We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expect nothing less”
Review of Antonio's Grill

Antonio's Grill
Ranked #71 of 160 Restaurants in Tagaytay
Cuisines: Filipino, Barbecue, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Expect nothing less”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I've been wanting to visit this place as this is another of Antonio's restaurant and I was not disappointed. The ambience of the place was definitely Antonio's - a theme of black and white with minimalist decor.

The food was very good. The service needs to be fine-tuned a bit - we needed to call the attention of our server for drink refills and other requests. The quality of the food, however was definitely its big draw - the servings were big and the taste was spot on.

Will I go back? Definitely YES!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Netoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    33
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Philippine food”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is a great place to try Filipino food if you are not familiar with it. The quality is excellent but the prices are high as compared to local restaurants.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Singaporeconncection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

If you want a taste of Antonio's but forgot to reserve a day in advance, this is the next best thing. Good Filipino choices. Big servings as well.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank buwayahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfectly OK food, not very attentive service”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

On a short weekend visit to Tagaytay, looking for Filipino food but trying to avoid chains we decided to try Antonio's Grill.

The first thing to note is that the map of its location on their own website is seriously inaccurate! The map shows the restaurant as being adjacent to the Tagaytay rotunda, well to the east of Lourdes church. In fact it is about 2km west of the rotunda and over 1km west of Lourdes church.

But once we had got past that, on a Friday night at about 8pm there were only about 10 diners in the place so we had no problems with "first come, first served"! Unfortunately, despite the fact that there was basically 1 waiter for every 2 diners, it was rather hard to get their attention, and even when we did it took a very long time for drinks to arrive, for example.

For a light dinner, we shared a water spinach salad with prawns/shrimps, a plate of grilled liempo (pork, which to me seemed somewhat short of the advertised 350g), and a plate of stuffed, grilled pusit (squid).

I guess as is the theme of the place, the food is rather straightforward; the dressing on the salad was a very simple and tart vinegar; basically raw onions featured strong in the stuffing of the squid. Given what they are aiming for it's hard to go wrong, but of course, for example, the pork was much like pork you would grill on your own barbecue.

So in order to justify the above average price, Antonio's needs a decent level of service, and that's what let it down, for our visit at least. I certainly wouldn't recommend going out of your way to visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSmogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Filipino food by Antonio's.”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We enjoyed our lunch at this cozy place. The restaurant wasn't equipped with airconditioning, but thanks to Tagaytay's cool weather, we enjoyed the breeze while having lunch outside. We had grilled squid, pork belly and pakbet. All tasted good and filling. Service was ok too. The restaurant was full and yet good service was not compromised.

Price was reasonable considering it belongs to Antonio's chain of restaurants. My parents enjoyed our meal as well. I just thought the ambiance will be much better if the restaurant moves closer to the site closer to the Taal view.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank prechiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antonio's Grill also viewed

Dasmarinas City, Cavite Province
Dasmarinas City, Cavite Province
 
Dasmarinas City, Cavite Province
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
 

Been to Antonio's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing