We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Ibarra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Ibarra
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“good view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The room that we booked for my bride’s preparation is big enough for all the suppliers to move around. There’s a restaurant inside that serves sumptuous meal. The parking can only accommodate 20 cars. Better to check and confirm if there’s an available parking space during your stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhik30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    28
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
44
29
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here earlier this month (May 2013). The view was amazing but the rest of the hotel didn't really impress me. We were in the honeymoon suite which is very small and there is no shower (bath with a hand held showerhead), it is also located seperate from the main hotel area and is quite dark going down the stairs. A lot of bugs in the room too. Staff were not very friendly/happy except one girl on reception. This added to the overall disappointment I think.
The view is breathtaking when you open it up, but I wouldn't stay here again unfortunately.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Each and every room has a different size and configuration and the hotel is actually converted from a family holiday villa. There are excellent views of Taal Lake from some of the rooms while some rooms have no views of the lake. So make sure what type of room you are paying for. The water pressure in the bathrooms are great and the rooms and bathrooms are clean. Note that some of the rooms are only accessible by stairs hence be aware of this if you have children or elderly in your travel party. We stayed here for two nights and we had no issues and a comfortable stay. The rooms are pricey especially those that had a view of the lake. Be aware that you are in a hilly/mountainous environment and that the weather may be cloudy or misty and thus obscure views of the lake. Fortunately during our stay there was minimal mist and cloud cover and we had great vistas. Check in and check out was smooth.

Visitors should be aware that a clear view of the crater lake is not guaranteed as depending on the season and weather which varies, the lake is shrouded by thick clouds or mist or fog. We were very fortunate that we had clear days with fantastic views.

The waiter in the restaurant needs to improve his English. Service for breakfast was slow at times. Quality of breakfast is nothing to shout about. Fruit juice was packaged and not freshly prepared. The lobby has a tall glass panel facing the lake and through this the sun and heat comes through. I feel sorry for the staff working in the reception area as it is so very, very warm during daylight hours and there is no natural cross ventilation or air conditioning in this area. Also the portico on the lowest level that looks out to the lake and which is a poputar wedding venue, now is covered by a metal roof. This totally destroys the ambience of the entire propert. Apparently the roof was put in due to the fact that the noise from wedding activity on the portico was annoying to guests staying in the rooms at the front of the villa....Visually this destroyed the entire appeal of the villa. As this is popular venue for weddings in particular on weekends...you are advised not to stay over a weekend if you want quiet and solitude. We stayed over on a Thur and Fri night and exited on Sat when the wedding parties checked in on Sat morning.

Have your meals outside…there are a number of good restaurants in the Tagaytay area including some fine dining…eg. Antonio's, Sonya's Garden, restaurans at the Tagaytay Highlands Golf & Country Club - a friend who is a member took us there, etc.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel the directly on the views from each room. I personally would advise on taking r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Level Contributor
112 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

When you go back to places you want to spend your Summer. You would always go back to the past experiences you had in that place. The pleasant and not so pleasant. Memories that trigger laughter, dismay or happiness.
Last April, our family decided to go to Tagaytay to avoid the summer for at least 2 days. I had only 3 hotel choices in mind. Those that gave us pleasant memories of our past stays. One of these is Villa Ibarra.

Thankfully, they still got 2 available rooms to accommodate our family. The staff were always welcoming and hospitable.
I got to meet the new manager and she was so accommodating and truly nice. I told her it was already my second or third time to stay in their hotel.
I simply love the place because it is clean and the rooms are big. I enjoyed staying in Hotel Ibarra because the ambiance is so much like home with the beautiful furnitures and interior. The view of Lake Taal in this side is simply fantastic. No problem with security and parking.
Even the set breakfast was good and tasty.
Accessible to famous restaurants in Tagaytay by foot or car.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony so you could enjoy the magnificent view of the smallest volcano in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderCezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel have the best view of lake in tagaytay, They also have a unique and romantic room located at the cliff, very nice room and neat, perfect place to stay in tagaytay, i defenitely recommend this hotel for all couples and families

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrls R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
166 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in Villa Ibarra over the weekend for 2 nights in their "Amazing" room. We chose this place precisely for the stunning view of Taal lake from the room's veranda. The ambiance was cozy and location was convenient for staying in Tagaytay with many dining options nearby.

It's a pity though that the service was poor, if downright horrible. The front office people could use a few lessons in customer service, not the friendliest nor welcoming bunch. The girl manning the counter hurriedly checked us in, handed us the key card after pointing out the breakfast place. She did not say much else, e.g. room policy, dining options, check out time etc., the usual reminders that you get upon checking in. Think other posters also mentioned about the paltry breakfast that came with the room. And yes, we also looked for the lone waiter as he was somewhere else on the 2 mornings we took our breakfast.

But what really horrified us was their policy of not cleaning the room unless a guest asks for it!!! On our first full day there, we went out in the morning for some sightseeing and came back late afternoon to find our room unmade. When I complained, the lady at the front desk who appeared to be the manager told me straight that it is their policy not to clean the room automatically unless one asks because they have had several cases of guests losing valuables. She said they used to do this but because of numerous complaints about theft, they stopped the practice. She even had the temerity to tell me that this is the same practice with most B&Bs here and abroad and reminded me smugly that their place is a B&B and not a hotel!

For the price we paid at around USD180/ night, it was NOT worth it at all. We would definitely not come back here nor recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthBB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
202 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This is the place to stay for stunning views of Taal Volcano and the lake. I've stayed here three times over the last three years. The little restaurant serves a simple breakfast. The rooms are huge and very comfortable. This hotel is all about the view and having a quiet getaway. It has only a few rooms, but that is its charm.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYWrldTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
#9 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.0 mi away
Taal Vista Hotel
Taal Vista Hotel
#4 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
3.7 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
#11 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kimberly
Hotel Kimberly
#2 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tagaytay Country Hotel
Tagaytay Country Hotel
#17 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ibarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ibarra

Property: Villa Ibarra
Address: 130 Gen E. Aguinaldo Hi-Way, Brgy. Maharlika East, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing