We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and Relaxing Place but Poor Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crosswinds Resort Suites
Ranked #6 of 97 Tagaytay B&B and Inns
Pasay, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice and Relaxing Place but Poor Customer Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at Crosswinds Resort Suites last Feb 13-14, 2014. Prior to that, their reservation officer had been politely answering my queries with regard to our reservation. After booking has been confirmed, I had to follow up every query that I made to the same person as no one from their other departments bothered to reply. To make our experience worse, we accidentally left an Abercrombie cardigan/jacket inside the cabinet and were already in the bus (going to MNL) when we remembered it. I texted and sent an email that same day to advice them of the incident. Again, the reservations agent acknowledged my email and had it forwarded to their front desk section for checking. On the other hand, I did not receive anything thru the mobile number I texted. It was already February 17th, still no feedback from their front desk dept. I made another follow-up thru their reservations agent and vented that we feel neglected about the issue. She apologized on behalf of Crosswinds and had the matter escalated to their Operations Manager. That same day, I received an email from their Front Desk Dept (sort of letter of apology) for the delayed response and to inform us that they have not found any item left inside the room. It took them 3 days to respond and I may have not received any if I weren't irate on my follow-up email. In addition to this, we are certain that the cardigan was left hanging inside the cabinet as I had it prepared by myself. My friend was sick at that time and was supposed to wear it on our way home but forgot to get it. We also used their own shuttle service that brought us to Olivares Bus Station and had left nothing inside the van. Not to mention that someone we don't know was with us in the van (maybe an employee as the driver personally know him and where to drop him off) though we paid P300 for the service that was supposed to be, I believe, "private". We could have been advised about it as a courtesy. To be fair, their Operations Manager had also acknowledge my complaint last February 17th and told us that she will conduct an investigation on the cause of delay. She said their lost and found section advised her that nothing has been retrieved in our room. With my last email dated February 18th, late in the afternoon, I specifically told them that we are no longer after the lost item and the result of their investigation. Today is the 19th of February, no acknowledgement received yet from anyone. Material things can be replaced but customer experience cannot be changed. It was not the kind of service I expected from them since they are working on a 4-star, luxury hotel. I am not recommending this hotel to anyone as you might experience the same drama. Vacations are meant to be fun, relaxing, memorable and hassle-free. That's the reason why we chose to stay and pay for a higher valued hotel but it turned out to be such a big disappointment.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria_Seventeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky C, Operations Manager, Crosswinds Resort Suites at Crosswinds Resort Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Ms. Maria_Seventeen,

Thank you for sharing your experience.

We are delighted to hear that you found Crosswinds a nice and relaxing place.

On the other hand, we sincerely apologize for the incidents involving your cardigan and the car service. The appropriate actions concerning these situations have been reiterated to the staff for stricter implementation. Although you have turned down our offer about the cardigan, we hope that you would still give us another opportunity to show you a difference.

Sincerely,

Becky O. Coquia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    74
    48
    17
    10
See reviews for
84
53
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila Philippines
Level Contributor
657 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed one night in a one bedroom suite with my family last month during the Christmas season. Place was quite far from where we usually spend our time in Tagaytay , which is in the vicinity of the Sky Ranch and Rotunda area, but it depends if you want the Picnic Grove which is just a few minutes drive from here. Going to the check in area can be quite confusing at first, since some of the personnel seem unfamiliar with regards to directions going to the hotel/resort. Some of the roads are narrow and steep , but won't pose much of a problem if you are a skilled driver. Check in was quite a breeze. Front desk staff and security seem tired , but tried to act professional somehow. We were then led to another building into our suite. There is only one elevator, which fits 5 people maximum. The suite seem spacious indeed, and somehow we feel comfortable. There are 2 aircon and flat screen television units. There was a good channel selection but take note that the main bedroom has fewer number of channels by Cignal cable. We had free wi-fi, with a router installed per unit, but it was really slow. The bathroom design and lay out leaves much to be desired, with the poor drainage and shower system , makes taking a bath etc a hard task when it shouldn't have to be. Views from our suite was a refreshing site, makes one think you are in Europe. Anyway there is a sign that says "Welcome To Switzerland " , so some can just use the imagination somehow. Buffet breakfast was just average , but I see it as something better than those properties that offer plated small sized meals. There is no convenience store and restaurant within the premises of the hotel , even though that the brochure they have claims the outlets will open soon , so i would suggest stocking up on goods or something instead of being a slave in their high priced limited selection mini bar. Finally , the souvenir shop and the Christmas store, when we went there was closed, what i mean is that it is already past 2pm , I don't know if the staff are just having a longer lunch break hours. Seeing a positive side, it is recommended for bigger groups, friends and families, where you can bring food items for cooking , and some dvd to watch favorite movies. By the way, it can be really be quiet at night, so it can be also awkward to show some unruly behavior.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorfoxtrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place but they made is wait for "20 mins" while we see other guests check in.

After 30mins, no update yet even if we kept following up. Update came after I may have looked irate. Another 10mins wait.

No idea how terrible the rest of the visit would be.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank crystalte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tagaytay hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Got a good rate thanks to a deal voucher site. We initially had problems booking our preferred dates but eventually it was sorted out. It was generally good enough for a weekend getaway and the overall ambiance of Crosswinds make it unique.

Pros
1. 1-Bedroom Suite was large enough, had a nice living room and dining room area.
2. The dining and cooking wares were just enough for cooking.
3. Bed and pillows were comfortable.
4. Staff were generally professional.
5. Cignal TV channels, HD LCD TV, DVD player, music player with 5 speakers.
6. Generally clean.
7. Nice "country view", but would generally depend on which floor or room you stay at.
8. Room and living room had wide windows.

Cons
1. I didn't like the terrain of the property. There were too many inclined roads and unconditioned cars may have a problem climbing the steep roads :) You defnitely need a vehicle if you want to stay here.
2. The location is a bit further out the main spots in Tagaytay (it's slightly past Picnic Grove, but this is barely an issue if you don't mind driving around town).
3. Hotel grounds are borderline gloomy.
4. Small receiving area for guests.
5. Nothing much to do within the property area aside from swimming or picture taking.
6. Breakfast was very limited.

Good for families or couples.

Room Tip: Higher floors of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Pampanga, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

we went there exactly one month ago and the kids loved it. the room had everything we needed - the kids were able to watch their shows (which we brought) thru the room's player and my wife and i were able to cook dinner because of the complete set of cooking equipment (knife, frying pan, pot, you name it). we liked the room and the breakfast was satisfying. but overall, it was the total package that got us. people who saw the pictures thought we went to another country. plus, the staff, heck, even the other guests were friendly. maybe it was the atmosphere of the place having an effect on them. till next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Con Con M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

All is well with this property. It has a great potential to become most preferred weekend destination- nice, large and well appointed rooms, exciting outdoors that gives one a sense of a different place, not far from Metro Manila. Yet, there's something lacking. I guess it is lack of integration of the real estate business with the hotel, for the hotel is just incidentally located inside a prime real property devlopment area. Although same owner, they have different management teams. They need to closely coordinate the development to make it more like Camp John Hay in Baguio City. Aside from lousy breakfast, the place lacks visible directional signs, esp at night. Guests are having a hard time locating the hotel. We got lost! Security guard told us the wrong directions. The staff though are most helpful, but could be more friendly and warm. It is quite a large place, so it wont hurt to offer guests some pointers- where to go/what to do while in the property. It adds up to guest excitement and fulfillment. Lastly, parking space should also be improved. Surely they can find a levelled area where guests can park their vehicles, and not on slopes.

Worth the try. Great place for kids and kids at heart, and for photos too!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnold Cesar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed one night in the deluxe suite. Room size was very good, with large living area, private bedroom and one bathroom. Great view of hills from all rooms.
However, bathroom wasn't as clean as would be expected, loose fightings and low water pressure and limited hot water. The bathroom had hair on the floor and in the bathtub. Disappointing as my boys were hoping to have had a nice long bath ... but we weren't confident on the hygeine.
Bed was hard and when we asked to have the sofa bed made up for our kid, only bedding was dropped but bed wasn't made up.
We were hoping to be able to walk around the area, but quickly learned unless prepared for major hill hiking, it was far too steep for our kids to manage. Pool was completely on the opposite side of resort (only accessible by car) and we were told if we wanted to swim we'd have to pay extra anyhow ... ?? We drove over just to check but pool wasn't clean (murky water) anyhow so we skipped.
We didn't bother to eat onsite, but brought food with us to prepare in the small kitchen of our unit. But again, dishes had residue, so we ate over our bags like camping.
Best part of the trip was dinner at Antonio's Garden (other side of Tagatay) ... best food in Philippines!
Like many resorts in PI, you have to manage your expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RVMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
1.2 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Kimberly
Hotel Kimberly
#2 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
5.8 mi away
Taal Vista Hotel
Taal Vista Hotel
#4 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
4.8 mi away
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
#8 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tagaytay Country Hotel
Tagaytay Country Hotel
#16 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosswinds Resort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosswinds Resort Suites

Property: Crosswinds Resort Suites
Address: Crosswinds, Brgy. Iruhin Central, Calamba Road, Tagaytay City, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crosswinds Resort Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crosswinds Resort Suites is the ideal place to unwind and to recharge. Located inside the leisure community of Crosswinds Tagaytay and nestled on the hillside of this 100 Hectare development, the crisp scent of 20,000 pine trees perfuming the air and the view of rolling hills with sweeping vistas, offer a welcome repose for nerves frayed and tattered by the stresses of work and urban life. Each of the Crosswinds Resort Suites units are beautifully furnished, open for daily, weekly or monthly stays, and are now available at very reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Crosswinds Resort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crosswinds Hotel Tagaytay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing