We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best Tagaytay trip we took by far”
Review of Taal Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taal Vista Hotel
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Tagaytay
Reviewed August 2, 2010

It was our family's first time to spend overnight in Tagaytay city and the hotel surely made it all worth the while. Magical view of the volcano, picture perfect cloud formations and a Birdseye of the nearby provinces are just few of the things that will take your breath away. It made us feel like we've stayed for a three day relaxation.

We stayed at the new building of the hotel so we were able to enjoy world-class accommodation at the new rooms. Although the hotel has a hideous lift, it's compact three-storey structure made it manageable.

We'll definitely go back and stay longer next time. :)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExperienceEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,103 - 1,109 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2010

There are now questions anymore with the beauty of this hotel. Hotel Vista has been known for its class because it is pricy. But hear me out, for those who want to experience 5 star accommodation and dining - make sure you have your BDO Credit Card and/or SM Advantage Card. This is because they offer their deluxe rooms which are would be enough for 2 in very affordable price of 3800.00 PHP only during off peak season and regular weekends (just m ake sure to call their office in Manila first). Rooms are really big with the view of the Taal lake - it's really beauty from the top.
Buffet breakfast was really good and plus it is already included in 3800.00 PHP. I really recomment travelers and leisure hunters out there to avail this promo. It is all worth it. Besides, Tagaytay is most enjoyed when it is not peak season so you can really enjoy the nice weather, nice dining and the calm feeling it could bring.

You may want to visit my profile to see other reviews on places in Tagaytay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imabackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Stayed at the Taal Vista hotel for 3 nights. The hotel was about 2 - 2 1/2 hours from Manila, timings depend on the traffic conditions. It is located just off the highway, and comprises two wings - the newer wing, somewhat distant from the main building and the older wing, nearer the pool, spa and gym.
The main attraction of the hotel (a renovated building displaying some traces of it's 1960's heritage) is the view - simply a panoramic vista of the Taal lake. The restaurant (and it's attached outdoor seating area) shares this view.
The newer wing definately has rooms with a breathtaking view. I can't comment on the older wing, as I didn't stay there. The older wing has proximity to the (rather small and basic) gym, and the (small and limited) pool. Rooms in the new wing were comfortable, if non-descript. There was a balcony with supplied chairs and table, free internet, coffee and tea making facilities and an electronic safe. Cable television on a LCD screen was also available, with an excellent array of local and international channels. The rooms suffered a bit from noise - you could certainly hear the plumbing noises from adjoining rooms. Rooms were a bit dark - with limited lighting for bedside readers!
Food choice in the restaurant was limited - there is only one main restaurant area. Morning buffets were uninspiring but perfectly adequate. Service was generally warm and friendly. The spa was tucked away in the old wing - unpromising entrance, but relatively pleasant rooms once inside.

Likes: The view! Service.
Dislikes: Functional rooms with relatively poor soundproofing. Uninspiring food.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mostlyharmless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Stayed for a weekend in May at this hotel and was nicely impressed with the renovation. The staff was very friendly and helpful and also very quick to respond to requests (e.g. bucket of ice, golf cart to take my disabled mom to the main lobby). They also had Sunday mass at the hotel which made it so convenient. The breakfast buffet was really good although they should make sure the line goes fairly quickly and no one jumps the line.

I would stay again here and will not hesitate to recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MUD143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Taal Vista Lodge was one of those places you pass by to see Taal Volcano, a stop-over before heading home and take snapshots of you and your family with the picturesque Taal Volcano behind you.
But when we had an office team building nearby did I see that the hotel was renovated and now “privatized” in a good way. The hotel is now a hotel no longer a mines view feels to it.
We checked in and tried the Superior room, since we were a little early before check-in we expected to wait long, my companions were full from the trip and wanted to get in any room. So we agreed to get any room that is available to earliest. To my amazement 10 minutes after a room is available. We requested an extra bed and they said this was already set. Wow – it was faster than expected.
However, we got a room that is smoking allowed, I thought these rooms were already extinct. But the front desk clerk said we can call up and he will give us a room if the smell was intolerable.
We expected for the worst – since this was a renovated hotel – we expected a small room like the last hotel we stayed on for the summer. We expected an old, smelly, out-of-date hotel room.
I stand corrected; the room was bigger than expected around 20 x 15 as big as a studio type apartment. Bathroom was clean, well lit and spacious, cabinets huge and ample. I am a real heavy packer and I only used 7 of the 15 cabinets and biňns. The design is modern – beds and covers were fresh. TV has several channels.
And the view of the Taal Volcano – priceless.
Food is excellent. We met and talked with Assistant Chef William and met their Head Chef, a previous hed Chef of Malacaňang.
Amenities were good.
A spruced up pool with towels available,
A gym,
A kids place where kids can play,
A ridge café where I can eat my snack and still watch the kids
A spa
Several Function Rooms
For teens a Starbucks is nearby.
Overall a SUPERB hotel to relax.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2Viaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

the hotel was quite good, and including the scenery there

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank SohanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We have been staying at Taal Vista for 2 to 3 times a year every year since 2004 usually Christmas and Holy Week break. This hotel is our family's favorite having tried out other hotels in the area that did not quite lived up to the hotel standard of Taal Vista in terms of comfort but the restaurant is another thing altogether. Rooms are the best in the area for the hotel category. Try to ask for rooms in the new wing of the hotel, the view is better compared to the old wing. Bathrooms are excellent. Beds, until the last time I stayed are still comfortable and cozy. Other amenities are standard and at par with the rest of the best. The Ylang Ylang Spa is a must try. Staff are friendly and helpful. Security is no a problem. The view of Taal volcano and lake is needless to day, spectacular. Over all , in my opinion, Taal Vista is still the place to stay when in Tagaytay.

Going to the restaurant of the hotel. Quality of food served did deteriorate a bit since 2006. From 2004 to 2005, the head chef was an Englishman that made sure he served the best. We were lucky to meet him on 2 occasions that we dined at the restaurant and he even stayed and chatted with us and asked about the food that they served. A friend's wedding was held there and the wedding dinner was one of the best from the soups and salad to the main course and up to dessert. After his stint, we did dines a few times and noticed that the food quality did suffered. And we never, till this date, dined there again. Maybe it is time to try it out again?

Stay in the hotel but eat out and try places like Bag of Beans and the every reliable (and expensive Josephine's) maybe Leslis's too. Sonya's garden resto for a different feel but make sure to call and make reservations.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grouchalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
#15 of 27 in Tagaytay
311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
#17 of 27 in Tagaytay
330 reviews
4.7 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 27 in Tagaytay
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
1.9 mi away
Hotel Kimberly
Hotel Kimberly
#2 of 27 in Tagaytay
549 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
#11 of 27 in Tagaytay
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taal Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taal Vista Hotel

Address: 60 Aguinaldo Highway, Km, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tagaytay
#3 Spa Hotel in Tagaytay
#4 Family Hotel in Tagaytay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tagaytay
Price Range: $92 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taal Vista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views, crisp cool mountain air, lush flora and quaint nooks all come together at the new Taal Vista Hotel, Tagaytay City - the country's favorite destination. Taal Vista Hotel, is perched on a 700 meter high ridge that has the best view of the majestic Taal Volcano and its surrounding Taal Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taal Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taal Vista Hotel Tagaytay
Hotel Taal Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing