We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taal Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Taal Vista Hotel
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Tagaytay
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and has amazing views of the Volcano. It is built to Western standards.
The staff could however be friendlier and more smiling - especially in the restaurant, where besides the lack of smile, the service is VERY slow, and they forget dishes that you ordered.
The rooms are nice and clean (cheap too). Unlike most hotels in Asia, they do not have any hose in the toilets, but provide toilet paper (perhaps too look more occidental); ironically the toilet paper which is here to look "posh", is of very poor and cheap quality.
The spa is very good but expensive: you can have as good a service in town for 20% of their price.
The food is very good.
The pool is nice for the kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    425
    189
    65
    40
See reviews for
434
251
25
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel has a magnificent view of the Taal lake and volcano (inactive when I was there, but don't bet on it!). Service was efficient and polite, although food quality could be improved. My room was fairly basic, and looked out onto houses next door - but everything in it worked. Tagaytay is not far from Manila - but count on plenty of time because much of it is by narrow road with plenty of traffic! One aspect of the hotel that is very pleasant are the evening cool breezes that come off the lake up to the ridge! It is certainly a romantic spot, and unique. If you are planning to see more of the Phiippines than Manila, this is worth stopping at! I didn't try the pools but they looked fairly standard and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

The view of the lake and volcano from the balcony of our room and several vantage points was quite spectacular. The grounds were spacious and well-kept. The staff were helpful and friendly. All in all it was a very peaceful spot.

The hotel is several kms away from the centre of Tagaytay. Transport options are limited without your own vehicle. We were able to catch jeepneys and tricycles in the day time to various tourist spots but did not want to do this at night.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

My family spent Christmas 2012 in this hotel. It's a great place to stay where you can feel the cold air similar to summer in Baguio. Near enough from Manila & easy driving thru good roads via Sta.Rosa-Tagaytay Highway. We booked 2 Rooms thru SM advantage and got discounted rooms. Rooms are clean with usual amenities--except no bathtub. They offer Christmas buffet dinner but book ahead of time because the place gets pretty crowded. We decided to skip the buffet dinner and just ordered ala carte. They accommodated our request. Ordered the lava cake...very rich & yummy. My daughters were so happy with this dessert. They offer Catholic Mass service on December 25th and this was very convenient for us. We had buffet breakfast at the patio & enjoyed the awesome view of Taal lake over traditional Filipino breakfast of danggit, fried rice & egg but the breakfast buffet is extensive...bread station with several types of bread, fresh fruits, egg station, soup, and other international cuisine. They have 2 wings...better choose the newer one because rooms are better, with a branch of Kultura-SMs filipino shop. great for buying pasalubong. Downside -pool is not heated & in another part of the property, need vehicle to get to places outside the hotel & nearest grocery is a ride away. No shopping mall nearby. Greatest asset is the view of Taal.

Room Tip: Book early to enjoy the discounted rate from SM advantage card, choose the newer wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karrie_b888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a first class hotel in every way. If you can afford it, or can get a special deal, I would recommend this hotel as first choice in Tagaytay. It has the best views from Tagaytay ridge of the lake and volcanic mountains from the restaurant and at viewing points. The view is spectacular. The buffet breakfast is excellent and there are buffets for the other meals also. Weekends are best avoided if you want to swim in the pool. It was packed with day trippers. The staff are courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: If you can afford it the best rooms are the ones with a view of Taal Lake. Otherwise choose a room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffreyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. I was actually really impressed with the courteous staff and the overall appearence of the hotel. The only thing I found to be a bit of a hassle is the fact that the lobby and guest rooms are two completely separate buildings. I guess this is okay if you do not want to be a part of the same building and are looking to avoid some of the noise. We checked-in a day earlier than our reservation, and the staff helped us to change our reservation so we would not be charged for the extra night. When we arrived, the room had two single beds and we wanted one king, so the front desk had maintenance change the bed out and offered us free drinks while we waited. All in all I was very satisfied with our stay here and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend get away from April 14-16. We are not that well-off to have our own car so we went there via public transportation. The hotel is along the main road but if your travelling via public transpo, the location is not that convenient.

The hotel lobby is very home-y and the hotel staff is very courteous and helpful to our every need. We did not get the chance to try out their food but we did taste some of the cakes they are offering. The Dulce de Leche cake is to-die-for! If you're looking for a sugar-rush experience, then this desert is highly recommended! We also tried both the strawberry shortcake and the mango cake. Both are good tasting as well.

The room we stayed in is a Deluxe Mountain View. The room is "very elegant" (quoting my partner's own word) as compared to other hotels we stayed in. I tried to have it upgraded to a Lake View room but they will charge as an additional 1500php/night so I decided not to. The a/c is at its lowest temp and fastest fan speed but I find it lacking power to keep our room cold enough for a very hot summer day.

Going to all the Tagaytay attractions and restaurants from Taal Vista is piece of cake IF you happen to have your own car. But if you're like us, jeepneys passing Taal Vista is your only way of transpo (take note: Jeepneys do not pass by this road that often, especially during the night). A tricycle will charge you 80php from Olivares to Taal Vista.

McDonalds is just across the road If your craving for that hot and crispy french fries. But other than McDo, no fastfood is near the hotel so might as well try the food offered in the hotel restaurant.

The location of Taal Vista is very near the Sky Ranch! You can even walk from the hotel to the amusement park (if you're a walking enthusiast). 500m difference if Im not mistaken.

Overall, I like Taal Vista Hotel. And if I come back to stay here, I'll make sure I'll bring my own car! ^^

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jasper C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Kimberly
Hotel Kimberly
#2 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
4.5 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
5.3 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#4 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
#9 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tagaytay Country Hotel
Tagaytay Country Hotel
#16 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.6 mi away
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
#12 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taal Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taal Vista Hotel

Property: Taal Vista Hotel
Address: 60 Aguinaldo Highway, Km, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tagaytay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tagaytay
#4 Spa Hotel in Tagaytay
#4 Family Hotel in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taal Vista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views, crisp cool mountain air, lush flora and quaint nooks all come together at the new Taal Vista Hotel, Tagaytay City - the country's favorite destination. Taal Vista Hotel, is perched on a 700 meter high ridge that has the best view of the majestic Taal Volcano and its surrounding Taal Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Taal Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taal Vista Hotel Tagaytay
Hotel Taal Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing