We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A refuge from storm, well built and sturdy building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Tagaytay
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
160 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A refuge from storm, well built and sturdy building”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My daughter happened to be a sponsor in an early wedding next day, so we checked in to this quite new hotel about 2 kms from main highway. The storm was really fierce that night and strong winds were blowing all night but we were comfy and relaxed in their warm cozy beds. Our massage schedule was on the dot, but the massage rooms were in a separate building so it was a bit of a task to get to it on a rainy day. The hotel is like a big house manned by a security guard and high fences. It surely helped make us feel secured and protected at night. We had to leave early in the morning and requested for an early breakfast (just half hour earlier) but we still got served at 7am, their regular opening time. Anyway, it was a simple, filling plated fare. Looking out from Manor Cafe we saw the inviting pool but am sure its freezing cold. Overall, we like this hotel, the staff very efficient and friendly. From the guard to the reception to housekeeping, massage and restaurant crew, they all seemed pleasant and service oriented. Not to forget, they even called our cellphone when we were about a kilometer away to say we left our bag containing laptop and shoes. Thanks so much, lovely staff.

Room Tip: Get the corner end rooms facing the street on the 2nd floor. Wifi can reach into the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    68
    38
    15
    8
See reviews for
61
63
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

SERVICE: Arrived earlier than check in time, no problem, just showed my voucher and we were given the key to our room. Room was clean and ready for occupancy. Can't say much about the reception as we didn't call them for any complaints during any of the 2 past stays in this hotel. Breakfast service by waiters was good as well. Guard at the gate was friendly, helpful, and attentive. It was raining when we arrived and he escorted us into the hotel with umbrellas. Same attentiveness from him when we left the hotel to have lunch after check in.

VALUE: Booked a Standard Queen room for P2,880/night (thru Agoda.com) for 2 pax. Breakfast and massage for 2 is included in the room rate. Breakfast is basic, good selection on the menu but small servings. There is a public (no heater) pool for use, but it was pretty cold so we did not swim during our stay. Overall, good value for the price.

SLEEP QUALITY: Hotel is located far from the main road so you get a really quiet and relaxed ambiance. Aircon does not make any weird noises. No rowdy staff/guests (at least at the time of our stay). No disturbance during evenings/early morning hours. We had a nice and relaxing rest.

CLEANLINESS: Room and bathroom were clean, well maintained. Same with the public/shared areas. The usual musty smell from "older" hotel rooms is present when you first enter, but goes away once the air conditioning is turned on.

LOCATION: As other reviewers mentioned, this hotel is located farther down from the main road, which has its own charm since it is away from the "busy-ness" of the street. It is a quiet and serene location. Pretty easy to find, even the first time I visited. However, be warned that it is easily accessible only if you have a car, especially if you want to leave in the evenings to go to restaurants/other sights. Close to Cliffhouse and many restaurants once you exit to the main road.

ROOMS: We were given a room on the ground floor, near the reception. Rooms are a bit on the small side. Standard accommodations, spartan/basic furnishings but it does the job. Comfortable queen sized bed and soft pillows. Blankets are provided but no duvet/comforter. TV with good selection of channels. Aircon is quiet & in good working condition. Refrigerator and kettle for use with complimentary coffee and tea. Basic toilettries and towels are provided. No complaints.

SPA: As mentioned earlier, complimentary massage for 2 included in room rate. Good value for the price. The massage quality is average, however, so don't expect top caliber massage. Go someplace else if you want a great spa experience, like Sonya's Garden or Nurture Spa if you are not on a budget.

This is my 2nd time staying in this Tagaytay hotel, first time was with a group of girlfriends, and this time with my fiance. Either way, in my opinion it is suitable for couples or traveling with friends/family. I have stayed in many budget inns/hotels in Tagaytay. This is the one with the least bugs at night.

Overall, this is a great place to stay if you want a quiet and peaceful getaway, are on a budget but still want to enjoy accommodations with a "hotel" feel. This is not the place to stay if you want a view of the Taal lake, volcano, or any Tagaytay sights.

Room Tip: On the 2nd floor, they have a sitting area located just outside the rooms. It's nice to hang ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Panda_sabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Decided to stay here as a birthday treat to my Fiance with another room for my family. The place is located about 2km down from the main road, and first impression is that if you don't have a car, this will be a big problem for anyone staying at this hotel especially if going out at night.

Upon arriving, the place is really nice and quiet, very relaxing which we all like about the hotel. Now here comes the 'deal breaker' for me, which is the inattentive staff at the counter. Took us about 15 mins just to check in and setup our rooms as well arrange the time for our dinner and massage. Initially thought that maybe its the night staff that has problems. Rooms were nice and cozy, maybe small for others but we really don't mind. Massage package is great compare to other spa/massage package from other hotels. We have free dinner as well which is included in the package we have, the staff in the restaurant was better compare to the rest. The dinner was above average as well, but when I saw the prices in the menu it was a bit on the expensive side. Breakfast was OK as well, not great but OK.

The staff in the morning shift was much worse, so bad that its a deal breaker for me. I'm not really the type of guy who is particular with staff, and will not give in specifics about the experience we had during the morning but the attitude of the staff in this hotel (except for the restaurant staff which are friendly and attentive) needs training.

Room Tip: Family pool side room seems nice, but the pool is really cold even in the morning so I don't thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

It was a nice experience staying at this hotel. We rode the public transpo going to Tagaytay and going to the hotel was quite easy. We were dropped off at the main highway and rode a trike going there. The fare was reasonable. It is quite peaceful, calm, and relaxing where the hotel is located because it is far from the main road. Despite its location, it is very easy to go to the different restaurants like Leslie's, Antonio's, etc and the front desk could call a trike if you don't have a car. Checking- in was a breeze and the room was clean. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was good compared to other hotels that we've been to. Minimal sound could be heard from the outside. We were quite happy with the complimentary massage. Breakfast was mediocre but the service was great. The staff were very friendly, respectful, and accommodating. Thumbs up and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Get rooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our family of 8 stayed in the Family Room Non Poolside, we just had to pay additional 1000 php each for the 2 extra adults because the maximum is just 5 and the child that we have with us stayed for free. Check-in was fast because the people in the front desk are well prepared, we just had to sign a form and they assisted us to our room. We liked our stay here overall, for it was slightly away from the city though commuting is I think quite hard because of the location. I wasn't able to take a picture though of our room in the 1st floor with a veranda for my siblings immediately jumped onto the bed haha. The beds was nice by the way, room is clean with a flat screen tv, refrigerator, closet and a coffee maker. There was a free massage for 2 which is availed by our parents. It was raining when we stayed there but that didn't stop us from swimming in their pool which was wide so we had fun. The pool doesn't have a heater by the way, so the water was so cold back then. The wifi isn't available inside the room, we had to go at the lobby or by the cafe just to access the internet. The next day, we availed the free breakfast, it only had small servings by the way. If ever we'll stay in Tagaytay again, I will still stay here because the place is quiet which is nice for relaxation and family bonding.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annasuzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was a pleasant stay at this hotel. Check in procedure take about 10 mins, and the place is very clean and have quite surroundings. This place is quite far from main road, so the interesting places and outside restaurants are not accessible by walk. Breakfast was average. Have tour desk, but charge bit high premium than outside local tour operators. The room is nice, but nothing special to say that its a honeymoon room. I still wonder why its been called honeymoon room, when all looks just normal as other standard room. We got free 1 hour spa as a complimentary, which is very delightful. Those who do not have own vehicles, must have to ride with taxi or tricycle to get around, as this hotel is little far from all the main attractions.

Room Tip: This place quite far from all the main listed attractions., but good to relax and enjoy your times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niaz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deurle, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

after a 2 hour trip with a 1500 peso negociated taxiride from naia airport,manila (driver always complaint about the agreed price is to low) we experienced a mediocore saty at wingate. We paid 2600 peso for the double room including breakfast an 1 hour massage for two. The massage was ok, breafast poor, with corn beef from a can for example. 2600 peso is the online' book more than one week in advance rate' but dont worry this rate you can have also when you walk in so no need to pay in advance(no refund!). Standard room had good bedding but was very smal.No free uprgate to a bigger delux evendough there were only 2 other guests. Quality of food is ok but to expensive(80peso for a mango and small banana for example) for the quantity you get.Wanted to charge me for a small burst in the towel.Except from that friendly staff.To me even the 40 percent discounted rate of 2600 peso per night is overpriced.Generally you pay to much for accomodation in the Phills for the comfort you get comparing to other asian countries

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misswhite_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tagaytay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
3.1 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
3.5 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tagaytay Country Hotel
Tagaytay Country Hotel
#17 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Taal Vista Hotel
Taal Vista Hotel
#4 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
#8 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.2 mi away
Destination Hotel
Destination Hotel
#23 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tagaytay Wingate Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tagaytay Wingate Manor

Property: Tagaytay Wingate Manor
Address: Magallanes Drive, Maitim II West, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tagaytay Wingate Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tagaytay Wingate Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tagaytay Wingate Manor Hotel Tagaytay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing