We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel with excellent breakfast”
Review of Taal Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taal Vista Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Tagaytay
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Been staying here many many times and it's my usual choice in Tagaytay.

Everything seems to be right and probably it's the most prestige hotel in Tagaytay in the terms of quality and amenities. Nice spa, excellent restaurant especially the buffet breakfast. As Tagaytay is pretty dead at night time, this is a good place to stay.

Choose a correct wing from the hotel, don't recommend the old wing as the rooms are not same standard as you would expect from this hotel. Stay at the new side.

Room Tip: Choose a correct wing from the hotel, don't recommend the old wing as the rooms are not same sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,105 - 1,111 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights to attend a convention. The restaurants have very good views of taal lake and volcano. Unfortunately, the rooms (at least the ones our group stayed) have no view of the beautiful lake and volcano. The rooms are located in adjacent buiding and you have to walk down a path to reach it.

The room is average in size. The carpet and furnishings are a bit worn and tired. The bed is not very comfortable. The bathroom size is ok but the floor, walls, countertop and fixtures need some scrubbing.

The main restaurant serves buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner, but the selection is rather limited. There is a cultural show featuring dances from the different regional groups during lunch.

Room Tip: rooms far from the pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b0h0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed here using a discount voucher. Overall the experience was pleasant. The service was prompt and friendly, the room and bathroom were clean enough, and the view outside the balcony was excellent.

We stayed in the new wing of the hotel, which was added after SM properties acquired the properties. I do not know this as fact, but the wing is constructed like the SM residences. Which sadly means shoddy workmanship and low quality finishes. The elevator buttons were coming apart, the paint was peeling off, and mouldings and hinges were not properly aligned.

Worst part though is the food. The breakfast buffet is acceptable, definitely not 4 star breakfast quality, but it is ok. The lunch buffet, though, is the worst buffet ever. Not only is the selection very sparse, but the few cooked dishes they do have there are terribly executed. They even managed to mess up fried pork and make it unpalatable- that must be a feat of sorts.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xsaltire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Good location: Along main road. Very good view of Taal Volcano.
Poor service: Worst concierge. The booklet in the room showed a place around 20-30mins away where you can pick your own vegetables or buy organic stuff. I asked the concierge how the place is, how to get there, etc. He said that he's not sure if it's still open but we can check the internet. I thought the concierge does those things for you. When we got there, security said the place has been closed for 2-3 years. If the hotel can't give those simple info or doesn't even know their surroundings, they shouldn't even call it "concierge".
Food was okay: big selection but nothing struck me as special.
Room was normal/average: the room has a really good view of the volcano but so does many other hotels. Room was normal, quite standard. Clean. Slow internet.

I'd recommend staying here only if you have an event to go to in Taal Vista for convenience's sake. If main purpose is relaxation, food fest, trekking or to stop over for a night cos of a long drive or anything, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Not sure how to ask for this - but when choosing a lake view room, ask for the room which has the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

- Reception is slow
- Hotel is too big but they have few staffs to handle their guests.
- Asked csr to put us on a room where we can see Taal but they placed us on a room where you can see a wall outside your window.
- Expensive for a 7,500 pesos a night with a "not so nice" view.
- Tried booking for a much expensive room but they are already occupied. Will consider moving to another hotel in 12 hours.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reyjexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Very nice staff, common spaces and spectacular view for our 2 night weekend stay. Unfortunately came with cold water shower for my girlfriend on a Monday morning 8AM in supposed newer east wing. Also had a guest convenience phone located on a table on 4th floor hallway within proximity our room (462) which ran constantly throughout night. Breakfast buffet and Double Deluxe Room in East Wing average at best, staff pleasant & attentative.

Room Tip: East Wing, 4th floor, even numbered rooms 464 and up have best direct view of Taal Lake & Volcan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

The view from the 'Presidential Suite' is simply fantastic. It's the main reason why people go to Tagaytay anyway. Sleep quality is also excellent as the air coming from the three balconies is fresh.

However, service was very poor: no welcome drinks, no after room service after 11pm, and very noisy breakfast area with lousy breakfast options.

The suite itself was spacious and fit me, my wife, our 3 children, the grandmother and 3 nannies. However, there was no kitchen, little water, only two very small refrigerators and no microwave oven to sterilize the milk bottles. Since the suite was far away, service was excruciatingly slow.

Only the hotel security was helpful: carrying luggage, helping us find our suite, and unlocking the door when the nannies forgot the keys.

Is this is the best Taal Vista Hotel can offer?

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view or balcony. The new wing has new furnishings, but the Presidential Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arvin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
1 mi away
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
#15 of 27 in Tagaytay
318 reviews
4.3 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
1.8 mi away
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
#13 of 27 in Tagaytay
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Kimberly
Hotel Kimberly
#3 of 27 in Tagaytay
584 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
#18 of 27 in Tagaytay
341 reviews
4.7 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#4 of 27 in Tagaytay
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taal Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taal Vista Hotel

Address: 60 Aguinaldo Highway, Km, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tagaytay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tagaytay
#4 Spa Hotel in Tagaytay
#4 Family Hotel in Tagaytay
Price Range: $103 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taal Vista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views, crisp cool mountain air, lush flora and quaint nooks all come together at the new Taal Vista Hotel, Tagaytay City - the country's favorite destination. Taal Vista Hotel, is perched on a 700 meter high ridge that has the best view of the majestic Taal Volcano and its surrounding Taal Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Taal Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taal Vista Hotel Tagaytay
Hotel Taal Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing