We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Discovery Country Suites
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Tagaytay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2008

My husband and I had to stay over the weekend in Tagaytay to attend a wedding. We booked the Andalucia Room for 2 nights and had a wonderful stay!
The hotel's restaurant, Verbena, was superb and cozy. Food was delicious especially breakfast! The hotel's staff were very friendly and attentive.
The view of the Taal lake and the Taal volcano from our room reminded us so much of our dating days when we would spend our Saturday afternoons in Tagaytay.
We definitely will be coming back there and next time, we will try the Nantucket room.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank AuroraMelvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 212 of 212 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2007

We stayed for 5 days at this lovely small hotel with a spectacular view and large, well appointed rooms. Despite the fact that we were there in the rainy seasons, most days afforded a spectacular view from the hillside of lake Taal and the volcanic islands. The staff could not do enough. Ask for the Oxford room which is very nice, has two lounge chairs, a fireplace (not too sure why except for ambience) and wifi in the room/ The latter is not intended but the room is well placed to pick it up. Let us skype home to the kids. Breakfasts were very good. When we tired of eggs and garlic rice, pancakes etc, we asked for oatmeal.. It appeared the next day. Only down side is the noise from the street but is drowned out by the AC. Get the massage, she has hands of iron and a good repetoire. The fresh fruit and juice in the morning is substantial local and flavourful. Ask for Alex to be your driver. He is local, very pleasant and polite and not a bad driver for the Philippines. Vans were large, clean and great AC. One night he took 14 from our party back to their hotel, no extra charge. We paid 2500P per day. A bargain. See Batangas and go on a boat in the S China sea if you are adventurous. The trip up the volcano is about the journey, not the destination. Be generous and buy the stuff they want to sell you!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank psychlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2007

...Great place...It doesnt come CHEAP, but its highly recommended...We stayed at the Oxford room (the biggest among 7 suites) . It's a real country lodging..loved the architecture and individual interior designs of every room..Consider it as the Posh part of Tagaytay...At first, by looking from the outside, you will not think of it as above average accomodation, but the minute you step in it through double doors...i said gosh...I Loved the Beams..then, oh! I love the fire place..upstairs...more Beams...loved it!!..Then the bedroom, then the massive bath room..i said to myself..this is life, I've never appreciated Philippines as i did now!!!
By the way, i was there with my other half, he's Irish and he was impressed too!!...also, Verbana restaurant (same location) have a very, very impressive menu (specially for a nice romantic dinner!!)so check out ---...and see for yourself...

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tet&Fin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2006

After spending a positively memorable wedding anniversary at the Discovery Suites in Pasig City, Philippines, I opted to select another Discovery property for the wedding anniversary the year after that, and I selected - as a surprise for my wife - Discovery Country Suites in Tagaytay.

For those unfamiliar with Tagaytay, this city is an absolutely lovely place to be. It is famous for its pleasing cold weather (cold, of course, in Philippine terms, is more than comfortable for international visitors more used to the biting cold of the West), its natural resources and parks, and a spectacular view of the active Taal Volcano.

After reviewing the photographs and room write-ups on their official website, I contacted the property directly and selected the Ceylon Room. One of only seven rooms at this extremely private property (it is more like a comfortable, large lodge than a hotel per se, and with only seven rooms, it is a great place to avoid the riffraff that come with larger properties), the Ceylon Room is located on the hotel's garden level, and has a private entrance. It is the room closest to an outdoor jacuzzi and dining area.

The Ceylon room was comfortable and cozy in its yellow and orange tones. A king-sized bed with smooth beddings, a divan (did I say that right?) beside the bed, a large T&B, and a TV with DVD player added to the many things we could do at the Country Suites. I really can't describe the Ceylon Room better than cozy; it was a private getaway, after all, and we felt like we were the only two people in the world. It was a lovely room.

There were little culinary niceties that added to our enjoyment. For instance, in the afternoon, we were served 'afternoon tea,' which was a selection of cheeses to go with two glasses of wine. In the evening, after a dip in the jacuzzi that positively steamed in the crisp Tagaytay air, we were given warm milk and Christmas-themed cookies for a nightcap. The room came with an American breakfast, if I remember correctly, that was delightful and filling.

The services and perks that we got at the Discovery Country Suites are very similar to the Discovery Suites in Manila. At the Discovery Suites in Manila, we were upsized for free when they learned it was our anniversary; here, the staff transferred the WIFI box - or whatever you call it - to our room because we wanted the free Internet access they offered but couldn't tap into because the Ceylon is precisely that - private and separate from the rest of the hotel). Almost all the staff at the Country Suites knew our names, and we had the option of borrowing DVDs, VCDs, books, or board games from their (admittedly sparse) library for use either in our room or a large communal area.

As a reminder of our more-than-pleasant stay, we opted to purchase ceramic wall decor from their wonderfully quaint gift shop right beside the welcoming desk.

What we liked most about the Discovery Suites in Manila, we received in spades at the Discovery Country Suites. If you're looking for a private getaway in the Philippines in a place with great weather and a host of things to do without leaving the hotel, the Deens wholeheartedly recommend Discovery Country Suites.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank TheDeensOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2006

My husband and I had just gotten back from an overnight affair at the Country Suites Discovery Tagaytay. The place is awesome! Everything about it speaks of class. High-class. We stayed at their biggest room called Oxford, which is about 73 sqm of space (yes, a lot of space), and had a grand time.

The room had a spectacular view. There was a huge bed, and a huge sitting area with two couches facing each other in front of a fireplace (fireplaces are always good). They have all the amenities you could think of and more, like milk and cookies at 9PM, and wine and cheese served when you want it (part of the package I believe). The room had a desk (perfect for those who can't help but bring some work even while vacationing), a 29-inch cable TV, and a fridge. There is airconditioning, which is really optional since Tagaytay's weather is always cool, to the point of being foggy at times, especially when it's raining (so romantic!). The room had huge beams that look sturdy and classy, and the lighting is very dramatic.

Now here's the best part. Oxford had a huge and tasteful bathroom. Two people can easily fit in the tub which had a view of some trees and grass and everything green and the highway(the suites is by the highway but had good parking space). The closets are roomy. There was provision for ironing clothes, and you can have your shoes polished for free. There is a digital safe and a hair dryer. Of course, the wash basins and toilets are his and hers. Oh and I love the thick white towels! They felt so warm on the body. Their basket of toiletry goodies even had a razor and loofah sponge, stuff you won't easily find in other hotels. Their room slippers are much thicker than the almost-paper-like slippers from other hotels. I wasn't too happy with the bath robe, though, but that's just a small thing compared to the many great things that they offer.

Country Suites Discovery Tagaytay has its own restaurant called Verbena. Man, their menu is impressive! While waiting for dinner to be served, my husband went to the beautiful white kitchen to chat with the staff, who, by the way, all speak English and very fluently at that! Even the waiter who served us was impressive at how thoroughly he knew the menu and how he explained them in English. =) I had lamb baby back ribs with corn-and-cheese fries called polenta. Yummy! Water was served in blown-glass (i'm not sure how to put that. hehe). Verbena Restaurant is definitely romantic. In fact, if you are thinking twice about staying there because indeed their rates are, whew!... you can just take your loved one to dinner there. The ambience is great and you will be taken cared of very well.

Country Suites Discovery Tagaytay, we were told, is family-owned. It has about only 7 or 8 rooms, so the service you get is really personalized. Each room has a theme, one Japanese, one Thai, etc. Oxford, the room we stayed in, is very country. The rooms (I think there were three) on the lower floors may not have as spectacular a view as ours, but they open up to a beautiful garden and there is a heated pool (not too big but good enough to relax in).

I really had a wonderful time at Country Suites. It is now officially one of my favorites. I have to warn you though, other reviews you might have read about it are true, they are pricey. Oxford cost PhP15,000 (about USD285 to USD290) a night. Other rooms cost PhP10,000 (about USD190) and PhP11,000 (about USD210). We had stayed at the Westin before and I think it only cost us about PhP7,000 (about USD135) a night. So Country Suites is really way up there. But man, for all the class and service you get, I say it's worth it.

If you're from Country Suites and reading this, we are the Marquez's. Thanks for everything. =)

10  Thank TubOfRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisIgnacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Country Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
3.2 mi away
Taal Vista Hotel
Taal Vista Hotel
#5 of 27 in Tagaytay
1,215 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
#15 of 27 in Tagaytay
318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anya Resort Tagaytay
Anya Resort Tagaytay
#7 of 27 in Tagaytay
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
1.8 mi away
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
#13 of 27 in Tagaytay
184 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kimberly
Hotel Kimberly
#3 of 27 in Tagaytay
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Country Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Country Suites

Address: 300 Calamba Road | San Jose, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tagaytay
#3 Family Hotel in Tagaytay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tagaytay
Price Range: $145 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Country Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Country Suites offers a relaxing respite from city life. The experience begins with a scenic drive along a wide open space, lush greenery, vast flower fields and pineapple plantations. Your journey ends with a panoramic vista of a majestic lake and a volcano. Luxurious suites, delectable country cuisine from the Miele Guide rated Restaurant Verbena, exquisite wines and cheese at sundown and warm fireside chats make your Tagaytay experience simply unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Discovery Country Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Country Hotel Tagaytay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing