We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey place facing Taal Volcano”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Joaquin's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 104 Tagaytay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you want a quiet, homey place to stay in Tagaytay, this is it. It has also one of the best clear views of Taal Volcano and Taal Lake. You will feel that you are staying in a garden, and the rooms are elegant! Their restaurant which serves delicious Filipino and foreign dishes, overlooks the best of Taal Lake. You get the feeling that you are staying in a country home.

The location is near the Tagaytay commercial center and the public market, and walking distance from all the best places to go in Tagaytay.

It's best to have your breakfast here, even if breakfasts are not covered by their rates. Try their fried Tawilis for breakfast. Tawilis is a species of small freshwater fish found only in Taal Lake. What an experience eating this deliciously rare fish while enjoying the view of Taal Lake, the only place where it is found. You will miss a lot if you will not order their Tawilis fish for breakfast.

Room Tip: Go there on a weekday so there will be less guests and so that you can get to choose the best rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ProfRoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 173 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

i really had a great time in their place. it is secluded in a manner that you will surely have a good meal anytime of the day. The place is very relaxing that you won't feel away from home. They have courteous and welcoming staffs. I will surely be back here and recommend to friends as well. Kudos to the people behind Joaquin's. :)

Room Tip: Go for their family room as you will get to see the view of Taal even more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SomeonesSunShine9112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

It was one of those weekends when I had to plan something special for BF, who was staying in Manila for a few weeks then. He's always charmed by Tagaytay so we decided to spend a weekend there. I was scanning through BNBs and found a list of overpriced ones. Yes, as expensive as Shangri-La Makati per night!!! Lucky me, I stumbled upon Joaquin's, the pics are interesting, the reviews are good, and the price is great! But what made it more special were all the good things that come with the affordable P3k+/night. The perfect view of the lake, the homey (colorful!) comfy rooms (quiet aircon too!), the warm and attentive staff, and the yummy breakfast. What's more, it's in the middle of all the restos that we lined up to try (Bawai's, Pamana and Antonio's yet again) and near a running oval to burn all the Tagaytay yummers. But the best part of the stay, is knowing that JOAQUIN is named after the owner's special child, one cute detail that made Joaquin's even closer to my heart.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Betsy_BoopMakati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Joaquin's BnB has a very unassuming appearance at the entrance, but the moment you set foot into their aviary area, a whole new world opens out for you. The calm ambience along with different decor instantly connects with you. We stayed in the upper rooms which gave a picturesque view of the Taal lake along with a series of small boats. Each room has a theme and has walls pertaining to different colours. The rooms are well-equipped with all the basic facilities required for a convenient stay. The staff is receptive and quite friendly. We wanted breakfast a bit early and our needs were met very punctually. A special mention to Ed who was very helpful in guiding us about the local travelling options and was the primary contact in facilitating our communication in English easily. When we think of building a weekend home, we visualize a calm garden area with birds chirping around and beautiful scenery around along with a cup of hot chocolate. In reality, we did not have to look any further, this pretty much matched that visualization.

Room Tip: The upper rooms are better in terms of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank da4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We decided to spend another night at Tagaytay after coming from a nearby Batangas resort. We rang up Joaquin's and they luckily had room for us. We got the room with a small garden (the extra money for this room is worth it). The staff was very helpful! They carried all our bags down the stairs and believe me, we carried a ton because we have two small kids. We had late afternoon lunch outside the garden as we enjoy the spectacular view!

We were craving for Crispy Pata and theirs' didn't disappoint. :-) The breakfast was sumptous as well. I had fish and eggs while the rest of the gang had tocino. Their chef was also very friendly. He gave me tips on buying beef in Batangas market (wink) The bed was also very nice and they provided an extra bed for our maid.

We lounged at the aviary upstairs and just enjoyed the view the whole morning.

This place tops my list on staff service! From the front desk to the other staff. It has a more personal touch compared to big hotels. I also like that you are away from the crowd and have your own quiet space at the small garden.

We were contented with this BnB. Went home with a big smile and will definitely come back and recommend to family and friends!

Room Tip: rooms with the small garden veranda is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AaronFav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

What I loved most of Joaquin's is the country/beach/garden theme design of the furniture and exterior sorrounding. So unique and real creative. You will love the birds tweeting at the outdoor dining area. Plus the great view of Taal Lake. The rooms are perfect and the scented candle! It is so romantic. Very good for couples.

I would like to thank the owner for upgrading our rooms for free. And to kuya Ed for attending to all our requests and needs.

If I come to tagaytay, ill stay again at Joaquin's.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jullyn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Can't say anything bad about this place. Their complimentary drinks were good. The staff is always there and helpful. The view is great. Really clean and cozy place to stay at.

The only thing that didn't really go well was the lock on the bathroom door which had a problem, but other than that everything was great.

Room Tip: Wifi is only on their coffee place. 2nd room upper veranda had a problem with the bathroom door lock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingsword11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
#15 of 27 in Tagaytay
311 reviews
0.9 mi away
Taal Vista Hotel
Taal Vista Hotel
#4 of 27 in Tagaytay
1,177 reviews
3.8 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 27 in Tagaytay
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kimberly
Hotel Kimberly
#2 of 27 in Tagaytay
549 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lee Boutique Hotel
Lee Boutique Hotel
#2 of 104 in Tagaytay
308 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Carmelence Lodge
The Carmelence Lodge
#2 of 46 in Tagaytay
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joaquin's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joaquin's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Km. 58 Aquinaldo Highway, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Tagaytay
Price Range: $69 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Joaquin's Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Joaquin's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joaquin`s b&b
Joaquin`s Hotel Tagaytay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing