We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Noisy - Plywood Walls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tagaytay Haven Hotel - Mendez
Reviewed March 9, 2014

A few weeks before the local elections we checked the place out. Prices are friendly and rooms are clean. It is just behind Jollibee (popular fast food chain) that opens up to late night.
We had a long day roaming around the city and dining ....
Sleep time :
You can hear conversations from the other room and people passing by because of the plywood walls. The election campaign also added to the noise.

Buffet breakfast of rice, egg and hotdog. Coffee too
Pool @ 50 pesos per person
Parking may not be enough

Not good for couples - go figure
Not good for families with kids - specially noisy ones
Good for backpackers who are after a long tiring day you may not mind the noise

Again prices are friendly
Since it is just in the highway and near the public market, one can easily get to ride public transport.

Room Tip: Beware of the plywood walls - You will hear whispers from the next room and specially passers-by - y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elmo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 121 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

I and my husband decided to go to Tagaytay and spend overnight. It so hapened that I booked this hotel since the room per night is reasonable enough, there is a pool, and easy to find location. When we got to the hotel we were assisted and since I left the deposit slip they considered booking payment I made 2 days ago at the bank (anyway scanned copy was sent thru email). When we got to our room which is at the 4th flr, room was ok and clean, bed is soft and neat, but the smell of the bathroom is terrible - seems like someone used it before us arriving, the bathroom floor was wet. The remote also was not working. Not recommended for long stay buy only if you want something reasonable. I will not be booking at this hotel again the next time we decide to go to Tagaytay and and stay overnight.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mykindoftrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My friends and I stayed here overnight during our trip to Tagaytay. Generally, we had no problems checking in except that the walk-in rates were actually cheaper than booking sites. So please check the rates with the hotel prior to booking. There was really nothing special about the hotel except that our room was big, parking was free, and that there was a Jollibee in front. The Jollibee makes the hotel easy to spot. The hotel boasts free WiFi yet it does not work inside the rooms. It is only available near the lobby. It had a small gym that no one uses. The hotel interior was renovated but the exterior and bathrooms were outdated. The bathroom was also big but water pressure was bad and there were hard water stains throughout the bathroom.

Normally, I will not recommend the hotel to my friends. But if they are looking for a cheap hotel in a quiet area in Tagaytay, I might consider recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank engdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

When driving along tagaytay this Hotel always catched up my attention because of the instructure and also the jollibee which my kids loves to eat. My first choice Hotel was in fullybooked that time which was
Viewpark hotel and we cant contact Tagaytay econo inn we jumped to our 3rd choice which is THH-mendez. We settled our payment by bank which they gave to us. When we get there staffs are not that accomodating and after we got the key go to our room (studio room) feels like disappointed comfort rooms is dirty, aircon was not cold,remote control of the tv is not working plus its smells like you are in te hospital and then we decided to transfer in deluxe room with veranda we pay for an upgrade. But bad thing, its just almost the
same, wreck cabinet, full of dust. Also hanging thin whole body mirror which we paid because it was broken by kids. Buffetbreakfast was served cold.

Other poor service:
Poor wifi signal
Poor channel tv
Far from the restaurants

But:
Cold aircon located at 2nd floor

If you want to stay in this hotel It is not recommended for a long stay. Choose another hotel.better improve their service and rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akocdarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Receptionists aren't so nice. They don't smile at all. I don't know if that's SOP. Rooms smell bad, you will need a really good air freshener. Beds were ok, Soft and big enough. Bathroom smells even worse. Me and my wife can't stand the smell and seems they haven't scrubbed it for so long. The good thing is that they have connecting rooms which is good for families and large groups. Breakfast was ok. The pool is perfect for kids but i don't think 20 adults could swim at the same time. There is no security guard watching over the parking lot 24/7. stay here only if you're in a tight budget.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigcarl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We chose this hotel because we were on a tight budget. We initially got a studio room for 2,480 (for 3 pax). It was a good deal because it already includes breakfast for 2 people (just add 120 for additional head).
Location - travel time from the heart of Tagaytay is roughly 15 - 20 mins ride
Room - the studio room does not have any window so if you are claustrophobic... look for another room. The position of the TV set makes it difficult for you to watch TV from your bed because it is placed on a post which is halfway from your bed.
Their de luxe room is much better but the bed is hard and the pillows are as hard. The sheets are clean though but the smell of their fabcon is a bit overpowering.
Service - their front desk staff are not very friendly - gave me the impression that she is too tired to smile and we are just another bunch of budget travelers seeking accommodation at their hotel. The other staff though that we met in the hallway are okay and helpful.
Food - i guess i just expected more - they served egg, corned beef, tocino, rice, bread, fruits (pineapple and watermelon), and coffee (i thought it was kapeng barako but it tasted really bad)
Pool - the pool located at the basement was small but it was okay...
Fitness center - did not really have the chance to use this but they have it and the machines look modern

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ofel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Tagaytay Haven Hotel - Mendez : We just stayed overnight , so here’s my impression of the hotel:

POSITIVE:

Affordable for not so picky big family since they have a room with 3-4 beds
Clean , comfortable, soft beddings .
Breakfast included (but we didn’t consume it)
Friendly staff , located along the hway ,
With small indoor pool at the lower ground and gym
Jollibee in front , occupies the same parking with Jollibee (Positive or negative?)

NEEDS IMPROVEMENT:

Bathroom needs upgrading, old fixture
Lobby dark and Entrance not so inviting,
Near Jollibee, you could smell the frying of Chicken
Wifi and signal varies

For an overnite, “ budget watch out” weekend …this is okay.

Room Tip: cellphone signal low at inner ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank APRIL8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
4.7 mi away
Tagaytay Econo Inn
Tagaytay Econo Inn
#20 of 27 in Tagaytay
37 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tagaytay Country Hotel
Tagaytay Country Hotel
#16 of 27 in Tagaytay
95 reviews
5.7 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#4 of 27 in Tagaytay
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Destination Hotel
Destination Hotel
#24 of 27 in Tagaytay
86 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mountain Breeze Hostel Tagaytay Center
2.2 mi away
Our Melting Pot Hostel
Our Melting Pot Hostel
#4 of 46 in Tagaytay
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tagaytay Haven Hotel - Mendez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tagaytay Haven Hotel - Mendez

Address: 102 Aguinaldo Highway, Mendez Crossing West, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Tagaytay
Price Range: $37 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tagaytay Haven Hotel - Mendez 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Tagaytay Haven Hotel - Mendez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing