We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed Holy Week”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taal Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taal Vista Hotel
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Tagaytay
Certificate of Excellence
Philippines
2 reviews
“Relaxed Holy Week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Breakfast buffet was great. Room was spacious! Aircon - perfect, toiletries were replenished everyday. We were near the pool -- all the better! =) Just relaxed there for a couple of days with the my side of the family. There were restaurants near the hotel if we didn't feel like buying from the hotel's menu. They had halo-halo all you can for P120. Then 5-7pm is beer-all-you can at P188. ;)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachResortReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    432
    195
    65
    41
See reviews for
447
255
25
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paranaque
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

My family and I were excited to stay at this grand old dame of Tagaytay, we've always loved staying here even for day tours. I asked for a ground floor room for my parents who are both senior citizens, specifically asking for rooms with easy access to everything and preferably no stairs to climb. Upon arrival, the front desk was accommodating and friendly and we were escorted to our rooms. We were led to the West wing which was a long walk from the lobby then we we had to go down two flights of steps to the basement part of the building...very disappointed about that. I think they took the "ground floor" room too literally. The rooms were clean although there were cracks in the closet wall and bathroom ceiling. I was however, satisfied with the king-sized bed I requested for both rooms. Breakfast was good too. Still needs a bit of improvement even after the renovation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenny q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

I am writing this review from the hotel's room, i could not wait because i am terribly dissapointed and feel the need to warn you, potential unlucky hotel's customer.
First of all, i stayed at the premier room (one of the best, 270usd). Room is really overpriced. Molds everywhere... No bathtub... and the worst thing is hot water faucet in the bathroom broken. Happened at 11PM, hot water keep running from the shower, very noisy, no one there to answer our call.
After having a bad night, we were hoping the morning will be better, but things happened not as expected.
Breakfast is good, compared to prison food... Hotel officer lied when we asked bout breakfast buffet price (room inclusive of 2 person, had breakfast for 4 person). He said is 700php, actual bill showed 1400php...
We haven't checked out yet.. I will update this review if there is/are other '4star quality service' that we receive from this hotel.
Good thing is only the view of taal lake and volcano, if you willing to pay a fortune just for the view, then i would recommend this hotel. But for myself, there are many hotels have same/better view with better price and quality.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ricky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Taal Vista remains one of the mainstay hotels in Tagaytay. I'm an Expat from Manila and frequently head up to Tagaytay to get away from the city and enjoy the cool weather. There are a lot of new B&B's in Tagaytay but the best of them tend to be a bit pricy and can be really hard to book. As for the rest it seems to really be a hit or miss and many of them are a lot less than advertised.

There are always lots of people staying at Taal Vista but there are usually deals available and you can't beat the view. It's also nice to be able to hang out in the lounge by the fire in the evenings and listen to some live music over a couple of drinks. I definitely recommend staying in the renovated wing of the hotel and it's also worth getting a room with a view of Taal lake. The breakfast buffet is also pretty good.

So for all of the new offerings in Tagaytay it's still hard to beat Taal Vista overall.

Room Tip: I recommend staying in the newly renovated wing or "new wing" of the hotel as the rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Putingunggoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville,NJ
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

We checked in from Thursday to Sunday to attend a wedding. We are balikbayans and was very surprised that they have a different rate for us which is 6,800 pesos per night. I asked the reservations how could they have different rates and they assured that it was already discounted. We didnt have any choice because we were a part of the wedding party. We sucked it up.

Room-- the walk to the new wing to the first lobby where you check in is a pain. There is a second lobby that will shorten your walk. Room design is nothing special. It was plain. The bathroom is dingy and looks like it was just superficially cleaned. Im thinking, is this their standard of a 5 star hotel? I guess, I just had to accept it. However, beds were comfortable.

Breakfast- the free breakfast was by the main and outside dining room which oversees the view of the Taal volcano. There is an American and Filipino breakfast choices. I think this is the only thing we enjoyed about the hotel.

Check-in= My husband checked in first and provided instructions that I will follow and will get the duplicate card from the check-in people. The check in person,Karen, gave me a card and I walked from the first lobby to the next building and found out it wasnt working. So, I called from the second lobby to request another key which she replied that they are busy but will check if they can deliver it to me. I informed her that I will go back and pick it up. I tried to keep my hormones check because I was 12 weeks pregnant. When I came back, there was a line and she did not even offered an apology when she handed me the key. I was annoyed.

I suggest that you check other hotels or apartelles around the area because Taal Vista Lodge is only using its name to charge ridiculous prices.

Room Tip: stay away.. go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank herleiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

i chose this hotel beacause its "five star" they said? but disapointed with the service and the cleanliness of the room.the toilet bowl is dirty needs proper cleaning,no soap and soap dish the first two days not enough toilet paper,the room needs makeover.the hotel staff especially in the receptions and restaurants are rude and lazy i think they need proper training! we came to the restaurants on our first day for the afternoon tea i ask one staff for a table and she said to us to sit first on the lobby and call us back after they clean the table,ten minutes later nobody call us and the table is still a mess,i came in and ask the staff again and thats time they clean the table,no smile or apology from the staff:( my husband ordered a beer and when they served the order the glasses were dirty not happy at all.my husband got food poisoning from their deep fried squid lucky i didnt try a bit of it,breakfast not bad but the staff again are just plain lazy to served coffee and water.anyway im a frequent traveller and stayed in different hotels (five star) but sad to say this is my least favourite hotel beacuse of the poor service,lazy staff and dirty toilets.and one more thing we send laundry on our first day and inform them we need them ASAP but unfortunately no one came to deliver them in our room,we called the housekeeping and guessed what she asked me"do you need it now"?after one and half day of waiting! not happy at all and very disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cholen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Level Contributor
122 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Yes it was a lodge before and now called a hotel. Views are still fantastic and tagaytay is still a great place for day trip or weekend getaway. We stayed in the new annex...we had a view of the main road and the place for horseback riding. Please make sure when you book a room to ask which side they're putting you...bedside is the inner side where your view will be the room across. Two things I didn't like in the room..the toilet. It doesn't have a main door. The sink separates the toilet and shower...it's quite uncomfortable when you're in the toilet and there's a person at the door or another person in the room. It's just a glass door door and it doesn't reach the floor...and when you get off the shower, it can be a chilly after a hot shower because of the aircon in the room. In other words...for me it lacks the privacy in usually enjoy when I use the toilet..you know what I mean? The doors banging in the other rooms can be jarring too at times.
The grounds/ garden is well maintained so walking inside the hotel is nice. Breakfast is good as well. Staff was courteous and helpful as well. Overall it's still a nice place for weekend getaway.
When you're there..don't forget to to try nurture spa which is about 4 kilometers away, buy your drinks etc in robinsons supermarket ( can be done on foot if you want exercise), buy lots of fruits and veggies in mahogany market, and have coffee or lunch at bag of beans.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isayqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Kimberly
Hotel Kimberly
#2 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
#9 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
4.7 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
#11 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
4.3 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
2.5 mi away
Tagaytay Country Hotel
Tagaytay Country Hotel
#17 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taal Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taal Vista Hotel

Property: Taal Vista Hotel
Address: 60 Aguinaldo Highway, Km, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tagaytay
#3 Spa Hotel in Tagaytay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tagaytay
#4 Family Hotel in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taal Vista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views, crisp cool mountain air, lush flora and quaint nooks all come together at the new Taal Vista Hotel, Tagaytay City - the country's favorite destination. Taal Vista Hotel, is perched on a 700 meter high ridge that has the best view of the majestic Taal Volcano and its surrounding Taal Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Taal Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taal Vista Hotel Tagaytay
Hotel Taal Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing