We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style blending with the new”
Review of Taal Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taal Vista Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Tagaytay
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This is the first time I visited and stayed at the taal vista. Internet (wifi) connection is great and fast and the views at the restaurant is fantastic. I think Taal Vista, while not having fantastic rooms (just ok), has the best five star feel restaurant in Tagaytay. No matter what the flavor of food (which, by the way, is superb), it will taste far better with the view.

The hotel toiletries are simple and un-branded but adequate. The towels are fluffy although a little old. The bed is very rigid and might not be soft enough for the best sleep. the wifi is superb and fast. Room is large enough to feel comfortable. There is coffee available in the room but i had hoped that they could have provided something like a small coffeemaker with strong batangas coffee in room( that would have been a blast!)

Room Tip: get the east wing, better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thefilipinobulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,093 - 1,099 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed at the Taal Vista Hotel for 3nights and the deluxe room (new wing) is the better value since Internet service is included unlike in the superior room, which is the old wing. You can buy an Internet prepaid card, but save it to pay for the upgrade cost of the new deluxe room. In the old wing is where a nice swimming pool is located manned by cabana boys ready to give out towels.
Front desk are very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is okay as there is not a whole much of a spread, but good food anyway.
Parking is ample and free, but you have to have your parking ticket validated at the front desk every time you leave the hotel's parking area.
No surprises upon check out.

Room Tip: Get a Deluxe room. It is newer and Internet service is included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R_Reyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed here for two nights in a deluxe room. It was situated in what the hotel calls as the "new
wing. Room has 1 queen and 1 twin bed. Ideal for a couple with a child. I was traveling with my husband and my sister so the room set-up works for us. However, there were only two bath towels. When we asked for another one, we were told there will be an extra charge. Our room per night came out to about $155 USD. And they could not provide free towels. It was also a hassle asking for an adapter so we can use our US made devices. The main selling point of the hotel is the awesome view of Taal Volcano. Granted that the hotel staff is nice and accomodating, I was not impressed with this hotel.

Room Tip: It is not worth paying more to get the lake view. You can just walk to the main reception area to se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poohbear928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Rated the hotel average though it has the best view of the ridge or lake because of its poor service. We stayed there for our anniversary celebration for the only reason that my husband had a seminar/workshop that he had to attend. Since it was charged to his company, it was alright even If I wanted to stay inthe newer botique hotels in Tagaytay.

We arrived very early at the hotel because of my hubby's workshop. I was informed that check in time is at 2pm. Because we had breakfast along the way already, I was not allowed to stay and wait in their restaurants unless I order. I stayed at the sofa for 4 hours. Good thing I can surf the internet using my phone. There's no free wifi. And since we don't have a room yet, i was not allowed to get access to the internet.

By 12noon, went tomthenfront desk and asked if I already can check in. The girl at the front desk insisted thatncheck in time is at 2pm. I was just asking to be checked in but I was explaining that I don't need the room yet. I was telling her that I just needed the room number so that I can already go to the spa and charge my fees there. But she was not listening. Good thing another more experienced front desk person arrived and "saved" me from her. The new person justbchecked out our reservation and found out thatbour room was already available.

Good thing, the spa experience was good and the people were so accommodating.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the new wing. Has a good view of the lake. Better and new furnishing also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank happyroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Background: Drove down from Manila with my Filipino classmate and her fiance. Local knowledge and language are important reasons of having such a wonderful time at Tagaytay and Taal.

Its a large hotel and last time I was at Tagaytay I had stayed at Sonya's. So this time we went the "commercial route". The Taal Vista is very comfortable and accessible with accomodations even available for the drivers.

The room was comfortable with a large bathroom and a beautiful valley view. As it was just a trip for couple of days, we did not stay much indoors but had enough time to go around the hotel facilities. The morning breakfast buffet was large and hearty. The a la carte service was a tad slow and some amount of "follow-up" and "cajoling" had to be done. However, they made up for the same by giving access to the buffet too !!!

The check-in and check-out was very quick and efficient. No mix-ups or any such kind of heartache.

Overall, a very positive and pleasant experience at the Taal Vista.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bazked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Hotel Taal Vista, it's ideal location beside the Taal Volcano attracts travelers of every age. There are so many attractions around here that almost half a day could do justice to your visit to the place.

TAAL VOLCANO- is world's smallest active crator, located in Taal Lake, Tagaytytay, Cavite Province of Luzon in Philippines. Merely a 90 minutes drive from Metro Manila this site should be on a MUST VISIT list.

The scenery around here is idyllic. There's a view point at the back of the hotel where you can spend hours watching the beautiful scenery.

Onthe right side of the promenade, space is reserved for Handicrafts which are quite good and cheap.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank NasreenAshrafGhori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

My family visitied Tagaytay over the long weekend. We spent a night in the Taal Vista Hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious and the staff is very attentive. The hotel is in a great location. My only complaint is the food served at the restaraunt is truly terrible. Most folks travel to Tagaytay for the great food (Antonio's, Sonya's Garden etc...) so I don't know why anyone would dine here. I ordered "volcanic potato wedges" that were just fried potatoes covered in nasy cheese. The club sandwich that I ordered was disgusting. The meat was clod the vegetables were wilted and warm and the cheese was the consistency of a Kraft Single. I only took two bites and let the waiter know that I was not satified with the food quality. He had me fill out a comment card and did not take the item off of my bill. Anyway, if you need a place to stay this place is very good, but eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fijiwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
1 mi away
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
#15 of 27 in Tagaytay
312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
#17 of 27 in Tagaytay
334 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Kimberly
Hotel Kimberly
#2 of 27 in Tagaytay
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#4 of 27 in Tagaytay
385 reviews
4.3 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
1.8 mi away
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
#12 of 27 in Tagaytay
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taal Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taal Vista Hotel

Address: 60 Aguinaldo Highway, Km, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tagaytay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tagaytay
#4 Spa Hotel in Tagaytay
#4 Family Hotel in Tagaytay
Price Range: $113 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taal Vista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views, crisp cool mountain air, lush flora and quaint nooks all come together at the new Taal Vista Hotel, Tagaytay City - the country's favorite destination. Taal Vista Hotel, is perched on a 700 meter high ridge that has the best view of the majestic Taal Volcano and its surrounding Taal Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Taal Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taal Vista Hotel Tagaytay
Hotel Taal Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing