We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contrary to most reviews, this place rocks!”
Review of Gasthof of Albay

Gasthof of Albay
Ranked #68 of 87 Restaurants in Legazpi
Restaurant details
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Contrary to most reviews, this place rocks!”
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Good service, quick turnaround, tender succulent baby back ribs. Must try!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arnold Cesar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pressbaum, Austria
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Make no mistake - this place is not owned/managed by Germans anymore”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Normally I only post positive reviews, as it is normal that things can go wrong. However, it has to be mentinoned how wrong things did go wrong when we had dinner (group of eight) on April 4, 2012.

The menu already suggested that there is trouble ahead. Far too long and too diverse - no kitchen of a small restaurant can manage. The spelling of the German dishes made it quite clear that there was no German around for a long time.
But, we did not leave and were brave and ordered. After two (2!!!!) hours we got our main courses and non of them had anything to do with European food. How sad.
Of course we were stupid - if you are in Bicol go and eat and the local food and don't dream about international food!
And do not believe that you can have a reasonably priced bottle of wine here - for fairly average stuff you would pay 2000 ++ and therfore we brought our own wine and paid the corkage.
All in all, you can do MUCH better in Legazpi!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rolofromaustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food and more!”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Great place to satisfy your travel hunger pangs! Great food, very friendly service and a great place to learn a word or two of the Bicolano dialect and more.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank 471BOVIC471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legazpi
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Long wait”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

So many food choices listed on the menu but it took almost an hour of waiting....until the celebrant's personal order was not served....Nice place though.

Helpful?
Thank betchay29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Deutschland im Luzon?”
Reviewed August 28, 2008

I was pretty tired the day we had lunch at the Gasthof, but I remember I shared a sausage sub with my son and had a glass of iced tea. The sub was hot and spicy, very tasty. The tea was great, not an ordinary glass of iced tea, but I can't really describe what made it taste so good. The Gasthof is decorated in a stylized German manner. All in all, it was an enjoyable lunch, and I'd eat there again.

Helpful?
2 Thank kboyken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthof of Albay also viewed

Legazpi, Albay Province
Legazpi, Albay Province
 
Legazpi, Albay Province
Legazpi, Albay Province
 
Legazpi, Albay Province
Legazpi, Albay Province
 

Been to Gasthof of Albay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing