We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disorganized, overpriced, but with great view”
Review of Taal Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taal Vista Hotel
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Tagaytay
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disorganized, overpriced, but with great view”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Very disorganized service - missed my car booking (to airport) TWICE on same day, housecleaning made my room at 5.15pm, morning calls were basically 3 rings and then hung up, when I passed to staff a set of keys left in safe by previous guest the staff took it without even asking me which room, when I asked concierge to help me call up a spa he asked me to pay for it as an external call (I was like, "seriously? Are you kidding me??!" So he didn't charge me and tried to help...... Food was horrible and overpriced, even my fresh coconut arrived 30 mins after order and was warm and sour.
My bed linen has some blood stains. Shower was really crap (suddenly there was no water halfway), air vent next to aircon was noisy and cold (it wasn't part of aircon, could not turn off). Already I was in new wing.
Only great thing was that outside restaurant there is nice view of volcano.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tangmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    455
    199
    68
    42
See reviews for
470
263
25
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

A great two night stay at the beginning of our trip started well with an early check in (7am in fact ) with no extra charge. The location and the grounds - lovely lawn dand balcony overlooking the lake and volcano - are definitely the selling point of this hotel. Went room only and although pricey, we were well looked after and really able to relax. Ate dinner at the restaurant which was okay, used the gym - small but a fair bit of equipment, however too cold to go in the pool and didn't take up their overpriced tours or transport. The staff were very helpful once they realised we didn't want to pay for tours but do it independently. The shower was needin attention, hot water but pressure and focus bad, flooded a little and the room could have had better heating rather than ac - minor points compared to the positives....would return again if we were back in the area.

Room Tip: Lake View would have been nice but pricey - don't be confused by lake wing - doesn't get you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianinsaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed in Taal Vista for one night to attend a wedding of a friend. It's a beautiful hotel but lacking a salon and valet services. When asked to wait for our room, we were given welcome drinks and Santa entertained my toddler. The room was good (lake wing) but you can hear everything going on outside and upstairs! The bathroom has no door so you can hear the other person taking a bath, etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenOfTroy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dasmarinas City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I love this hotel very much ... once in a while we came here with my husband to have a weekend date... its so nice to stay in there lobby while having coffee or just indulge in their very sweet chocolate cake... whats best in this hotel sometimes they have a promo , if you are an SM Advantage Card holder you can have a 10% discount in food and beverage. If you want a full view of Taal Volcano ... this is the place where you can get a picture perfect shot!!!! ... the service is superb ... the breakfast is so good... the amenities is excellent ...When heading to Tagaytay .... Taal Vista Hotel is the place to be!!!

Room Tip: Get a room in there new renovated wing ... its more spacious and modern !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maezen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
537 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hotel boasts the best view and the most beautiful venue in the area. The attraction is the view of an active volcano, Taal. The hotel has a contemporary, topical decor. Its perfect for weddings, special events, and seminars. We saw 2 brides today. Its also perfect for a serene weekend. Its quiet and peaceful. Rooms are pricey and start at X00 pesos ($200) per night and up. Its a retreat away from the crowds and hesat of Manila.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrKatieRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

- Totally overpriced: true, the view is amazing from the hotel and from some rooms, but it does not justify to pay twice the price of a 5 star hotel in Manila.

- For such a price, the service should at least be impeccable. But the towels were not changed in two days, and they had even let them lie on the floor. Besides, on the second day we did not have hot water in the shower.

- I had dinner at the restaurant once, took a fish, and spent the whole night vomiting. I hold the hotel responsible for serving tainted food. It took me two days to recover and I could not go see the volcano.

- They charge you indecent price for every additional service: they proposed us a shuttle to go to Manila for 4000PHP (~80€), when it actually costed us 97PHP by bus. They propose you a tour to the volcano the minute you enter the hotel for 3700PHP when again it costs almost nothing when you use local guides.

In the end, it was extremely disappointing and I wish someone inspected their kitchen.

Room Tip: Best rooms are definitely those with a view on the lake. You actually get a balcony which is night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coralie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night to attend a function. Taal Vista is a large property and has a very large frontage view of the crater lake with magnificent views. The Hotel has ample parking and has gone through major renovations a few years ago ago thus rooms have a modern touch. We stayed in the newer lakeview wing. Rooms are spacious and beds are very comfortable. The bathroom setup is awkward though as it has no door to separate it from the rest of the room. The toilet cubicle only has a glass swing door that does not fully extend from floor to ceiling. This is fine for couples or family members but could lead to embarrassing moments if your sharing a room with a colleague. The buffet breakfast spread is somewhat limited but tasty.

Overall I was happy with my stay here. Prices are a bit high but Tagaytay has become overpriced in general over the last couple of years. I would recommend that visitors avoid coming to Tagaytay on long weekends or holidays. Due to its proximity to Metro Manila, many city folk visit this place for a short vacation which drives up prices and leads to traffic jams on the road. Weekday visits will definitely be much more relaxing.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_MNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Kimberly
Hotel Kimberly
#2 of 26 in Tagaytay
518 reviews
4.7 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 26 in Tagaytay
369 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
#10 of 26 in Tagaytay
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
2.5 mi away
Tagaytay Country Hotel
Tagaytay Country Hotel
#16 of 26 in Tagaytay
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
#14 of 26 in Tagaytay
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taal Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taal Vista Hotel

Property: Taal Vista Hotel
Address: 60 Aguinaldo Highway, Km, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tagaytay
#3 Spa Hotel in Tagaytay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tagaytay
#4 Family Hotel in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Taal Vista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views, crisp cool mountain air, lush flora and quaint nooks all come together at the new Taal Vista Hotel, Tagaytay City - the country's favorite destination. Taal Vista Hotel, is perched on a 700 meter high ridge that has the best view of the majestic Taal Volcano and its surrounding Taal Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Taal Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taal Vista Hotel Tagaytay
Hotel Taal Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing