acknowledgement by all staff, a 5 star Hotel experience at a very competitive price. Lets begin. This Hotel is new and part of a redevelopment of Legazpi City in Bicol, the owner has developed a nearbye eco friendly mall and provides free electric transport between the hotel and the mall. At checkin a smiling Lea provided a warm welcome and was great with quick solutions to all requirements. Customer service standards throughout the hotel are a model for the Philippines. The rooms have large screen lcd television, mood lighting, high flow hot water rain showers, the best bed and pillow combination I have experienced in asia. The included breakfast was superb, such variety catering to many tastes and requirements, The hotel has a 5'6" deep pool that is private and superbly clean. The spa on level 2 has great massage combination including reflexolgy, swedish, thai combinations for around 1000 peso for an hour. Secuirity is efficient, laundry quick and well priced. Overall A+

Room Tip: All rooms superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dabster36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 169 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Hotel St Ellis in Legazpi City and enjoyed comparative luxury in this small city. Upon entering the hotel, we were immediately impressed by an elegant un-crowded lobby, spotlessly clean, and with soft piano background music and fresh flowers. Check-in was smooth and porters were efficient.

Our room also had a feel of elegance. It was finished in a nice off white color, had pictures on the wall and a plant in the room. Nice curtains hung on the window. We had a king bed with nice linens and a flat panel TV. The AC was great and distributed air evenly without blowing on you. There was daily maid service and maid turndown service. Our room had a modern bathroom with glass shower and big shower head. There was a useful vanity and sink combination.

All the staff that we encountered were exceptionally polite. English was no problem. The property had wireless internet that worked quite well.

Our room included breakfast which was a small buffet with mix of local and western choices. Omelets were cooked to order. We missed having a selection of breads and yoghurts. The breakfast area was smart looking and very clean.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank djonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Mesmerized... The beauty of Mayon Volcano is readily seen from the conference hall very stress relieving... Rooms are quite "boutique-ish", cozy bed, and very clean--linens to sanitation. Food is just fine but service is a bit slow. Shuttles to / from the airport. WIFI conference room which makes your work easier.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank entengoreng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I have stayed previously in this hotel when it was the La Trinidad some years ago and was looking forward to seeing how the complete and substantial rennovation had gone. By all accounts it was a great job and very well done. The hotel is not large but the lobby is attractive and welcoming. Free shuttles to and from the airport, now served by a much larger number of both airlines and flights from Manila. The rooms are certainly of international standard. The hotel would boast a 4 star rating, maybe close but more like a 3 star plus. Location is everything, near to the new entertainment and shopping complex at the port area ( see my other review!), and local shops and the market. Transport is easy in Legaspi, and of course nothing could be created that could match the Mount Mayon Volcano that dominates the City. A nice buffet breatfast, with some international flavour but mostly local ( by the way of noteworthy quality and taste!) as is the lunch and dinner menu. The hotel restaurant is small, but the food and variety is particularly noteworthy. As is the service and both the friendliness and capability of the staff. Its a great and cheap soujourn from the heat and bussle of Manila for a long weekend or mid-week break.

Room Tip: The hotel is only 6 floors, and I was overlooking the main road. It was quiet enough and there was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank S_J_Whitworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I have always had a good experience staying in Genesis-managed hotels and my weekend at Hotel St. Ellis was no exception. It was my first time to stay at this hotel and I find it comfortable and charming. I loved the hotel's modern and pretty interiors. The bed was huge and comfy. My husband and I stayed at a De Luxe room at the 3rd floor and it was very spacious, tastefully decorated, clean and cozy. Our room was facing the street yet we were not bothered by the noise outside. The complimentary pili nuts and native coin purse was also a nice touch. Breakfast service was quite good. They didn't have a buffet set up, probably because there weren't that many guests that time, but nonetheless, the selections available were delicious and served in satisfying portions. I learned that they can arrange day tours to Misibis Bay. The hotel also had a good location - just a very short tricycle ride to Embarcadero de Legazpi. I also find the hotel-airport shuttle very convenient. The downside is probably having just 1 lift servicing all floors. I can imagine the elevator waiting time to be a hassle when the hotel is fully booked.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank periwinkle124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My family and I stayed there for two nights and I think it was all that I would want to spend in the hotel. The receptionist was friendly and really tried her best to answer my queries. I pretended to be a difficult customer and asked a lot of questions -- I think the management can provide more training to ensure that customers get enticed to return (I'm a local and I do want to help the industry). Overall the front desk was friendly, the doorman was helpful (though a bit slow).

It used to be an old hotel and they did quite a good job in refurbishing and remodelling the rooms and the lobby. The roms are ok and the bed was nice. However, the location (along a busy street) makes it difficult for those who want to have a really quiet stay. Do request for a room at the back.

Breakfast was unimpressive and I was told that the reason was because of the low occupancy rate at that time. Thus, the management does not provide the staple breakfast buffet. They only provide buffet if there are at least a 20-room occupancy rate (?) To me this was a turn-off.

Over-all, however, I'd say that I'd go back to the hotel if only to feel the local hospitality that they give to customers.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rower98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The St Ellis is an older establishment which is literally in the middle of a major street, across from an Isuzu dealership. Its about .5km from the Legazpi SM Mall area, don't bother with a tricycle unless its raining, turn right outside the door and walk down to it. Its just a couple minutes away.

Despite its central location, the rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The rooms are insulated enough to dampen the street noise considerably. The showers are showing a bit of age around the seals (a little mold & mildew) but work well and have plenty of water pressure. The staff is friendly, the pool was a nice welcome. (its on the 2nd floor and very private) As another reviewer pointed out, there is only one elevator and its microscopic. 5 of us without bags were at the posted weight limit(!) and frequently it was off and we had to find someone to turn it back on.

There is a very small-selection buffet for the free breakfast and while a lot of things are not "out" but the staff is more than happy to fetch them for you. Hardboiled eggs for example (which my kids always seemed to want) were no problems.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wylekyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legazpi hotels
1.4 mi away
The Oriental Legazpi
The Oriental Legazpi
#3 of 14 in Legazpi
485 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#2 of 14 in Legazpi
168 reviews
1.5 mi away
Emerald Boutique Hotel
Emerald Boutique Hotel
#5 of 14 in Legazpi
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Casablanca Suites
Casablanca Suites
#1 of 14 in Legazpi
87 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Piazza Hotel & Convention Center
1.5 mi away
Pepperland Hotel
Pepperland Hotel
#9 of 14 in Legazpi
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Ellis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Ellis

Address: Rizal St., cor Gov Forbes St., Legazpi, Luzon 4500, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Albay Province > Legazpi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Legazpi
Price Range: $48 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Ellis 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St. Ellis is superbly situated along Rizal St., it is a short 3 kilometer drive from the airport. It offers rooms completely furnished with a 32-inch LCD television set with satellite cable TV connection, high-speed internet access, NDD/IDD telephone, in-room safe, and an electronic door lock system. Some of its amenities includes Essences Spa, Salon Mye, a fitness centre, and a kiddie activity room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel St. Ellis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing