We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Climbed to the summit spring 2013, prior to explosion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayon Volcano

Mayon Volcano
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Legazpi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Climbed to the summit spring 2013, prior to explosion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I went to The Philippines, for my first trip out of Canada, with the sole purpose of climbing this mountain. I suppose the details of the climb are somewhat irrelevant now, as you can't climb it any more... It took 14 hours to reach the summit and get back down to Camp 1. We left at 4 AM.. Watched the sunrise at camp 2 a couple hours later.

I stayed in Legaspi, one of the nicest towns I was in, during my time in the country. There is lots to see and do, without climbing to the summit. I highly suggest going to check out the magnificent view of this volcano.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SimonBesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    129
    15
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
“splendid work-of-art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I strongly agree this is one of the top tourist attractions located in the Philippines because of its perfectly coned shape best seen in the early morning. Even though afraid to go that it might erupt -- (laughing).. Whats amazing is the ride on an ATV. You will see the path created by lava stone. From there, you will see the majestic view of Albay Gulf. Me and my friends were very happy with this vacation.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jhenrich31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legazpi, Philippines
Level Contributor
215 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“World's perfect Cone!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

How could anyone miss this lovely and magnificent sight?? From the time you land at the Legaspi Airport, you will be welcomed by the beautiful and majestic view of the volcano!!
Truly a sight to behold.
On a clear day, (meaning sunny and no clouds around the volcano), you will be in awe and stare at this beautiful sight.
There are times when I lost words on how to describe the volcano. Its perfect cone allures everyone with its beauty and the majestic appeal of her grace would make anyone bow before her. A queen as they say who watches the people of Albay.
Iam proud, truly proud to live in this wonderful place Legaspi City!!
Dagos po kamo! (Welcome!!)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazingly breathtaking gift of Nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Though this volcano has not maintained its perfect cone, it still has a majestic and awesome scenic spot to behold no volcano in the world can compare. Take a peek of it at Lignon Hill where you could have the best view of it. If you're taking a trip via plane from Manila ten minutes before landing Legaspi airport you can witness a breathtaking view of it right before your eyes.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JOVITO T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Level Contributor
707 reviews
213 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“The perfect Volcano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Mayon volcano is a live volcano that can be seen in every direction, when you visit Legaspi and its neighboring town in Albay. In most instance you will see cloud surrounding its top. But on early morning and sometimes, you will be fortunate to see its perfect cone. Thjis volcano is very active and has erupted several times already. In nearby mount Linon, you can see its sight unobstructed. You can also take an ATV ride through a road that had a path created by lava stone when its erupted before. Hotels in Legaspi is also adequate.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jdchua521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayon Volcano also viewed

Banaue, Ifugao Province
Legazpi, Albay Province
 
Legazpi, Albay Province
Banaue, Ifugao Province
 

Been to Mayon Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing