We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean rooms, excellent location, excellent service, good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Hotel Tagaytay
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Tagaytay
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, excellent location, excellent service, good value for money”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Location: Excellent as it is situated on the main road, but you have to go down a large driveway before reaching the hotel so it isn't noisy at all. The hotel is beside many restaurants and is considerably near tourist hotspots such as Picnic Grove, Tagaytay Highlands, Sonya's Garden.

Hotel: A bit dated, but definitely not dilapidated as some reviews say. Reminiscent of old-fashioned American motels. Lobby and restaurant is very airy and quite pleasant. The pools (2) and the garden area are quite big. They have a souvenir shop.

Room: We were upgraded free of charge from Standard to Superior room, which has two queen beds, a fridge, cable TV, and a balcony. Our online promo from the official Days worldwide website allowed us to have a free extra bed. The room is sufficiently spacious for 5 people and is very clean. The bathroom area is very clean (toilet area is sanitized) and everything works. Sheets do not have stains, and although the carpet is worn in a few places and the bathroom tiles are quite old, the hotel obviously took a lot of effort to make the room feel as clean as possible.

The balcony is very spacious, and our bellhop offered to bring outdoor tables and chairs. Our balcony offered a nice view of the pool area, and also of the Taal volcano (at least, that's what I think it is). We had drinks and chips at the balcony at night, and even roasted marshmallows on a clay pot (we just sneaked it in). It was very pleasant due to the windy climate.

Amenities: Hotel provides shampoo, soap, complimentary water, and basic bathroom amenities.

Food: The complimentary breakfast selection is cute. They have around 7-8 selections ranging from Filipino breakfast (called Juan), to typical American (Joe) and Korean (Kim). The food was not 5-star hotel quality, of course, but tasty and filling enough. They also offer buffet breakfast during some days for an extra PhP250++.

Service: Excellent. Front desk, bellhop, guards, housekeeping, room service, and wait staff were all very courteous, efficient, and generous. They seemed to enjoy giving complimentary stuff (complimentary hot chocolate and extra fruit during breakfast, raffle where I got a free bar of soap, etc). They were very accommodating of us considering that we asked for a lot of towels, bottle openers, newspapers, tissue, and utensils. They must have made 10 trips to our room during our entire stay! We went down for breakfast at 10:40am, and were accommodated even though breakfast was supposed to end at 10:00am.

Overall, I was very pleased with our stay in this hotel. I was expecting the worst because of some reviews but the hotel exceeded my expectations. It's not a 5-star hotel, but it's definitely good value for your money and the hotel staff ensures that your stay will be as pleasant as possible. I'll definitely come back with my friends next time!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ReneiLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    61
    56
    23
    18
See reviews for
81
50
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This is a very old hotel that is in dire need of renovation and updating. The feel of the room is very sad and old. The lamps in the room are so dull thus it is dark in the room.

There is a "private" balcony but its height is too high (including the height of the flowers) that you have to STAND in order to see the view, which is not what you want to do in the balcony.

But everything about it is OLD - bathroom, TV, carpet, etc.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meimei28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Despite short notice we were entertained, we booked thru internet, but they didn't know how to accessed the booking. The people are all friendly. No internet on the rooms, only at the lobby. There's a swimming pool so you can relax, and the view is beautiful, Lake Taal.

Room Tip: The rooms can accomodate 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelledeJourManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chongqing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Me and my friends here stayed for a couple of nights but it was lessen to an overnight stay. The hotel looks very old and looks like it hasn't been renovated since it was established! There has been leakages in the hallways and in some public areas of the hotel. The carpet looks very old and faded.

I will not go to this hotel again. We're very disappointed with our stay in this hotel. It doesn't look like a proper hotel anymore, some cheaper hotels can provide greater service, facilities, and amenities.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fhan_Yi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tagaytay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

The room looked old but clean enough. The bathroom's shower area was dirty, you could see lots of black molds on the corners and sides.

Room Tip: Best rooms are at floors B and C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liabau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

When you think back to hotels you've stayed, places usually come in three categories. There are those few that are so great, that you remember the lovely hotel as much as the place where it was. There are the majority that have their faults and advantages, but ultimately are not very memorable. And then there are those places like the Days Hotel in Tagaytay.

On the positive side: it's right by the Rotunda, which can be a good location (although Tagaytay is difficult to get around without a car). The decor is about what you'd expect from a cheap American motel. It does have a decent pool, and an OK view of the lake (cannot see the volcano really, but a nice perch over the lake).

Outweighing any advantages however, every experience we had interacting with the staff was very frustrating. I should have known when we arrived, when were told to book the room on agoda (so we didn't have to pay the exceptionally high posted rate on the desk, much higher than agoda or daysinn.com), but then we were made to wait in the lobby until agoda emailed the voucher and we could print it out, which takes it about 30 minutes (hotel policy apparently is that we could not enter the room until they had the printed voucher).

When we wanted to go out for dinner, no one seemed to have any idea where even basic landmarks of town were - they gave us a map, but did not seem to have any idea where anything was (suggesting a restaurant as a "15 minute walk" along a dark highway at night which was easily 5 km away). They "kind-of" have a shuttle service to drop you off places - both the availability and price of this service varied greatly depending on the day the person you asked. We successfully used it once in 3 days, but each other attempt was unsuccessful. When I called the front desk to ask for reservations at Antonio's (an awesome, if expensive, restaurant), the first response was, "we have a corkage fee" (?); after I insisted that we just wanted reservations, they hung up, it turns out to look up the number, and then called me back and said they would call for me, but would charge P20/minute for the call. I said that seemed a bit ridiculous, and the response was, "Well, this is a hotel."

On top of generally not being helpful with the location, the hotel is also very poorly run and maintained. Breakfast is awful, and maintenance on the rooms was also very bad. Our A/C unit was more sound than fury, and finally died the second night.

Even our attempt to check out was a frustrating experience. We went to the front and paid the bill, and the front desk person instructed that we were not allowed to leave until the room had been checked (presumably to see if we stole something?!), and that we could wait on the couch. I've stayed in a lot of hotels, and this is the only place in the world I've ever been restrained from leaving to make sure that I was not a thief.

Long story short, stay somewhere else - so your memories of Tagaytay will be different than ours, which will start, "Hey, you remember that awful hotel..."

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChitownGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marikina, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Our family (with three young children ) recently had the pleasure of spending a three-day weekend at the hotel. Everything about our stay was pleasant and met our expectations. Our room was clean spacious with plenty of nice amenities.The children enjoyed swimming at the outdoor pool. The hotel is within walking distance of many popular restaurants, the Taal Lake, casinos and other Tagaytay attractions. In addition there are available packages sold at the hotel to various activities in the area. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast every morning at the their restaurant (Oh! Resto) which offers a large menu as well as large weekend buffet. The food was very good and the portions are enough to satisfy our appetites. The hotel staff was excellent---helpful, courteous and knowledgeable. All this for a reasonable price makes for a great value and definitely worth coming back any time of the year.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolores_Padua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
2.1 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
0.3 mi away
Tagaytay Country Hotel
Tagaytay Country Hotel
#17 of 25 in Tagaytay
81 reviews
2.5 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 25 in Tagaytay
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Taal Vista Hotel
Taal Vista Hotel
#4 of 25 in Tagaytay
1,078 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
#13 of 25 in Tagaytay
165 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
#9 of 25 in Tagaytay
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Hotel Tagaytay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Hotel Tagaytay

Property: Days Hotel Tagaytay
Address: Aguinaldo Hwy, Tagaytay, Luzon 4121, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Hotel Tagaytay 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Days Hotel Tagaytay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Tagaytay City
Days Inn Tagaytay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing