We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tagaytay Haven Hotel - Mendez
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Its affordable compared to other hotels but there is no view and the cheaper rooms have no windows. The location is very convinient, right smack at the center of town with a fast food chain in front, market and convinience stores nearby. Its midway between the sky ranch and residence inn zoo, the two most popular areas to go in Tagaytay. Bag of beans which has a good brunch buffet as well as bulalo areas are close by. The place is clean, good airconditioning , and even has a pool and an excersise area with treadmills and indoor cycling bike.. Over all if you just need a place to sleep after going around tagaytay, this is a good affordable choice.

Room Tip: Get the more expensive rooms with windows. Also ask if they can remove the breakfast. Jolibee in fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Belissimaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 121 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

Walls are so thin you can hear everyone next door or outside. Even staff are quite loud, banging on doors as they check in/out each empty room as they do not have key cards.
Toilet is spacious, but musty, tiny shower, wet floor, limescale everywhere.
Bed is too soft. Sheets are okay. TV is minuscule, limited choices of cable shows and on bad signal.
No lifts, so you have to carry your own stuff, no one to help you either.
At least hey have WIFI, albeit very weak signal.
And so many black ants crawling randomly.

Best things?
Jollibee just right in front
Next to Bag of Beans
Spacious parking

Skip this one out, unless you're on a tight budget and are spending time outside.

Room Tip: Change the shower head to single nozzle as the water is quite weak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geraldine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in a Premiere/Family Room that is good for 6 pax for only 4,200. The room is pretty much standard, it has everything you'll need in a hotel room; cable television, hot and cold bath and clean sheets. The room has that cozy vice though that will make you want to hit that snooze button. There's really nothing much to do in the hotel because they do not have any amenities. It's just really a place to crash when you're tired. It's a good thing that the hotel is near Bag of Beans because we just love the food there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jhaesmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

skip this one out.... you have to pay for extra to use the pool (everyt usage)... breakfast is buffet of hotdog,eggs and rice ONLY... they said they were going to clean the room after i left the room key at the front desk, 2 hours hence room is still looks the same as i left it... you have to ask for soap and shampoo and is given in small quantity...nice one tagaytay haven....NEVER AGAIN...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gizell V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

If you don't want to hear noises every now and then, don't choose this hotel not unless you don't have anywhere to go. The rate is cheap, the rooms are somewhat clean, and the people are very accommodating. But yes, like everyone who have been here, the main problem is the NOISE. The walls are made out of plywood only so you could hear even the footsteps from the other rooms.

Room Tip: If you have a budget don't choose the studio rooms. Better get the Superior rooms, the noise are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itskarisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

we were on a road trip to Batangas and found our way to Tagaytay, with no pre-plans or ideas on where to stay, we canvassed about 20 different resorts, B&B's, hotels etc... We ended up in Tagaytay Haven. We did not regret our stay, and would probably come back, even with the kids.

Pros:
- Its along the main road with a Jollibee right in front.
- It has big rooms, we got a suite room for 4, but paid for only two as there were no other rooms available.
- The place is the best priced mid-B&B-Hotel there is in the area. We only paid 1909 for two pax for one night with breakfast.
- The aircon is cold - not that you'd need it much in Tagaytay
- There is a hot/cold shower (with relatively warm water)
- The TV has a few good channels
- The beds are comfortable, with clean linen and a warm blanket
- There is a ref for use, if needed

Cons:
- The bathroom could be cleaner, especially the shower area
- The rooms are noisy, you can easily hear the rooms next door.
- No elevators, but its only 3 floors
- Break fast was pretty much, hotdogs and egg with rice and coffee. Note the coffee is very good
- no credit card payment only cash. - there is a BDO ATM next door.
- no views - but if you wanted a view you can pay at the other resorts/hotels in the area for about P5k per night

Net net, we got what we wanted. A good nights sleep without paying more P2k. There are cheaper places, but they were horrible!

Don't expect anything more than 1Star, for the price, and you'll be happy with what you got.

Room Tip: Ask for discounts. I'm sure they'll give you a few 100 off your rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingBee32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

the main problem of this hotel is the noise insulation. basically you can hear all the noise from the other room like if it was into your room. tv, shower, bed.... whatever the noise is, you will hear it. the wall is just a poor 5cm multiplex, very cheap and bad quality.
the location of hotel is not very good and the clean/confort so so...
if you plan to stay there, i recommand you to look for somewhere else more quiet and nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reginah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
4.7 mi away
Tagaytay Econo Inn
Tagaytay Econo Inn
#20 of 27 in Tagaytay
37 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tagaytay Country Hotel
Tagaytay Country Hotel
#16 of 27 in Tagaytay
95 reviews
5.7 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 27 in Tagaytay
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Destination Hotel
Destination Hotel
#24 of 27 in Tagaytay
86 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mountain Breeze Hostel Tagaytay Center
2.2 mi away
Our Melting Pot Hostel
Our Melting Pot Hostel
#4 of 46 in Tagaytay
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tagaytay Haven Hotel - Mendez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tagaytay Haven Hotel - Mendez

Address: 102 Aguinaldo Highway, Mendez Crossing West, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Tagaytay
Price Range: $37 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tagaytay Haven Hotel - Mendez 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Tagaytay Haven Hotel - Mendez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing